Limerick G.A.A. County Notes

April 17, 2013
Limerick Under 17 Hurling
Highlight of last weekend in G.A.A. was the Limerick under 17 hurling panel when last Saturday evening they won the Todd Nolan Memorial Cup at Kerry's Un.17 hurling tournament in Abbeydorney in the semi final Limerick defeated Waterford by 0-13 to 0-07 leading at half time by 0-09 to 0-02 but in the second half Waterford tried to make a comeback but Limerick continue to play the good hurling and hit over four points to Waterford's five but Limerick ran out six point winners Ronan Lynch (0-04)(3f), Brian Fanning (0-04), Barry Nash (0-02), Arron Gillane (0-02) and Cian O Brien (0-01). In the final we met Clare who defeated the home side Kerry in the semi final. Limerick in the first half and specially in the first five minutes of the game Limerick hit Clare for 2-02 to knock Clare back in a shock five minute spell and Clare had no answer for Limerick at this stage with the strong gale Limerick went on to hit Clare for 1-11 before the break. Now Limerick had to play against the gale in the second half but Clare never recovered from the shock of the opening half and only managed to hit over five points in the second half were Limerick added 2-02 to win the Todd Nolan Memorial Cup with the final score at 5-15 to 0-05. Ronan Lynch (1-07), Cian Lynch (2-02), Cian O Brien (Monaleen)(1-02), Arron Gillane (1-02), Edward Doyle and Lorcan Lyons (0-01). Limerick panel for the two games were Cian Hedderman (Ballybrown), Jamie Porter (Monaleen), James Riordan (Bruff ), Eoin Costelloe (Adare), Dillon Dawson (Blackrock), Andrew La Touche Cosgrave (Monaleen)(Captain), Sean Finn (Bruff), Barry Nash (South Liberties), Paul O Halloran (Ahane), Cian O Brien (Monaleen), Edward Doyle (Monaleen), Cian Lynch (Patrickswell), Cian O Brien (Mungret), Ronan Lynch (Na Piarsaigh), Brian Fanning (Pallagreen), Chris Browne (Bruff), Lorcan Lyons (Monaleen), Jamie Bulter (South Liberties), Darragh Fanning (Pallasgreen), Arron Gillane (Patrickswell), Declan Browne (Mungret), Darragh Cotter (Castletown/Ballyagran), Kieran Herlihy (Monagea), Eoin Quilter (South Liberties), Ronan Bulter (South Liberties) and Chris Browne (Bruff). Limerick under 17 team was managed by Brian Ryan (South Liberties) and selectors Eamonn Cregan (Claughaun) and Paul Finn (Bruff). Andrew La Touche Cosgrave of Monaleen and captain of the side also received the player of the tournament.

Limerick Minor Football team
On this Saturday evening Limerick minor footballers will involved in the Electric Ireland Munster Minor Football Championship Quarter-Finals when Limerick minors will travel to Dungarvan to take on Waterford in Fraher Field at 2.30pm. Limerick Minor Football Management are Jerry O'Sullivan (Manager), Brendan Casey, Garrett Noonan and Sean Holmes and they will be hoping to come back to Limerick with a good result Limerick captain on the Day will be John Murphy of the Fr.Casey's club will be captain. Referee for this game will be Kevin Murphy of Cork.

Limerick Minor Hurling
Limerick minor hurling team will face Tipperary in the semi final of the Electric Ireland Munster Minor Hurling Championship following Tipperary's six point victory 2-18 to 1-15 over Waterford the Munster semi-final will take place in a Tippeary venue on Wednesday June 26th.

John Loftus
John Loftus who was appointed as Commercial Manager with responsibility for all commercial relationships, sponsorships, endorsements and advertising. John has a long association with Limerick GAA. He is a member of Ballybrown GAA Club where he has served as Team Manager, PRO and Chairman. He set up the original Limerick GAA Draw in 1985 and ran it very successfully for 10 years. He has also played a substantial role fundraising for Rehab, Irish Kidney Association, Daughters of Charity, Lisnagry, Limerick City Special Olympics and Transplant Team Ireland. John brings a wealth of experience, business acumen and a substantial network of contacts to Limerick GAA. In addition his dynamism, passion, energy and commitment to the GAA will provide the impetus to attract the commercial community to support Limerick GAA.

Limerick Person of the Year (Dublin).
The Annual Dinner Dance of the Limerick supporters club in Dublin last Friday night at the Red Cow Moran Hotel. Former Limerick hurling star Eamonn Rea was chosen as the 2013 Limerick Person of the Year (Dublin). A star of the 1973 All-Ireland winning hurling team, the Dublin-based businessman is a founder of the Limerick GAA Supporters club in the capital and has been an active member of the Faughs Club for many years. The Effin-native will be presented with his Chain of Office by the 2012 recipient Tom Moran at the Annual Dinner Dance in the Red Cow Moran Hotel. To date there have been 6 recipients of the award Paddy Hickey, Jimmy Kelleher, Charlie Chawke, John Keating, Tom Lavery and Tom Moran. Fellow Limerick stars of 1973 Eamonn Cregan and Eamonn Grimes was also honoured on the night. Limerick G.A.A. board was represented by Vice Chairman Pat Heffernan, Secretary Michael Riordan and P.R.O. Eamonn Phelan.

Limerick Referee's
Limerick Referee Richard Moloney and his officials were in Thurles for the Munster Un.21 football final between Tipperary and Cork last Wednesday evening and Richard's officials are from all Limerick. Standby Referee was Michael Meade, his linesman was Brendan Stack and his sideline official was Jason Mullins, Richard's umpires were Tadhg O'Sullivan, Michael Moloney, John Hurley and Richie Moloney also out last weekend was Referee Shane Hourigan and his officials who were in charge of last Sunday's Allianz Hurling League Roinn 2A Final between Laois and Westmeath in O Connors Park Tullamore. On this Saturday evening in the Electric Ireland Munster Minor Football Championship Quarter-Final Newcastle West man Brendan Stack will be in charge of the Clare v Tipperary game this championship game will take place at Cusack Park at 7pm.

Un. 21 Hurling championship
The Mint Catering country under 21 Premier hurling semi finals will take place on this Saturday evening in a double header at Bruff. Ballybrown will take on Patrickwell in a all City clash at 4.15pm and then at 6pm the meeting of Ahane and Na Piarsaigh will take place. In the under 21 A hurling championship semi finals Cappamore will take on Bruff at Caherconlish on Sunday while Monaleen and Allaghaun Gaels will meet at Croagh also at 6pm. In the county under 21 B Hurling championship Knockainey will face Pallasgreen in Knocklong on this Friday at 7.30pm with the second semi final taking place on this Saturday evening between Dromcollogher/Broadfor and Kildimo/Pallaskenry at the Bog Gaerden in Rathkeale at 6pm.

Most Read Stories