SFC: Rathkenny earn draw with Moynalvey

August 12, 2018

Rathkenny's Jack Gore

Rathkenny 0-11

Moynalvey 1-8

Saturday evening marked the fourth round of the Meath Senior Football Championship where Rathkenny took on Moynalvey in Pairc Tailteann. 

Rathkenny report:

The game ebbed and flowed throughout but it was Rathkenny who got the better of the opening exchanges with points from Caoloch Halligan and Jack Gore. Moynalvey responded with the only goal of the game on 11 minutes but Rathkenny reacted well and with a point from Barney Lenehan and two a piece from Owen Elliot and Jack Gore to lead by the minimum at the interval. 

The second half was a cagey affair with the teams trading points in the early exchanges, Rathkenny's coming from Gore and Ivan Lenehan. For the next 20 minutes scores were few and far between. The Rathkenny defence stood up during this period with Keith Timmons in particular emerging from the defence with the ball on more than one occasion. Brian Meade found a gap on 25 minutes and slotted over the bar followed by a Jack Gore point to round off the games scoring.

Rathkenny: Colin Curtis; Mark Byrne, Ross Gore, Keith Timmons; Jack Thompson, Donal Keogan, Christy Meade; Caoloch Halligan (0-1), Robert Garry; James Macken, Ivan Lenehan (0-1), Barney Lenehan (0-1); Owen Elliot (0-2), Brian Meade (0-1), Jack Gore (0-5).

Subs: Donal Curtis for Halligan, Evan Crosbie for B Lenehan, Stephan Crosbie for C Meade, T McGuiness for S Crosbie.

Moynalvey report:

Round 4 of the Fairyhouse Steel Meath Senior Football Championship saw Moynalvey and Rathkenny prove inseparable in Pairc Tailteann on Saturday evening 11th August.

The teams were evenly matched on the score board throughout, although Moynalvey will rue not taking more of their 26 scoring chances created throughout the hour, with a couple of goal chances going a begging with Rathkenny net minder Colin Curtis pulling off a couple of good saves to deny Moynalvey goals, although the only goal of the game did come in the 9 th minute when Cillian O'Sullivan coolly slotted home at the hospital end.

Rathkenny got the better of the opening exchanges with points from Caolach Halligan and Jack Gore, before O'Sullivan opened Moynalvey's account with the goal to take the lead. Rathkenny retook the lead almost immediately with a Brian Lenehan point, which was followed soon after by a jack Gore free, leaving it 1-0 to 0-4 after 16 minutes.

A trio of David McLoughlin points were countered by Rathkenny with a brace from Owen Elliott and another Gore free to leave Rathkenny a point up heading for the dressing rooms at the break, 0-7 to 1-3.

Jack Gore and David McLoughlin traded scores within sixty seconds of the restart, with a Cillian O'Sullivan free levelling matters for a fourth time in the 3 rd minute of the half.

Ivan Lenihan pushed Rathkenny into the lead again, before a barren 20 minute period saw just one score, that being a Cillian O'Sullivan point in the 43 rd minute which drew the sides level once again, 1-6 to 0-9.

Just as Rathkenny had lost Caloach Halligan through injury early in the first half, Moynalvey were dealt a similar blow when losing influential attacker David McLoughlin through injury midway through the second period.

A Cillian O'Sullivan free put Moynalvey ahead for just the first time in the 54 th minute, but the lead was quickly cancelled out when former Meath player Brian Meade swung a left boot which saw the ball just clear the cross bar to leave the sides tied again, 1-7 t0 0-10 with five minutes remaining.

Moynalvey replied immediately in the 26 th minute through O'Sullivan which looked to have taken the win for Alan Kelly's charges, however there was still time for Jack Gore to send over a late close range free in additional time, leaving the final score 1-8 to 0-11.

Next up for Rathkenny is Wolfe Tones, while Moynalvey face into a crunch game against St. Patricks in the final round of group games.

Moynalvey: Ray Ryan; Conor Harnan, Robert Lawless, Brian Harnan; Brian O'Reilly, Darren Brennan, Daniel Treacy; Donal Smith, Stephen Donoghue; Fearghal McCabe, Cillian O'Sullivan (1-4, 2f), Cathal McCabe; Shane Lenehan, David McLoughlin (0-4), Adam Murphy.

Subs used: John Donoghue for Smith, James Kelly for O'Reilly, Darragh Branigan for McLoughlin, David Donoghue for F. McCabe.

Most Read Stories