Munster SHL: Limerick return to winning ways

December 20, 2018

Limerick's Barry Murphy.
©INPHO/Tommy Dickson.

Limerick 4-14
Kerry 0-11

Limerick recorded their first win of the new season tonight by bagging two goals in each half to down Kerry in Tralee in the second round of the Munster Senior Hurling League.

Having fallen to Tipperary in their opener last week, John Kiely’s side made no mistake this time round and ensured themselves a blistering start at a wet Austin Stack Park that included goals from David Reidy and Oisin O’Reilly inside the opening three minutes.

The winners looked set to cruise from there but some sound free-taking towards the end of the first-half from Shane Conway saw the hosts’ deficit at 2-4 to 0-6 come the half-time whistle. 

Fintan O'Connor's men endured a nightmare restart though which saw Graeme Mulcahy blasting in the All-Ireland champions’ third goal of the night and Barry Murphy and Gearoid Hegarty widened the margin to eight with superbly taken points before Diarmaid Byrnes had it at 12 with 20 minutes left.

The game was up for Kerry at that stage as they failed to take full advantage of a 12-minute scoring drought from the visitors, which was ended by Hegarty (2, 1 sideline) prior to top-scorer Murphy rattling the home side’s net deep in injury-time.

Limerick - B Hennessy; W O’Meara, S Finn, L Lyons; D Byrnes (0-1), D Morrissey, P O’Loughlin; R Hanley, C Ryan (0-2, 1f); G Hegarty (0-3, 1sl), D Reidy (1-0), T Morrissey (0-1); B Murphy (1-6, 0-4f), S Flanagan, O O'Reilly (1-1). Subs: G Mulcahy (1-0) for D Reidy, A Costello for L Lyons, R Connolly for W O'Meara.

Kerry - M Stackpoole; S Weir, B Murphy, E Leen; J Diggins (0-1), M Boyle, P Kelly; D Griffin, B Barrett; J Conway (0-1), M O’Leary (0-2), M Leane; J Goulding, S Conway (0-4, 2f), D Goggin. Subs: J O'Connor for E Leen, P Boyle (0-3, 2f) for D Goggin, M Slattery for P Kelly, N O'Mahony for D Griffin, E Murphy for M Leane.

Referee - C Lyons.

Most Read Stories