Castleknock's unbelievable achievement

I can't believe it Castleknock a club that was formed in 1998 have beaten Jude's to qualify for the Dublin final unbelievable achievement, well done to all involved amazing.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/10/2016 20:52:11    1929657

Replying To clondalkindub:  "I can't believe it Castleknock a club that was formed in 1998 have beaten Jude's to qualify for the Dublin final unbelievable achievement, well done to all involved amazing."
Well done Castleknock

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4225 - 27/10/2016 21:07:07    1929662

Replying To clondalkindub:  "I can't believe it Castleknock a club that was formed in 1998 have beaten Jude's to qualify for the Dublin final unbelievable achievement, well done to all involved amazing."
incredible and shows how quickly they have grown

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 27/10/2016 21:07:28    1929663

Fully deserved and what an achievement when you consider the area they pull players from they are up against two huge clubs in st brigids one of the best run clubs in dublin and Oliver plunketts who have the best marketing tool imagineable in Dublin in Bernard brogan to get any kid to want to join. It's some effort from all at the club as they are only a senior club itself a couple of years. Not 100% sure the age but I don't think they had a player over 25 playing tonight. The youngest senior club team I have ever seen.
They dominated the game and we're by far the better team.
when you consider ballyboden won the all ireland this year and crokes took them out then judes took crokes out in the quarters it's been some fairytale for such a new club.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/10/2016 21:45:29    1929683

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Fully deserved and what an achievement when you consider the area they pull players from they are up against two huge clubs in st brigids one of the best run clubs in dublin and Oliver plunketts who have the best marketing tool imagineable in Dublin in Bernard brogan to get any kid to want to join. It's some effort from all at the club as they are only a senior club itself a couple of years. Not 100% sure the age but I don't think they had a player over 25 playing tonight. The youngest senior club team I have ever seen.
when you consider ballyboden won the all ireland this year and crokes took them out then judes took crokes out in the quarters it's been some fairytale for such a new club."
Dessie Carlos a Roscommon man scored 9 out of 11 scores for them tonight. So they are getting players from a bit further than a very small area. He is older than 25 too. Around 30 I think or just shy of it. Keeper i see is a mayo man.
Fabulous achievement all the same I remember them in Leinster junior not so long ago. Kilkenny will make all the headlines but they have lads performing better than him

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 27/10/2016 23:27:10    1929716

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "Dessie Carlos a Roscommon man scored 9 out of 11 scores for them tonight. So they are getting players from a bit further than a very small area. He is older than 25 too. Around 30 I think or just shy of it. Keeper i see is a mayo man.
Fabulous achievement all the same I remember them in Leinster junior not so long ago. Kilkenny will make all the headlines but they have lads performing better than him"
I mean getting kids to join castleknock club at starting off age over going to hugely established clubs like brigids or plunketts.
I said wasnt 100% but you have to admit the majority are extremely young for a senior club team it's hugely impressive

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/10/2016 23:37:24    1929720

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Fully deserved and what an achievement when you consider the area they pull players from they are up against two huge clubs in st brigids one of the best run clubs in dublin and Oliver plunketts who have the best marketing tool imagineable in Dublin in Bernard brogan to get any kid to want to join. It's some effort from all at the club as they are only a senior club itself a couple of years. Not 100% sure the age but I don't think they had a player over 25 playing tonight. The youngest senior club team I have ever seen.
when you consider ballyboden won the all ireland this year and crokes took them out then judes took crokes out in the quarters it's been some fairytale for such a new club."
well said hill....is the window closed for plunketts in your view?...constantly the nearly men?

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 27/10/2016 23:37:32    1929721

To put it in context
In 2012 castleknock won the junior championship.
In 2014 they won the intermediate championship.
In 2016 they will now contest the senior championship final.
that's some rise through the grades

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/10/2016 00:16:43    1929728

The Castleknock club has a massive catchment population and fair play to them for getting their structures right. I don't buy into the small club syndrome v bridgids. There is little competition on the west of bridgids until ye get to Lucan.

showforit (Meath) - Posts: 156 - 28/10/2016 00:22:57    1929730

Brilliant achievement for Castleknock, great to see such a success story. And brilliant to see a Roscommon man leading them to, a real nice lad. really hope they pull off another big result Saturday.

Douglas_Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 90 - 28/10/2016 07:49:04    1929738

Replying To alano12:  "well said hill....is the window closed for plunketts in your view?...constantly the nearly men?"
At I think it is the way they adopted a defensive approach ruined it for them.
From around 2007-2012 they were a brilliant team to watch the football they played was outstanding attacking stuff with Bernard Alan,nesty and jayo it was as good a club forward line I have seen but could never get over the line.
last few years have been complete opposite all out defensive football it hasn't worked and castleknock beat them in the league and then championship two weeks later to prove that.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/10/2016 09:49:24    1929755

I left Castleknock 9 years ago to move back to the sticks having lived In Castleknock for a number of years.

I used to do a bit of training at the pitches etc to keep me in relative good nick for the Club at home during the summer months and i never in my wildest dreams thought back then they would have the rapid rise that they have had.

Fair play, great to see a new Club come through like that.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1337 - 28/10/2016 09:51:59    1929756

Castleknock have benefited a great deal with the increase in population in Carpenterstown and Luttrelstown over the past 15 years. They have put huge efforts into both codes with plenty of lads from outside Dublin putting in huge time when they located in the area. The juvenile structure they have in place in Dublin 15 is better then any club including St Brigids. Most of the lads from outside Dublin playing with them are living in the area and have been playing with the club for years. Most of the current team have won A Championships at underage and a few have won Minor and U21 All Irelands with Dublin. They will not fear Vincent's as these young lads have a winning mentality . Not much mention either that Castleknock corner forward Mikey Galvin is the son of former Dublin star Mick Galvin.

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 28/10/2016 16:02:56    1929873

Must add my congratulations and hope they win the final.
Fair play to all involved and can senior teams in Leinster like Meath , Kildare Laois etc take a leaf outa their book and start getting competative again against the dubs.
Castle knock and Slaughtneil have shown what can be achieved , can't see why other teams can't achieve with the right attitude
Would be a fairytale final -- Castleknock v Slaughtneill on Paddys day

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 28/10/2016 16:33:24    1929882

As a matter of interest why is the club called Castleknock GAA as their ground doesn't appear to be anywhere near Castleknock where St Brigids are located?

Surely they should be called Carpenterstown or Luttrellstown or Porterstown ?

roast (Kildare) - Posts: 143 - 28/10/2016 16:50:44    1929884

Replying To roast:  "As a matter of interest why is the club called Castleknock GAA as their ground doesn't appear to be anywhere near Castleknock where St Brigids are located?

Surely they should be called Carpenterstown or Luttrellstown or Porterstown ?"
Probably because it was the only area available to them to set up their pitch.
craobh chirann curently play on the n32 at clonshaugh nowhere near donnycarney because its the place they could find to get a pitch.
Parnells used to play next to ballymuns pitch at the airport and they are a coolock club.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/10/2016 18:16:45    1929903

Replying To alano12:  "well said hill....is the window closed for plunketts in your view?...constantly the nearly men?"
The Sherry brothers from Fermanagh must be well into their thirties. Well done to the club. Nice to see a new name coming through.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 28/10/2016 22:48:53    1929957

They won the Intermediate Championship in Dublin in 2014. They lost in Leinster that year to the Louth champions Sean O Mahonys . The Sean O Mahonys won their first ever Louth Senior Championship title this year . Can Castleknock emulate The Sean O Mahomys and win their first ever senior title ?

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 29/10/2016 01:24:37    1929972

Replying To hill16no1man:  "At I think it is the way they adopted a defensive approach ruined it for them.
From around 2007-2012 they were a brilliant team to watch the football they played was outstanding attacking stuff with Bernard Alan,nesty and jayo it was as good a club forward line I have seen but could never get over the line.
last few years have been complete opposite all out defensive football it hasn't worked and castleknock beat them in the league and then championship two weeks later to prove that."
id have to agree,,considering the players theyv had to not win 1 champ has been an under achievement

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 30/10/2016 14:15:06    1930172

Fair play to them but is really a unbelievable achievement the have had huge numbers at uderage for years now. Indeed the player who got nearly 90 percent of there scores home club can't field teams at underage level as the are one of the smallest clubs in roscommon

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 30/10/2016 21:16:44    1930292