Walsh has a new role in Kerry

May 04, 2018

Sean Walsh.
©INPHO/James Crombie.

Sean Walsh has been elected chairman of the Kerry ladies football board.

The former Kerry county board chairman, Munster Council chairman and two-time GAA presidential candidate was elected to the top post at a meeting in Tralee last night. The Moyvane clubman will hope to restore stability to Kerry ladies football after a turbulent few months.

A dispute between executive members and the county's minor manager Jonathan Griffin led to the latter being relieved of his duties via email before he was reinstated after narrowly winning an appeal against his sacking.

Concerns were also raised about the handling of the county's finances, while the senior team's relegation from Division 1 of the National League led to Graham Shine stepping down as manager.

The new Kerry LGFA executive is as follows -

Chairperson: Sean Walsh (Moyvane)
Vice Chairperson: Christena Curtin (Kerins O'Rahillys)
Secretary: Donal Rahilly (Ballymacelligott)
Asst Secretary: Debbie Hannon (Beale)
Treasurer: Anthony Curran (Ballymacelligott)
Asst Treasurer: Nora Fealey (Laune Rangers)
Development Officer: Donal Doherty (Spa)
Registrar: Joe O'Flaherty (Finuge/St Senans)
Fixtures Secretary: Selina Looney (Killarney Legion)
Child Protection Officer: Debbie Hannon (Beale)
Language and Cultural Officer: Toáas Ó Hainifín (Abbeydorney)
PRO: Dan Kearney (Castleisland Desmonds)

Most Read Stories