Here Guinness..

There's another bit of page filler for yiz

History has been made

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/03/2017 20:47:07    1971006

Replying To jimbodub:  "There's another bit of page filler for yiz

History has been made"
Yeah those 4 sending offs in Armagh is definitely a record alright!!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 25/03/2017 21:14:49    1971013

Glad the record is done so we can focus on the real business now, massive test for us next week

Hill16Army (Dublin) - Posts: 88 - 25/03/2017 21:15:37    1971014

RESPECT - Total Respect for this phenomenal Dublin team.

Such a pleasure to witness this once in a life time bunch of Dublin players.

We will never see their like in a Dublin jersey ever again.

Most pleasing thing, besides being record breakers tonight, was to see Paul Flynn back to his Best again.

2-29 to 0-14 was some score with 12 different scorers. And then to spring Jack, Connolly and MDMA from the bench and without Jonny Cooper, James McCarthy, Ciaran Kilkenny and Cormac Costello just shows our strength in depth.

Need to stay grounded though, as much tougher games await us going forward.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 25/03/2017 21:21:30    1971016

Quite apt for Dublin to score 35 points tonight

35 for #35

Another 2pts closer to the final, tough game ahead.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/03/2017 22:18:06    1971024

Hope Connollys injury isn't too bad..

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 25/03/2017 22:19:07    1971026

Paul Flynn back to his best. brogan looking sharp too. outstanding performance.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 25/03/2017 22:55:18    1971035

Replying To waynoI:  "Hope Connollys injury isn't too bad.."
He is fine
Just tweaked his groin.

Flynn is back looking like the real deal and himself again. Especially after carrying an injury over the last 2 seasons.

Monaghan will be a much different proposition next week.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 25/03/2017 23:44:41    1971045

Congrats to Dublin , outstanding achievement and it's a pleasure to witness it all!
I look forward to welcoming you's to Clones next week!
Wondering how come Kilkenny didn't start ?

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 26/03/2017 02:43:26    1971061

This Dublin team are what people would call a perfect storm, they are the best I have ever seen play for dubs, that coupled with the decline of Kerry, cork, Meath, and to a lesser extent the ulster counties have created the storm. Yes they have every advantage under the sun, and are a professional outfit in all but name, but still it is one hell of a achievement . Congratulations and well done. We will never see that record equalled or surpassed in our lifetime

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/03/2017 07:45:23    1971067

Fair play...credit where it's due.....interesting to see Martin brehenys piece in yesterday's indo tho.....has yee only 4th in greatest ever teams...due mainly to the opposition at the time in leinster and the fact the gaa is less of a level playing field these days. Although a brilliant record was achieved last night...I don't think a turkey shoot like that should be given any TV time on league Sunday later but don't ya know it'll be the main game and about 8 other decent games up and down the country will be ignored...dubs must have their garland of roses moment put up on there already sky high Rte pedastal .....anyway congrats. Unbelievable achievement

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 888 - 26/03/2017 08:42:48    1971073

Congratulations to Dublin. This unbeaten record will surely never be broken.

When I saw the thread title I thought there was free pints going !

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 26/03/2017 09:36:56    1971078

Ya, fair play alright.
It's not often you see a team so dominant.
This Dublin side deserve their place in the record books and good luck to them.Roscommon looked to be completely out of their depth though.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 26/03/2017 12:51:54    1971129

Now yous have the record, you won't mind throwing us a bone next week sure

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 26/03/2017 14:23:37    1971144

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Fair play...credit where it's due.....interesting to see Martin brehenys piece in yesterday's indo tho.....has yee only 4th in greatest ever teams...due mainly to the opposition at the time in leinster and the fact the gaa is less of a level playing field these days. Although a brilliant record was achieved last night...I don't think a turkey shoot like that should be given any TV time on league Sunday later but don't ya know it'll be the main game and about 8 other decent games up and down the country will be ignored...dubs must have their garland of roses moment put up on there already sky high Rte pedastal .....anyway congrats. Unbelievable achievement"
We got all of 40 secs last Sunday and that for one of the greatest teams to ever play the game against their bitter rivals in a tense draw. Not sure where you are getting RTE pedestal from. Are you confusing the Dublin senior footballers with the Irish rugby team?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 26/03/2017 14:50:20    1971155

Some beautiful swashbuckling stuff last night. It was really refreshing to see a game so open and creative last night. After a few turgid fixtures it was a beautiful game of football yesterday.

Really impressed with Roscommon last night, fans were a credit and great company. The team played football in the right way hard and skillful, some of the best and most beautiful points last night were Roscommon points. Seriously hope you lads have a tilt at Connaghct this year and i dont believe the tram is as bad as the table suggests. Your lads looked like they enjoyed the game last night and playing in Croke park and it was really refreshing to see.

I dont know even what to say about Dublin, the hunger and intensity was incredible for the whole 70 mins, a lot of lads last night had points to prove. Bernard and Paul Flynn were immense, the performance by Flynn who seems to have gotten over his injury problems of the last couple of years was just amazing. Those who wrote Bernards obituary last year i think have unleashed a beast, he looked like he had a big point to prove last night and was superb. The creativeness and expansiveness of what we played was incredible and rekindles your love of the game and the spirit it should be played in. So such thing as a damp squib of a game when the quality of this team are on top song.

The depth of the panel is just ridiculous. They competition for places is fierce and the level lads are trying to play to for a starting jersey is incredible. The team were playing brilliantly and then the bench empties and you have Jack, MDM, Connolly coming on, it really is just ridiculous. All of them with a point to prove and playing full pelt. The whole team looks fit, refreshed, rested and hungry.

The panel looks so strong, the emergence of Mchugh, Scully, Lowdness, Reddin this year strengthens every line on the pitch. Thats before we even mention King Con.

Everything augers well and we couldn't be in a better position heading into the summer months, this league campaign has probably been one of our most successful considering the development of so many players to the panel.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 26/03/2017 15:13:28    1971160

Congratsv to Dublin, a great achievement by a TRULY GREAT team!...... hopefully (as stated already) we can sort yiz next wk!

Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 442 - 26/03/2017 16:14:41    1971178

"Total Respect for this phenomenal Dublin team. "

"Such a pleasure to witness this once in a life time bunch of Dublin players."

"This Dublin team are what people would call a perfect storm, they are the best I have ever seen play for dubs"

The comments above are indeed high praise and I'm definitely not the person to comment on the merits of this current Dublin team. But, record aside. Are they better then than the team of the mid 1970's to the mid 1980's?

At the end of the day, great teams, whether football or hurling, are judged on All-Ireland successes.

The current team have appeared in 4 of the last 6 All-Irelands, winning all of these.

In an eleven year period, between 1974 and 1985, Dublin appeared in 9 All-Irelands - winning 4 of them.

But, during this 11 year period, one of the greatest teams ever to play football (Kerry) won 4 All-Irelands in a row. In fact, Dublin finished runners-up to Kerry 5 times.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2466 - 26/03/2017 16:37:13    1971184

Replying To patk:  "Now yous have the record, you won't mind throwing us a bone next week sure"
haha if both ye and donegal win next we ye will contest the final, not us.

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 26/03/2017 17:17:42    1971246

Well done to Dublin. I think this run could continue a while yet and the record will likely never be broken. Tremendous achievement.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 26/03/2017 20:04:27    1971402