HS hurling team of the week

February 18, 2019

Tipperary fan Eamonn Foley arrives early for the Allianz HL Division 1A round 3 clash against Wexford at Innovate Wexford Park. ©INPHO/Tommy Dickson.

Limerick continue to set the pace in the Allianz HL Division 1A table and the All-Ireland champions have three players on our team of the week following their ruthless dismantling of Kilkenny...


1. Anthony Nash (Cork)

Nash kept a clean sheet as the Rebels dug out a three-point victory over visitors Clare in Pairc Ui Rinn on Saturday night.

2. Tom Condon (Limerick)

Captain for the day against the Cats, an inspirational long-range point was the highlight of a ‘man-of-the-match’ performance by the experienced Knockaderry clubman.

3. Ronan Burke (Galway)

Deputised in the number 3 jersey for his brother Daithi who was on club football duty with Corofin and didn’t put a foot wrong against the Dubs.

4. Aidan Harte (Galway)

Like Burke, Harte produced a commanding showing as the Tribesmen got their round 2 draw with Carlow out of their system. 

5. Paudie Foley (Wexford)

Foley put his shoulder to the wheel to help Wexford come from behind to edge out 14-man Tipperary on home soil.

6. Ronan Maher (Tipperary)

Despite the best efforts of Thurles Sarsfields clubman Maher, Liam Sheedy’s charges slipped to a second defeat in-a-row.

7. Ryan Mullaney (Laois)

Mullaney impressed as the O’Moore County secured the local bragging rights with a four-point victory over Offaly.

8. Diarmuid O’Keeffe (Wexford)

Popped up with some crucial scores (0-3 in total) as the Model County snatched victory from the jaws of defeat.

9. Cathal Mannion (Galway)

Mannion sent over four points in an industrious display around the middle third of the Pearse Stadium field.

10. Daniel Kearney (Cork)

The hard-working Sarsfields clubman got his hands on plenty of ball as Cork got their first points on the board.

11. Tony Kelly (Clare)

Scorer of six points, the Ballyea clubman can consider himself somewhat unfortunate to have ended up on the losing side in Pairc Ui Rinn.

12. Shane Dowling (Limerick)

The Na Piarsaigh clubman’s goal sowed the seeds for the Treaty County’s nine-point win and he also chipped in with two points.
13. Aaron Gillane (Limerick)

Gillane was a constant thorn in the side of the Kilkenny defence and took the scoring honours for the All-Ireland champions with nine points – three from play.

14. Stephen Bennett (Waterford)

Bennett helmed himself to 1-8 as the Deise continued their winning Division 1B ways against Carlow.

15. Patrick Horgan (Cork)

‘Hoggie’ punished Clare’s indiscipline with an exhibition of free-taking and he raised 16 white flags for John Meyler’s men.

Most Read Stories