Team news: Carrickshock's Brennan to captain county intermediates

July 12, 2017

Carrickshock's Darragh Brennan with Paul Gavin of Ahascragh Fohenagh.
©INPHO/Tommy Grealy.

Carrickshock All-Ireland intermediate club winner Darragh Brennan will captain Kilkenny when they face Wexford in the Leinster IHC final at Nowlan Park tonight.

Brennan, who was a key player in attack for the 'Shock in their run to All-Ireland glory in February, skipper's the Cats from centre-forward as they aim for a repeat result of last year's decider against the Model County.

Under the stewardship of Pat O'Grady, Kilkenny were 3-14 to 2-14 winners over Wexford in the 2016 intermediate final but new manager Anthony McCormack has picked an entirely new squad made up of players from junior and intermediate clubs.

Dunnamaggin clubman McCormack could have included up to 12 members of this year's U21 county squad but they are all unavailable as they prepare for an All-Ireland semi-final date with Antirm next month.

Kilkenny (Leinster IHC final v Wexford): David Aylward; Niall Doherty, Ger Teehan, David Prendergast; Barry Whelan, Cormac Fleming, John Cahill; JP Treacy, Victor Costello; Paul Holden, Darragh Brennan, Edmond Delaney; Sean Carey, Martin Power, Robbie Donnelly.

Subs: Darragh Phelan, Eamonn Egan, Tony Delaney, James Power, Martin Keoghan, Colum Prendiville, Liam Hickey, Damien Walsh, Niall Walsh.

Extended Panel: Simon Rafter, Eoin Moriarty, Sean O'Dwyer, Tom Phelan, Criomthann Bergin, James Grace, Kevin Brophy, Jack McDowell.

Most Read Stories