Camogie handshakes

Anybody able to shed light on the incident before the senior Camogie final? Without knowing what it was about, seems petulant and lacking in sportsmanship to say the least! (Is there a female equivalent of sportsmanship?!)

1914 (Clare) - Posts: 92 - 11/09/2016 21:12:01    1912906

Replying To 1914:  "Anybody able to shed light on the incident before the senior Camogie final? Without knowing what it was about, seems petulant and lacking in sportsmanship to say the least! (Is there a female equivalent of sportsmanship?!)"
Don't know what it was all about but delighted Kilkenny won. Didn't care before the game but seeing that from the Cork no.10 had me roaring for Kilkenny. Poor behaviour in my view and I'd say she is embarrassed. It's all over twitter.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 11/09/2016 21:43:28    1912928

Replying To 1914:  "Anybody able to shed light on the incident before the senior Camogie final? Without knowing what it was about, seems petulant and lacking in sportsmanship to say the least! (Is there a female equivalent of sportsmanship?!)"
Has to be sportspersonship.We must adhere to the PC brigade nowadays or else...

worple (Roscommon) - Posts: 339 - 11/09/2016 22:06:10    1912946

Doesn't that Kilkenny number 4 live in Cork? Perhaps just a sour moment but looked like the whole Cork team weren't interested.
Made the cats purr even more Cork handed them the initiative.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 11/09/2016 22:48:23    1912962

A whole lot of nothing, tbh.

ZeitChrist (UK) - Posts: 154 - 11/09/2016 23:09:17    1912971

I actually seen this. The two teams were shaking hands before the game and one of the Cork player's seem determined to wind up and try to intimidate every one of the Kilkenny girls as she moved down the line. She was pushing them and putting the shoulder until she came to a Kilkenny player half her size who wasn't going to be intimidated in any shape or form. As the Cork girl put the shoulder in and pushed her the Kilkenny player came right back at her and pushed her back a couple of feet. It seemed to fire the Kilkenny players up big time.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 11/09/2016 23:28:34    1912973

Replying To CroiGorm:  "Don't know what it was all about but delighted Kilkenny won. Didn't care before the game but seeing that from the Cork no.10 had me roaring for Kilkenny. Poor behaviour in my view and I'd say she is embarrassed. It's all over twitter."
What did she do? She shook hands with 15 players...one pushed her...takes two to tango as they say, you have very quickly made up your mind that it was Hannah Looney's fault..an outstanding dual player who will be back in two weeks time.

Fair play to Kilkenny today on their win. Much better.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 11/09/2016 23:53:57    1912979

Replying To CroiGorm:  "Don't know what it was all about but delighted Kilkenny won. Didn't care before the game but seeing that from the Cork no.10 had me roaring for Kilkenny. Poor behaviour in my view and I'd say she is embarrassed. It's all over twitter."
A few of the Cork team were acting the maggot at the handshakes but their big number 10 was the worst, digging her fist into the Kilkenny players, yanking their arms etc. Collete Dormer was having none of it and pushed her away. Fair play to her, stood up to someone twice her size.

The whole handshake lark should be done away with anyway, a pointless import from soccer.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 12/09/2016 07:51:08    1912996

Replying To ballydalane:  "A few of the Cork team were acting the maggot at the handshakes but their big number 10 was the worst, digging her fist into the Kilkenny players, yanking their arms etc. Collete Dormer was having none of it and pushed her away. Fair play to her, stood up to someone twice her size.

The whole handshake lark should be done away with anyway, a pointless import from soccer."
If it wasn't a soccer import would it still be pointless? If the answer is yes then what is the point of even mentioning soccer?

I think it's well worth while doing. It helps, or at least should, breed an atmosphere of mutual respect and sportsmanship before a match. I'm not quite sure what objections anyone could have to it other than "the soccer" did it first.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 12/09/2016 08:19:10    1912998

Definitely should be done away with, pointless , everybody shakes hands after, surely that's enough

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1909 - 12/09/2016 08:22:48    1912999

At bennybunny come on the cork girl was the one doing it going along the line, until finally one Kilkenny girl have her a taste of her own medicine.
I agree with the others that it's a ridiculo

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 12/09/2016 08:43:01    1913003

Ridiculous thing borrowed from other sports as part of the gaas give respect get respect campaign they had going.
but yet surely the targetting of players during the game with verbal abuse seems the whole thing a waste of time.
it's all only for show on the semi finals and final days as they don't do it for any other games.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 12/09/2016 08:46:32    1913007

Replying To bennybunny:  "What did she do? She shook hands with 15 players...one pushed her...takes two to tango as they say, you have very quickly made up your mind that it was Hannah Looney's fault..an outstanding dual player who will be back in two weeks time.

Fair play to Kilkenny today on their win. Much better."
Watch the clip again. One Kilkenny player pushed her AFTER she'd been shoved.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 12/09/2016 09:15:50    1913017

Replying To bennybunny:  "What did she do? She shook hands with 15 players...one pushed her...takes two to tango as they say, you have very quickly made up your mind that it was Hannah Looney's fault..an outstanding dual player who will be back in two weeks time.

Pretty easy to make up our mind that it was Looney's fault; Here you go - link

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 12/09/2016 09:18:09    1913018

Replying To the_walls:  "If it wasn't a soccer import would it still be pointless? If the answer is yes then what is the point of even mentioning soccer?

I think it's well worth while doing. It helps, or at least should, breed an atmosphere of mutual respect and sportsmanship before a match. I'm not quite sure what objections anyone could have to it other than "the soccer" did it first."
I called it a "pointless import from soccer" because it's, well, a pointless import from soccer. If it was a pointless import from rugby I'd say it was a pointless import from rugby.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 12/09/2016 09:44:28    1913038

Come off it Benny, Looney was acting the maggot and made a fool of herself.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 12/09/2016 09:46:22    1913039

I'd say most players hate doing this for the very reason it is being talked about, now could you imagine the carry-on if that was in the mens game before the game actually started? It is not a great idea as for the incident thought KK girl was spot on, she was having none of it, well done to KK well deserved too.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 13/09/2016 08:21:40    1913384

They shouldnt have been made shake hands in the first place. Its a pointless and superficial exercise that looks ridiculous and the the sooner they do away with it the better.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 13/09/2016 18:51:39    1913835

Replying To the_walls:  "If it wasn't a soccer import would it still be pointless? If the answer is yes then what is the point of even mentioning soccer?

I think it's well worth while doing. It helps, or at least should, breed an atmosphere of mutual respect and sportsmanship before a match. I'm not quite sure what objections anyone could have to it other than "the soccer" did it first."
Its a hollow pointless superficial charade that the players clearly would rather not do (they can barely look at eachother while doing it) and if anything it just increases tension.
I fear that the day will soon come when GAA players, instead of running out onto the pitch on all ireland final day to the roars of their fans, will be made slowly walk out next to the opposition, each player holding hands with a child, before both captains are made read out a scripted statement to the crowd with some sort of "respect" based message on it.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 13/09/2016 19:01:51    1913842

You really have to win if you're going to be at that craic!!

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 13/09/2016 21:09:39    1913928