HS hurling team of the week

July 10, 2017

Cork fans celebrate after their side's Munster SHC final victory over Clare at Semple Stadium, Thurles.
©INPHO/Ryan Byrne.

The past weekend saw the return of the Rebel County to the Munster winners enclosure, the Deise downing the Cats and Tipp doing a demolition job on Dublin. Here is our hurling team of the week...

1. Anthony Nash (Cork)

Nash's puck-out strategy worked a treat and sowed the seeds for many a successful Rebel County attack.

2. David McInerney (Clare)

The Banner full-back kept battling throughout the Semple Stadium showdown but the result didn't go his team's way.

3. Damien Cahalane (Cork)

The number three's marauding run out of defence late on epitomised Cork's single-mindedness approach to the game.

4. Conor Gleeson (Waterford)

Gleeson and his Waterford's team-mates will take great confidence into their All-Ireland SHC quarter-final date with Wexford.

5. Cillian Buckley (Kilkenny)

Couldn't be faulted in any way for the Cats' extra-time defeat at the hands of the Deise.

6. Tadhg de Burca (Waterford)

The Waterford sweeper proved to be the rock on which many a Kilkenny attack perished.

7. Mark Coleman (Cork)

"The best player I've seen this year" - high praise indeed for the 19-year-old from Sunday Game analyst Liam Sheedy.

8. Jamie Barron (Waterford)

The all-action midfielder got on the scoresheet with 1-3 in his county's first championship win over Kilkenny since 1959.

9. Darragh Fitzgibbon (Cork)

Another newcomer to the inter-county scene who has been integral to Cork hurling's renaissance.

10. Tony Kelly (Clare)

Finished the game with 0-10 to his name and one of those came from a first-half penalty.

11. Austin Gleeson (Waterford)

After a couple of indifferent displays, the 'Hurler of the Year' was back to his best when hitting five points against Kilkenny.

12. Jason Forde (Tipperary)

Dublin were no match for Forde and his Premier County colleagues in Semple Stadium on Saturday.

13. Alan Cadogan (Cork)

Caused consternation in the Clare defence throughout the provincial showdown and contributed 1-4 to his team's winning tally.

14. Patrick Horgan (Cork)

Surpassed the legendary Christy Ring as Cork's all-time leading championship scorer with 13 points against the Banner County.

15. Seamus Callanan (Tipperary)

Along with John McGrath and John 'Bubbles' O'Dwyer, Callanan rediscovered his best form and accumulated a massive 3-11 against the Dubs.

Most Read Stories