Number 2 pick: Club football team of the decade

May 20, 2020

James Reilly, Shane Gallagher, Davy Dalton and Seamus Lavin

Number 2 pick: Club football team of the decade

Meath club football has been renowned for producing some outstanding players that would hold down a place on any team in the country.

Royal County Meath Yearbook has acknowledged these talented players every year when picking the Football Team of the Year. 

With no resumption of action on the horizon due to Covid-19 we will with your assistance pick our Club Football Team of the Decade taking one position at a time.

Players picked in that position since 2010

2010 Mark Jordan Skryne

2011 Davy Dalton Summerhill

2012 Stephen O’Toole O’Mahonys

2013 Stephen O’Brien Ratoath

2014 Conor Carton Donaghmore Ashbourne

2015 James Reilly O’Mahonys

2016 Shane Gallagher Simonstown

2017 Shane Gallagher Simonstown

2018 Seamus Lavin Dunboyne

2019 Shane Gallagher Simonstown

Amazingly Shane Gallagher has been picked in this position on three occasions. The Meath star faces tough competition from a host of very good defenders including county comrade Seamus Lavin. Davy Dalton was named at corner back in 2011 but in recent years has been deployed, to great effect, as a third midfielder for Summerhill.

Make your choice on our facebook page

The story so far

Goalkeeper: 2010 Cillian Comaskey Carnaross, 2011 Tony McDonnell Summerhill, 2012 Marcas Brennan O’Mahonys, 2013 Shane Geraghty Na Fianna, 2014 Jack Hannigan Donaghmore Ashbourne, 2015 Marcas Brennan O’Mahonys, 2016 Robbie Burlingham Simonstown, 2017 Liam Hogan Curraha, 2018 Cian Flynn Dunboyne, 2019 Shane Duffy Ratoath

Most Read Stories