SFC: Holders secure second spot

August 25, 2018

Donaghmore Ashbourne;s Andrew Tormey with Stephen Moran Simonstown during the Meath SFC clash at Skryne

Simonsntown Gaels 1-12 Donaghmore Ashbourne 1-12 

It was the meeting of second and third place in Group A with 2nd place the prize.

It was a very tight contest throughout and it was Ashbourne who opened the account with a point from their talisman 'Brian Menton'. Simonstown's captain Niall Kane responded with a well taken point from range. Dylan Brady of Ashbourne restored the Moores lead but again this was cancelled out by a free from Ben Hoey. Simonstown latched on four points without reply for a spell of 11 minutes, 2 scores from Conor sheridan and a point apiece from Hoey and Kearney left Simonstown 0-6 to 0-2 ahead after 16 minutes. Ashbourne answered back with a crucial goal on the 18th minute mark. Tormey did extremely well to create the goal and he hand passed across for an open goal for the on rushing Ashbourne forward. The Gaels registered 2 points before the halfway mark from Ben Hoey and Nicky O'Brien. Score at the end of the first half was Simonstown 0-9 Ashbourne 1-4

Ashbourne quickly got themselves level with 2 points at the start of the second half. Ben Hoey responded with a goal which left Simonstown 3 points up with 20 minutes remaining. Conor Sheridan scored from a free which left it a four point game with 8 minutes remaining. Ashbourne were resilient and leveled the game going into injury time. It appeared as if Ben Hoey had won it for the Gaels in injury time but Donaghmore quickly scored which resulted in a draw game. This result means Simonstown finish ahead of Donaghmore in the group. Opposition for the quater final is TBC 

Simonstown: Robert Burlingham, Mark Devlin, Stephen Moran, Stephen O'Reilly, Brian McGrath, Mark Gardiner, Niall Kane (0-2), Brían Conlon, James Kilcullen, Mark McCabe, Shane Barry, Nicky O'Brien (0-1), Ben Hoey (1-4 (3f), Conor Sheridan (0-4 (2 f), Andrew Kearney (0-2). Subs used - Ian O'Rourke for James Kilcullen, Eanna Donoughue for Mark Devlin (injured), Joe Lyons for Brian McGrath

Most Read Stories