HS football team of the week

April 01, 2019

A Mayo fan celebrates a score during the Allianz FL Division 1 final victory over Kerry at Croke Park. ©INPHO/James Crombie.

Allianz FL Division 1 champions Mayo are well represented on our football team of the week…


1. Thomas Mallon (Derry)

The Oak Leaf county’s custodian kept a clean sheet as Damian McErlain’s men finished off their league campaign in style.

2. Brendan Rogers (Derry)

The Ulster side’s full-back proved to be the rock on which many a Leitrim attack perished in Croke Park on Saturday evening.

3. Chris Barrett (Mayo)

Barrett refused to yield an inch to the Kingdom and came out on top in his personal duel with Tommy Walsh. 

4. Eoghan Ban Gallagher (Donegal)

Gallagher’s ball carrying ability put Meath on the back foot during the second-half of the Division 2 decider.

5. Raymond Mulvey (Leitrim)

Mulvey and his Leitrim colleagues gave a good account of themselves against Derry but they were left to rue too many missed chances.

6. Paul Murphy (Kerry)

The Kerry captain didn’t shirk his responsibility and battled bravely to try to stem the tide in the second-half.

7. Lee Keegan (Mayo)

Handed the job of curbing the influence of Sean O’Shea, the Westport man didn’t let his manager James Horan down. 
8. Matthew Ruane (Mayo)

Scored a decisive goal against Kerry in Tralee and repeated the trick at Croke Park – he has been the find of the league from a Mayo perspective.

9. Aidan O’Shea (Mayo)

O’Shea’s midfield partnership with Ruane laid the foundations for a long-awaited final victory at GAA HQ.

10. Ger Egan (Westmeath)

Away from the bright lights of Croke Park, Egan top scored with 1-4 as Westmeath secured a draw with Louth that sees them promoted to Division 2 for next year.

11. Diarmuid O’Connor (Mayo)

The Mayo captain took the game by the scruff of the neck in the second-half and his goal was a key moment in his team’s 3-11 to 2-10 victory.

12. Stephen O’Brien (Kerry)

The hard-working Kingdom forward scored a first-half goal and caused plenty of problems for the Mayo defence.

13. Oisin Gallen (Donegal)

The Donegal youngster announced his arrival on the senior inter-county scene with a four-point contribution in his team’s win over Meath.

14. Michael Murphy (Donegal)

Donegal’s talisman led the fight back against the Royals and was simply unstoppable during the second-half on Saturday night. 

15. Michael Newman (Meath)

It was all about Meath’s full-forward in the first-half as Newman caused panic in the Donegal full-back line every time he touched the ball.

Most Read Stories