Fair play McStay

Fair play to Kevin McStay for calling out bad refereeing, for too long referee's are not being consistent. Too often it one set of rules for one team a completely different for another. The standard of refereeing is awful. Too many referees want to be the centre of attention, I seen it last week with Monaghan not getting frees that Kerry where getting. The same thing happened with Padraig Hughes last night in Omagh with Tyrone getting the run of decisions Monaghan didn't get. Same with Joe McQuillian getting the dubs back into the game agaisnt Tyrone. Ciaran Branigan gave a mystery free to Donegal last week to get a draw. The referee in the Kildare match allowed a quick free to be taken inside the 13 metre line which led to a goal. Too many mistakes by the referee's is costing teams points and it not right. Its time the gaa admit that they have to try to implement a higher standard of officiating because it is a cancer on the game as Much as blanket defences or hand passing.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 05/03/2017 23:05:46    1964267

Referees in this day and age need a TMO in order to assist them with difficult decisions as in potential red cards, debateable penalties and disputable goals. I sent in a thread about the need for TMO earlier which was not put on the forum in a decision best known to the administrator. I also have not been contacted to email to explain why this thread was not put onto the forum which is a total joke.

Perhaps, you, Shaggy Legend should become a referee yourself since you obviously know it all. I'm not saying refereeing is perfect at the moment but they are only as good as the numbers that they have available to pick from and with the likes of you bashing referees from the safe sanctuary of being a 'keyboard warrior', how is that going to entice up and coming referees to take on the job.

Sure, Shaggy Legend, you go and become a referee and show everybody how easy a job it is.

G.A.A._fan (Laois) - Posts: 102 - 06/03/2017 00:38:28    1964293

Referee yesterday was terribly biased
And u can look at every post I have ever put on this site I've never blamed or criticised a ref but the lads yesterday was buying everything jod did in particular.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 06/03/2017 08:59:57    1964343

Lads as a ref, it's brutally hard. You have to follow the ball, and you've a split second to make decisions, and can only do it on what you see, not on what players and managers think they see. I think the communication process is awful. In rugby they have meetings between referees and coaches, to iron out issues. There's no such thing in GAA, refs are told to shut up and talk to none, and the same mistakes made.

galwaydublin (Galway) - Posts: 226 - 06/03/2017 09:04:52    1964345

Replying To galwaydublin:  "Lads as a ref, it's brutally hard. You have to follow the ball, and you've a split second to make decisions, and can only do it on what you see, not on what players and managers think they see. I think the communication process is awful. In rugby they have meetings between referees and coaches, to iron out issues. There's no such thing in GAA, refs are told to shut up and talk to none, and the same mistakes made."
I understand how hard it is for refs as I done a bit of it myself in the past. But there is absolute no excuse for been biased. Some of the decisions yesterday were scandalous and disgraceful. I only wish the full match was shown live so people not in attendance could really see how bad it was. I have never witnessed anything so one sided by a so called elite referee in my life. Kerry fans behind me were laughing there heads off it was that bad

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 06/03/2017 09:20:01    1964354

Some referee s dont know the rules simple as that, I was playing the other day and l had possession of the football and was knocked to the ground and lost possession of ball but I fisted the ball on ground, he gave a free again me, what a joke

Teddy5 (Wexford) - Posts: 122 - 06/03/2017 09:33:53    1964362

Replying To Teddy5:  "Some referee s dont know the rules simple as that, I was playing the other day and l had possession of the football and was knocked to the ground and lost possession of ball but I fisted the ball on ground, he gave a free again me, what a joke"
That rule has always confused me as I've seen referees penalise that or let it go, from senior inter county to club level.

By what your saying MDMA's 'goal' against Mayo should have stood?

Or have they changed that rule?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 06/03/2017 10:18:29    1964388

I'm not saying it's an easy job far from it. The point I am trying to make is referee at the top are poor and are allowed to get away with it. In the premier league if a defree has a bad game he is stood down. In the gaa if an elite referee has a bad game he gets another.
I don't mind referees like David Goldrick who let stuff go and allow heavy tackling but he doesn't penalise players on either team. But a certain referees are judging tackling by one team differently to another. If a referee is bad but Immplents the same standards for both teams then, I'd be 100% ok with that.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 06/03/2017 10:18:46    1964389

Have to agree. It's not an easy job and it's always easy to blame referees etc. But based entirely on games I watch as a neutral, the standard of refereeing is significantly lower than the standard of play. It's still in the "amateur" era, if you know what I mean. A lot of it can only be described as guesswork, which leads to massive inconsistencies.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12125 - 06/03/2017 11:07:24    1964419

Replying To MesAmis:  "That rule has always confused me as I've seen referees penalise that or let it go, from senior inter county to club level.

By what your saying MDMA's 'goal' against Mayo should have stood?

Or have they changed that rule?"
I vaguely remember years ago they bringing in a rule where you could play the ball away from you on the ground if you were on the ground.
Was that actually brought in and removed again or did it ever come in?

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 06/03/2017 11:17:33    1964428

I was watching this on the radio yesterday and it sounded like he was inconsistent for both sides.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 06/03/2017 11:18:52    1964430

Replying To Superglue:  "I vaguely remember years ago they bringing in a rule where you could play the ball away from you on the ground if you were on the ground.
Was that actually brought in and removed again or did it ever come in?"
Still the rule as long as you had possession of ball and knocked to ground you can fist it away

Teddy5 (Wexford) - Posts: 122 - 06/03/2017 11:31:46    1964442

Replying To Superglue:  "I was watching this on the radio yesterday and it sounded like he was inconsistent for both sides."
It must have been a local Kerry radio station you were listening too so. Put it this way I doubt ye will every get a ref to been so one sided in you're favour again. Its not Kerry fault and its not sour grapes its just facts. We couldn't buy a free and Kerry got some very questionable ones. With a ref following the rules of the game Kerry could possible have had 6 Men black carded. But sure why would he follow the rules.

Nothing against Kerry not there fault ref gave them everything and in fairness as I said earlier Kerry fans were nearly embarrassed with the decisions going their way.

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 06/03/2017 11:32:00    1964443

Replying To Superglue:  "I was watching this on the radio yesterday and it sounded like he was inconsistent for both sides."
Cool radio

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 06/03/2017 11:38:29    1964446

I's say McStay's 'issues' yesterday, had less to do with 'officiating', and related more to 'the Gay Sheeran outburst' on Shannonside radio as co-comm with the legendary Willie Hegarty on the Mayo/Ros match. McStay felt compelled to show some extra passion yesterday possibly. Indeed a lot of Sheeran's allegations were pure muck. To suggest that McStay & McHale 'hated' Ros in their playing days, so still must hate them now, that he himself Sheeran never wanted to see 'a Mayoman' on Roscommon's sideline etc......classic neanderthal stuff......great listening though!! I'd say that's what stoked Kevin yesterday, for the man part.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3477 - 06/03/2017 11:38:52    1964447

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "It must have been a local Kerry radio station you were listening too so. Put it this way I doubt ye will every get a ref to been so one sided in you're favour again. Its not Kerry fault and its not sour grapes its just facts. We couldn't buy a free and Kerry got some very questionable ones. With a ref following the rules of the game Kerry could possible have had 6 Men black carded. But sure why would he follow the rules.

Nothing against Kerry not there fault ref gave them everything and in fairness as I said earlier Kerry fans were nearly embarrassed with the decisions going their way."
Yes but you can also argue that the penalty that was awarded was soft and there were questions marks over whether it was in the parallelogram or not, so it's not fair to say he was totally favoring Kerry at Roscommon's expense.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/03/2017 12:34:42    1964497

Replying To galwaydublin:  "Lads as a ref, it's brutally hard. You have to follow the ball, and you've a split second to make decisions, and can only do it on what you see, not on what players and managers think they see. I think the communication process is awful. In rugby they have meetings between referees and coaches, to iron out issues. There's no such thing in GAA, refs are told to shut up and talk to none, and the same mistakes made."
Yes, it's a difficult and often thankless job. But that doesn't excuse refereeing that happens to favour one team over another. Or that doesn't apply the rules consistently. And having seen a certain referee from our own county recently give as bad a display of refereeing as I've seen, when it occurs it should be commented on.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 863 - 06/03/2017 12:36:31    1964498

Replying To TheHermit:  "Yes but you can also argue that the penalty that was awarded was soft and there were questions marks over whether it was in the parallelogram or not, so it's not fair to say he was totally favoring Kerry at Roscommon's expense."
It was a foul all day defender all over his back and had hold of his jersey. Whether it was inside or outside box I was too far away to see but he consulted umpires and actually said it was inside. But was definitely a foul.
Fist attended the Hyde with my father in 1983 and I have never ever seen us get screwed so bad. Or seen any team been so screwed tbh

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 06/03/2017 13:10:30    1964529

Replying To jimbodub:  "Cool radio"
I'd nothing on but the radio yesterday

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 06/03/2017 15:52:22    1964658

Replying To Superglue:  "I'd nothing on but the radio yesterday"
A great form of media just a pity that Newstalk lost their extended rights

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 06/03/2017 16:22:36    1964680