Ladies: Kerry, Waterford and Limerick announce weekend line-ups

May 10, 2019

Kerry's Sarah Houlihan.
©INPHO/Ryan Byrne.

Compiled by Jackie Cahill

Kerry will be seeking swift revenge against Waterford when the sides clash at Cusack Park in Ennis in the first round of the TG4 Munster Senior Championship on Saturday (5pm).

Last Sunday at Parnell Park in Dublin, Waterford beat Kerry to claim the Lidl NFL Division 2 crown, and promotion to the top flight.

Six days later, the counties will renew acquaintances in the first round of the provincial championship, with two from Kerry, Waterford and holders Cork to contest the Final following a round-robin series of games.

Ahead of the Kerry-Waterford tie, which is a curtain-raiser to the Munster GAA SFC quarter-final between Clare and Waterford, there are changes on both sides from the Lidl NFL Final.  

For Kerry, there are two changes. Kayleigh Cronin replaces Robyn White in goal, with Sophie Lynch coming in for Sarah Murphy in defence. 

Waterford make just the one switch, as Aisling Mullaney earns a start in place of Megan Dunford. 

There’s also a double-header at Semple Stadium in Thurles, where Tipperary face off against 2018 TG4 All-Ireland Junior Champions Limerick.

This Round 1 fixture in the 2019 TG4 Intermediate Championship will have a 5pm throw-in, ahead of the Munster GAA SFC quarter-final between the counties.

Aisling McCarthy, who enjoyed a stint with the Western Bulldogs in the Women’s AFL, is a notable inclusion in the Tipperary side, and she’ll pull on the blue and gold for the first time in 2019.

There’s also action in the TG4 Connacht Intermediate Championship, with Sligo hosting Leitrim in a provincial semi-final.

Sligo will be hoping to get their Lidl NFL Division 3 Final loss to Meath out of their systems as quickly as possible, as they welcome Leitrim to Tourlestrane on Sunday morning for an 11am start.

Kerry (v Waterford): K Cronin; T Breen, A Desmond, C O’Brien; S Lynch, A O’Connell, M O’Keeffe; L Scanlon, A Brosnan (capt.); C Murphy, A Galvin, N Carmody; S Houlihan, L Ní Mhuircheartaigh, H O’Donoghue.

Waterford (v Kerry): R Landers; A Mullaney, C McGrath, R Casey; Kate McGrath, Karen McGrath (capt.), R Tobin; E Murray, K Murray; K.A. Hogan, C Fennell, M Delahunty; E Fennell, M Ryan, A Wall.

Limerick (v Tipperary): M Lyons; R Daly, A Hartigan, J O’Malley; K Reidy, N Ryan, C Mee; L Hanley, M O’Shea; C Ní Cheallaigh, M Kavanagh, O Giltenane; O O’Donoghue, C Davis, C Hickey.

Tipperary (v Limerick): L Fitzpatrick; L Spillane, S Lambert, E Cronin; B Condon, M Curley, C Kennedy; A.R. Kennedy, A McCarthy; R Daly, A Moloney, C Condon; C Lonergan, A Carey, A Fennessy.  

Leitrim (v Sligo): M Monaghan; C Owens, L Maguire, K Connolly; A Heslin, S O’Rourke, A Gilmartin; E O’Dowd, L O’Dowd; C Le Guen, M Heslin, E Kelly; C McGovern, V Egan, B O’Rourke.

Sligo (v Leitrim): N Gormley; A Morrisroe, M McNamara, J Mulligan; N Brennan, B Byrne, A.M. Coleman; R Goodwin, S Regan; L Boles, C Gorman, S Naughton; K Walsh, E Keavney, L Casey.

Most Read Stories