TG4 Connacht Ladies final team news

June 21, 2019

Mayo's Sarah Rowe celebrates with Rachel Kearns and Sarah Mulvihill ©INPHO/Morgan Treacy

Compiled by Jackie Cahill

TG4 Connacht Ladies Senior Football champions Galway have made two changes in personnel for Sunday’s eagerly-awaited provincial final clash with old rivals Mayo (4pm).

Galway’s last competitive outing was the Lidl NFL Division 1 Final defeat to Cork on May 5 and manager Tim Rabbitt has shuffled his pack for the visit to Elvery’s MacHale Park.

Fit-again Áine McDonagh, who’s had a difficult run with injuries, returns to the starting line-up, along with Leanne Coen.

From the team that started against Cork, Orla Murphy and Sarah Conneally drop to the bench, as Galway aim for a third successive TG4 Connacht senior crown, and their seventh in eight seasons.

Sunday’s game, which throws in at 4pm, will be available to view on the LGFA’s Facebook Page,, with Jerome Quinn on commentary alongside former Mayo boss Frank Browne.

Mayo, meanwhile, hand a first start to Sarah Rowe since the counties met in the 2018 TG4 All-Ireland quarter-final, a game won comfortably by Galway. 

Rowe missed the early rounds of the Lidl National League as she was in Australia with Collingwood in the Women's AFL.

She made substitute appearances against Cork and Monaghan in the concluding rounds of the Lidl NFL, finding the net against Monaghan for an equalising goal after coming off the bench.

The Monaghan game on April 7 was Mayo’s last competitive outing and manager Peter Leahy has made six changes in personnel.

Aisling Tarpey comes in between the sticks for Sorcha Murphy, while Roisin Flynn, Éilis Ronayne, captain Niamh Kelly, her sister Grace Kelly, and Rowe are all handed starting berths.

From the team that started in the Monaghan game, they replace Nicola Meehan, Noirin Moran, Dayna Finn, Lisa Cafferky and Fiona Doherty.  

The curtain-raiser at Elvery’s MacHale Park on Sunday is the meeting of holders Roscommon and Sligo in the TG4 Connacht Intermediate decider.

Viewers can watch Facebook LIVE coverage of that game on the Connacht LGFA page

Sligo were denied three-in-a-row Connacht Intermediate titles last year by Roscommon, who are now aiming to defend their crown.

Leitrim captain Clare Owens will join Jerome Quinn in the commentary box for a tie that gets underway at 2pm.

Galway (v Mayo): L Murphy; S Molloy, S Lynch, F Cooney; B Hannon, S Burke, C Cooney; L Ward, Á McDonagh; O Divilly, T Leonard (capt.), M Glynn; L Coen, R Leonard, M Seoighe.

Mayo (v Galway): A Tarpey; N O’Malley, R Flynn, D Caldwell; É Ronayne, Ciara McManamon, C Whyte; Clodagh McManamon, S Cafferky; R Durkin, T O’Connor, N Kelly (capt.); S Rowe, R Kearns, G Kelly.

Roscommon (v Sligo): H Cummins; H Ennis, A McLoone, T Murtagh; N Feeney, A Kelly, S Bruen; S Kenny (capt.), L Fleming; S Tully, A Hanmore, N McHugh; R Finan, J Higgins, R Fitzmaurice.

Sligo (v Roscommon): N Gormley; A Morrisroe, M McNamara, J Mulligan (capt.); N Brennan, B Byrne, A.M. Coleman; R Goodwin, L.A. Claffey; C Gorman, L Boles, S Naughton; E O’Reilly, E Keavney, L Casey.

Most Read Stories