Munster club IFC final: Ó Sé guides An Ghaeltacht to facile win

November 26, 2017

An Ghaeltacht's Pádraig and Marc Ó Sé celebrate.
Pic via Marc Ó Sé @osemarc2.

An Ghaeltacht (Kerry) 3-21
St Senan's (Limerick) 0-8

Player-manager Marc Ó Sé steered An Ghaeltacht to a 22-point victory over St. Senan's in a one-sided Munster club IFC final at Austin Stack Park, Tralee. 

The Kerry legend's namesake Dara Ó Sé shot 0-9, 0-7 from play, as the 2004 All-Ireland club SFC runners-up became the 10th Kerry team in 11 years to claim provincial honours at this level.

The writing was on the wall for their Limerick opponents when Kerry panellist Brian Ó Beaglaoich netted after only two minutes. Rob Ó Sé grabbed a second goal in the 27th minute to give An Ghaeltacht an unassailable 2-14 to 0-2 lead at half-time.

PJ Mac Laimh fisted home a third goal midway through the second half to complete a wonderful year for Comortas Peile na Gaeltachta champions An Ghaeltacht who will face Sean Cavanagh's Moy in a mouth-watering All-Ireland semi-final in the New Year.

An Ghaeltacht - T Mac an tSaoir; PP Sauerland (0-1), M O Se, C O Luing; B O Beaglaoich (1-0), P O Se, C O Muircheartaigh (0-1); R O Se (1-1), S O Gairbhi (0-1); C O Coileain, D O Se (0-9, 2f), PJ Mac Laimh (1-1); T O Se (0-1), E O Conchuir (0-4, 2f), S M O Conchuir (0-1f). Subs: C MacGearailt for S M O Conchuir, S O Bambaire (0-1) for M O Se, G Mac an tSaoir for S O Gairbhi, C O Ceilleachair for B O Beaglaoich, C O Gairbhi for PP Sauerland, O O Se for D O Se.

St Senan's - A Russell; D Conroy, J Bridgeman, D Finnerty; G Hanlon, I Ryan (0-2), R Flaherty (0-1); M Fitzgerald, S O'Connell; O Wallace, A Mulvihill, S McSweeney (0-2f); J Naughton, C Mullane, R Hayes (0-2, 1f). Subs: D Woulfe for G Hanlon, A Kearns (0-1) for O Wallace, A Lane for A Mulvihill, N Guiney for D Conroy, K Kavanagh for R Hayes, D Fitzgerald for D Finnerty (BC).

Referee - D Murnane.

Most Read Stories