Munster SHL: Tipp breeze into final

January 05, 2019

Tipperary's Jason Forde in action against Limerick's Seán Finn ©INPHO/Ken Sutton

Tipperary 4-20

Kerry 1-14

Liam Sheedy is just 70 minutes away from claiming his first silverware in his 'second coming' as Tipperary manager after the Premier County booked their place in the Munster SHL final following a comfortable victory over Kerry in Nenagh today.

Tipp, who also accounted for All-Ireland champions Limerick before Christmas, will meet the winners of tomorrow's clash between Clare and Waterford in the final.

With 1,186 spectators watching, the hosts were out of sight by half-time when goals from Jason Forde, Mark Kehoe and Noel McGrath (an early contender for Goal of the Year) helped them to a commanding 4-14 to 0-7 interval lead.

Patrick 'Bonner' Maher raised another green flag within two minutes of the restart before Shane Conway bagged a late consolation goal for the Kingdom.

Tipperary - B Hogan; D Maher (0-1), Padraic Maher, K O'Dwyer; A Flynn, S Kennedy, B Heffernan; M Breen (0-1), W Connors (0-1); D McCormack (0-1), N McGrath (1-4), Patrick Maher (1-0); M Kehoe (1-3), J Forde (1-5, 0-2f, 1'65), J Morris (0-3). Subs: C Barrett for D Maher, C Darcy (0-1) for M Kehoe, R Byrne for S Kennedy, M McCarthy for N McGrath, T Fox for B Heffernan.

Kerry - J B O'Halloran; E Leen, J O'Connor, J Buckley; J Diggins, M Boyle, T O'Connor; D Griffin, N O'Mahony (0-1); M O'Leary (0-3), S Conway (1-2), F MacKessy; J Goulding (0-2), B Barrett (0-5, 4f), M Slattery. Subs: P Boyle (0-1) for F MacKessy, B Murphy for J O'Connor, J Conway for M Slattery, S Weir for E Leen, M Leane for N O'Mahony.

Referee - N Wall.

Most Read Stories