FL1: Galway defeat Kerry for first time in 15 years

February 25, 2018

Galway's Eamonn Brannigan scores a goal against Kerry.
©INPHO/Cathal Noonan.

Eamonn Brannigan's second-half goal proved to be the difference as Galway enjoyed a long overdue win over Kerry today.

The scoreboard in Austin Stack Park, Tralee read 1-14 to 0-14 in the Tribesmen's favour when referee Fergal Kelly sounded his final whistle and Kevin Walsh's players were full value for their success.

Brannigan's 40th minute goal gave them a six point cushion and enabled them to weather an improved second-half showing by the Kingdom.

The visitors were quick out of the traps and raced into a 0-5 to 0-1 was by the end of the opening quarter.

With Barry McHugh displaying great accuracy from placed balls, they took a 0-9 to 0-5 lead into the break.

The corner-forward finished with eight points to his name (5 frees and 2 45s) while Brannigan contributed 1-3.

At the opposite end of the field, David Clifford raised six white flags (three from play) but was powerless to prevent Eamonn FIizmaurice's side from slipping to a second defeat.

It's now four wins from as many outings for the team in maroon and white and their next assignment is a home clash against Monaghan next Sunday.

Kerry, meanwhile, will travel to Croke Park next Saturday evening to take on Dublin.

Galway - R Lavelle; D Kyne, S A O Ceallaigh, E Kerin; C Sweeney, G Bradshaw, J Heaney; P Conroy, P Cooke; S Kelly, S Walsh (0-1f), E Brannigan (1-3); P Sweeney (0-2), D Comer, B McHugh (0-8, 5f, 2'45). Subs: G O'Donnell for C Sweeney (BC), S Armstrong for P Sweeney, D Wynne for S A O Ceallaigh (BC), J Duane for J Heaney (BC), C Duggan for P Cooke, T Flynn for E Brannigan.

Kerry - B Kelly; S Enright, J Foley, R Shanahan; P Murphy (0-1), P Crowley (0-1), B O Beaglaoich; J Barry, Barry O'Sullivan; M Burns, S O'Shea (0-3, 2f), S O'Brien (0-1); D Clifford (0-6, 3f), P Geaney, BJ Keane. Subs: M Flaherty for R Shanahan, T O'Sullivan (0-1) for B O Beaglaoich, E O Conchuir for BJ Keane, D Casey (0-1) for M Burns, K Spillane for P Geaney, B O Seanachain for Barry O'Sullivan.

Referee - F Kelly.

Most Read Stories