Should Mayo Warm Up At The Hill

Should Mayo warm up at the hill to mix things up?

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 13/09/2016 13:03:52    1913561

Replying To centerfield:  "Should Mayo warm up at the hill to mix things up?"
If ticket allocation has been done fairly with no favouritism shown, then the hill will be split 50/50 and Mayo would have every right to warm up in front of their own fans.

The "it's decided alphabetically" myth was dispelled on another thread so I see no reason why Dublin are automatically entitled to warm up in front of the hill.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 13/09/2016 13:32:57    1913598

No we shouldn't. Anyway team's are told now which end they are designated. The Mayo backroom team will have the drills setup and marked out. All focus should and will be on the game ahead not the sideshows.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 13/09/2016 13:34:53    1913600

Go for it.

A bit of craic in anyways.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 13/09/2016 13:50:23    1913613

Replying To yew_tree:  "No we shouldn't. Anyway team's are told now which end they are designated. The Mayo backroom team will have the drills setup and marked out. All focus should and will be on the game ahead not the sideshows."
Same as 10 years ago!

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 13/09/2016 14:21:04    1913651

No. It will be an unnecessary distraction and they need to be fully tuned in to what they're doing if they are to have any hope.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 13/09/2016 14:51:18    1913673

Itll not happen these days.

It was always a case you warmed up dependent on what dressing room you were assigned in Croke Park. Back ten years ago also the teams took the pitch, done a bit of a kick around whilst the coaches set up the cones etc.

Nowadays however coaches are out on the pitch a good 20 mins before a team player comes out so it will be well set up beforehand.

God i couldnt stand that Dublin team, team full of egos and arrogance who i was delighted to see lose, as a Dub said to me one day "they would have been a great team if they spent more time playing for the hill and crowd rather than playing to the hill and crowd"

If it did happen on sunday Jim Gavin or the Dublin players wouldnt even bat an eyelid and continue on doing what they were doing, changing to that mentality has been Gavins greatest achievement and more than anything has contributed to how great this Dublin team have been.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1337 - 13/09/2016 15:01:29    1913679

Replying To Lockjaw:  "No. It will be an unnecessary distraction and they need to be fully tuned in to what they're doing if they are to have any hope."
They won that match so who do you think got distracted?

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 13/09/2016 15:33:20    1913698

Replying To centerfield:  "Should Mayo warm up at the hill to mix things up?"
I couldn't give a s*it where they warm up. It's immaterial. I'd say Gavin and the l;ads will be totally focussed on the job,
It actually might be a disadvantage to mayo to warm up in front of the Hill though.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 13/09/2016 15:52:52    1913716

Might as well

It would the only time they ever warm up in front of their fans on a packed Hill

Cause they were nowhere to be found against Tipp when they had the chance

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 13/09/2016 16:12:14    1913730

Replying To keeper7:  "They won that match so who do you think got distracted?"
That wasn't an All Ireland final. It'll be a distraction to themselves and themselves only if they're stupid enough to do it this Sunday. This is a different Dublin team that's focused one one thing and one thing only, winning Sam Maguire. Let Mayo focus on where they want to warm up. More fool them if they head for the Hill.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 13/09/2016 16:14:55    1913732

while I think it is irrelevant where the teams warm up ...... however the GAA won't do anything to upset Dublin public, let them warm up where they want and ensure the Dubs get all the cheapest tickets on final day and make the country bumpkins pay double for theirs. I admire hugely the work of this dublin team and their gracious manager jim gavin, unfortunately the same cannot be said of the vast majority of their jonny come lately supporters, expect the throw in to be around 345 by the time all the dubs finally get in to croke park...........the early game on sky's super sunday should be over by then............

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 916 - 13/09/2016 16:15:49    1913734

I think the best thing Dublin could do in that case is just warm up on the opposite side if Mayo took the end end(not that I think they will go to the hill end anyway)

If Dublin just ignored it , it would make Mayo look like ejits anyway. The Dublin team of 2006 went bananas , worst possible reaction. The best thing to do in that situation is not to react and just simply not care . Had Wheelan and rest of his lads done that in 2006 they may have played more with their heads in that game rather than than being a pumped up team of agro playing to the crowd .Anyway that's years ago , this bunch is different (with the exception of maybe Wheelan and Cluxton )

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 13/09/2016 16:17:23    1913736

Replying To totalrecall:  "while I think it is irrelevant where the teams warm up ...... however the GAA won't do anything to upset Dublin public, let them warm up where they want and ensure the Dubs get all the cheapest tickets on final day and make the country bumpkins pay double for theirs. I admire hugely the work of this dublin team and their gracious manager jim gavin, unfortunately the same cannot be said of the vast majority of their jonny come lately supporters, expect the throw in to be around 345 by the time all the dubs finally get in to croke park...........the early game on sky's super sunday should be over by then............"
And the award for 'most original post of the day' goes to........................

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 13/09/2016 16:18:21    1913738

Replying To totalrecall:  "while I think it is irrelevant where the teams warm up ...... however the GAA won't do anything to upset Dublin public, let them warm up where they want and ensure the Dubs get all the cheapest tickets on final day and make the country bumpkins pay double for theirs. I admire hugely the work of this dublin team and their gracious manager jim gavin, unfortunately the same cannot be said of the vast majority of their jonny come lately supporters, expect the throw in to be around 345 by the time all the dubs finally get in to croke park...........the early game on sky's super sunday should be over by then............"
Lol!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 13/09/2016 16:20:08    1913740

The sheer prejudice and ignorance evident in a post like this is utterly jaw-dropping. It's hard to believe that in a so-called educated country like Ireland that people can spew such stuff. Depressing.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 13/09/2016 16:20:19    1913741

Replying To tearintom:  "Itll not happen these days.

It was always a case you warmed up dependent on what dressing room you were assigned in Croke Park. Back ten years ago also the teams took the pitch, done a bit of a kick around whilst the coaches set up the cones etc.

Nowadays however coaches are out on the pitch a good 20 mins before a team player comes out so it will be well set up beforehand.

God i couldnt stand that Dublin team, team full of egos and arrogance who i was delighted to see lose, as a Dub said to me one day "they would have been a great team if they spent more time playing for the hill and crowd rather than playing to the hill and crowd"

If it did happen on sunday Jim Gavin or the Dublin players wouldnt even bat an eyelid and continue on doing what they were doing, changing to that mentality has been Gavins greatest achievement and more than anything has contributed to how great this Dublin team have been."
Pat gilroy got them really focused Gavin enhanced it then.cant see anything like that happening again but shar b bit craic was at that game in question when it happened. Pillar lost that game moved Shane Ryan from midfield for second half he was flying in first half was taken off then.the dubs where in control but felt that move hobbled them

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 13/09/2016 16:24:31    1913744

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "I think the best thing Dublin could do in that case is just warm up on the opposite side if Mayo took the end end(not that I think they will go to the hill end anyway)

If Dublin just ignored it , it would make Mayo look like ejits anyway. The Dublin team of 2006 went bananas , worst possible reaction. The best thing to do in that situation is not to react and just simply not care . Had Wheelan and rest of his lads done that in 2006 they may have played more with their heads in that game rather than than being a pumped up team of agro playing to the crowd .Anyway that's years ago , this bunch is different (with the exception of maybe Wheelan and Cluxton )"
Meant Connolly and cluxton whoops

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 13/09/2016 16:28:57    1913749

Replying To keeper7:  "They won that match so who do you think got distracted?"
There's a big difference in that Dublin team and this one I think you'll agree.
Messing around before the game has even started and not being focused could result in you getting your arse handed to you with this Dublin team.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 13/09/2016 16:28:57    1913750

Don't bother. The last thing Mayo players need, is, Dublin fans in the Hill jeering and whistling at them as they go through their warm up routine.

Joe_Bloggs (Tipperary) - Posts: 186 - 13/09/2016 16:50:50    1913763