Team news: Higgins in for Mayo as Horan makes seven changes

January 11, 2019

Mayo's Keith Higgins and Peter Cooke of Galway.
©INPHO/Cathal Noonan.

Keith Higgins and Colm Boyle will make their first competitive starts of 2019 as Mayo take on Galway in Sunday’s FBD League semi-final at Tuam Stadium.

The experienced duo take up the right flank of the Westerners’ defence as James Horan opts for seven changes to the side which defeated Leitrim on penalties last weekend.

Ballintubber’s Michael Plunkett and Connor Diskin of Claremorris start at centre-back and right corner-forward respectively, with James McCormack, Fionn McDonagh, Fergal Boland and Brian Reape also named in the starting 15 once more.

Throw-in in Tuam is at 1.30pm

Mayo (FBD League v Galway): Rob Hennelly; Keith Higgins, Brendan Harrison, David Drake; Colm Boyle, Michael Plunkett, James McCormack; Donal Vaughan, Diarmuid O’Connor; Fionn McDonagh, Conor Loftus, Fergal Boland; Connor Diskin, Brian Reape, Jason Doherty

Most Read Stories