Connacht JFC: Mayo ease past Leitrim into final

May 10, 2018

A general view of Pairc Sean MacDiarmada, Carrick-on-Shannon, the home of Leitrim GAA.
©INPHO/Tommy Dickson.

Mayo will face Galway in the Connacht junior football championship final after comfortably brushing aside Leitrim's challenge this evening in Carrick-on-Shannon, where it finished 0-17 to 0-8 to the visitors.

The winners dominated the first-half to take in a commanding 0-10 to 0-3 lead at the break, with centre-forward Ronan Carolan and Darragh Keavney particular prominent in wreaking havoc on Leitrim's defence.

The hosts conceded the first three scores of the restart from Carolan (2) and Cormac Doohan before they hit a purple patch which reaped five points without reply in the space of 10 minutes.

Conor Dolan, Robbie Cunningham and Cavan native Nevin O'Donnell (3) raised the white flags for the trailers to take some tarnish off the score board, but Mayo would finish off the job in the closing quarter via scores from James O'Dowd (2), Brendan Carr and Cian Bourke.

It means Sunday's final will act as the curtain raiser at 1.30pm for the provincial senior quarter-final between the same two counties at MacHale Park.

Mayo - M Flanagan; E McGrath, J O'Dowd, E Doran; C Boylan (0-1), D Lydon, C Bourke (0-1); B Carr (0-2, 1f), S Walsh (0-1); C Bohan, R Carolan (0-4, 1f), L Moran (0-1); C Doohan (0-2), TJ Byrne (0-1), D Keavney (0-2). Subs: J Kelly for L Moran, T Fahey for C Bohan, K Hopkins for C Doohan, B Leonard for E Doran, J Dowd (0-2, 1f) for D Keavney, D McGowan for B Carr.

Leitrim - G Hickey; A Armstrong, J Mitchell, J Cassidy; N McWeeney, D Feely, J Reynolds; C Moreton, F Flynn; C Reynolds (0-1), C Dolan (0-1f), K Cox; R Cunningham (0-1), C McCrann (0-1f), C McCauley. Subs: N O'Donnell (0-4, 2f) for D Feely, S Harkin for J Mitchell, E Harkin for J Cassidy, S McMorrow for K Cox; A Hoare for C McCauley, S Sweeney for F Flynn.

Referee - J Gilmartin.

Most Read Stories