Connacht SFC: Rossies make light work of Leitrim

May 12, 2019

Roscommon's Niall Kilroy lines up a shot against Leinster in the Connacht SFC quarter-final at Dr Hyde Park

There was no sign of an upset at Dr Hyde Park, where Roscommon eased past Leitrim – 3-17 to 0-12.

A brace of goals from Man of the Match Shane Killoran and another from Niall Kilroy had Anthony Cunningham’s men ahead by eight points at the break, 3-6 to 0-7, and they never looked back.

Both sides finished the match with 14 men, Shane Quinn seeing red for the visitors just after the hour while the winners lost Conor Daly at the death.

Killoran opened the scoring with a fifth-minute major and three successive Diarmuid Murtagh points had the victors ahead by 2-4 to 0-2 after 25 minutes. The Division Four finalists stayed in touch, however, before Kilroy netted on the stoke of the short whistle.

Long-range points from Shane Quinn and Pearce Dolan gave the visitors hope before the break, Domhnaill Flynn and Ryan O’Rourke seeing their subsequent efforts upon the resumption cancelled out by Conor Cox frees.

The Rossies pushed on to seal a semi-final date with Mayo, nine different players on target for them, including a return of seven points from off the bench, Cathal Compton, Fintan Cregg and Andrew Glennon each bagging braces following their introductions.

Roscommon - D O’Malley (0-1'45); C Daly, S Mullooly, D Murray; N Daly, C Hussey, R Daly; S Killoran (2-0), T O’Rourke; H Darcy, C Cregg, N Kilroy (1-1); D Murtagh (0-3, 2f), C Cox (0-5, 2f), U Harney. Subs: F Cregg (0-2, 1f) for T O’Rourke, C Compton (0-2, 1f) for C Cregg, C Devaney for H Darcy, A Glennon (0-2, 1f) for D Murtagh (BC), C Heneghan (0-1) for C Cox, B Stack for R Daly, C Fitzmaurice for S Killoran.

Leitrim - C McCrann; M McWeeney, P Maguire, C Reynolds; D Flynn (0-4f), S McWeeney, S Quinn (0-1); M Plunkett, F McTague; R Mulvey (0-1), R O’Rourke (0-5f), P Dolan (0-1); E Sweeney, S Moran, G Plunkett. Subs: D McGovern for F McTague, J Heslin for E Sweeney, A Flynn for P Dolan, E Mulligan for G Plunkett, N McWeeney for D Flynn, O Madden for S McWeeney.

Referee - S Hurson.

Most Read Stories