Brian Cody and sideline conduct

First of all I will say I respect and think Brian is a fantastic manager. However I have noticed in most games he roars at linesmen and refs constantly. I noticed yesterday he was complaining about a free that wasn't given then there was a sideline given to Kilkenny straight after that I thought was a Tipp ball. I think the linesman was influenced by Cody.
He also seemed to get involved with the Waterford back room team and Derek McGrath in the semi. When Davy Fitz does this he gets vilified and called everything under the sun for doing the same thing. Seems very unfair and hypocritical.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 05/09/2016 20:11:17    1910410

Replying To The_Fridge:  "First of all I will say I respect and think Brian is a fantastic manager. However I have noticed in most games he roars at linesmen and refs constantly. I noticed yesterday he was complaining about a free that wasn't given then there was a sideline given to Kilkenny straight after that I thought was a Tipp ball. I think the linesman was influenced by Cody.
He also seemed to get involved with the Waterford back room team and Derek McGrath in the semi. When Davy Fitz does this he gets vilified and called everything under the sun for doing the same thing. Seems very unfair and hypocritical."
Agree with that.I thought Brian Cody's behaviour on the sideline during the replay with Waterford in Thurles was unacceptable.It shouldn't be tolerated by the match officials .Worse still, I would be concerned that it does influence decision making by the officials during the game.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2174 - 05/09/2016 20:52:59    1910424

I'd be more concerned with the conduct of Tyrone footballers, particularly baiting and sledging opponents, than anything Cody does. Every management team challenges referees and linesmen, when Cody does it people seem to get their knickers in a twist about it.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 05/09/2016 21:00:59    1910428

What does Tyrone have to do with a tread about Brian Cody. Also my point is that no one seems to say anything about Cody compared to someone like Davy Fitz.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 05/09/2016 21:20:51    1910437

Load of nonsense. Could use stronger words. For every Jim Galvin there are 50 Davy Fitz's. Brian Cody is as emotionally involved as everyone involved in Gaa. You don't have the savage will to win he has without trying to get every advantage you can. People always say to players "don't question the referee, he won't change his mind" yet every player can't help but do it. It's human nature. Brian Cody is a legend of this game. And his behaviour is no better or worse than anyone else involved from All Ireland finals to Junior F games. Players and managers alike. I'm be more inclined to his behaviour and reaction after they had lost to the man he is and how gracious he is in defeat. Something a lot of mangers including Davy could learn from.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 597 - 05/09/2016 21:42:52    1910441

Replying To ballydalane:  "I'd be more concerned with the conduct of Tyrone footballers, particularly baiting and sledging opponents, than anything Cody does. Every management team challenges referees and linesmen, when Cody does it people seem to get their knickers in a twist about it."
A Kilkenny man concerned about Tyrone Football! In fact concerned about Football. Jaysus what's going on - get those impure thoughts out of yer head.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 05/09/2016 22:00:35    1910446

Replying To The_Fridge:  "What does Tyrone have to do with a tread about Brian Cody. Also my point is that no one seems to say anything about Cody compared to someone like Davy Fitz."
Cody & Fitzgerald may both be massively passionate but I don't think any rational person could put them in the same bracket. If you've been sitting near the dugout in any of their respective matches you'll know what I'm talking about.

Fitzgerald continually berates refs with profanities and even personal abuse. And not just refs, I remember him goading the Waterford players from the sideline about having more All Irelands than them, the year after he left them! Not very graceful.

Cody, on the other hand, I would compare more with Alex Ferguson. He'll do subtle things on the sideline to give his team an advantage. I was near the dugouts for the Waterford game & believe me the Waterford mgmt team were as noisy, if not more so, but nobody sees this. Liam Sheedy & Anthony Cunningham used to do the same thing as Cody, both very passionate men also, but again there was never any threads about them. I can understand how Cody's success can draw more scrutiny but that doesn't make it right or fair.

I think most decent GAA folk though would respect Cody and see that he is a classy man. Graceful in victory & also in defeat. A certain Mr Harte could learn something from him I think, instead of coming up with excuses about players being targeted etc etc...

Lookit (Kilkenny) - Posts: 12 - 05/09/2016 22:36:03    1910465

He does get excited at times durning the game but he is always very gracious in defeat and never whinges like certain other managers. To me he is the greatest manager in the GAA and I can't see anyone coming near his record, I think in time we will really appreciate what a real legend he is.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 05/09/2016 22:37:30    1910468

Brian Cody.....Legend!!

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 05/09/2016 22:59:55    1910474

By the way, it should be said how classy Michael Ryan was yesterday also. Just heard a snippet on the radio of his speech at their homecoming also, he always comes across well.

So instead of kicking Cody when he's down why can't we post about how classy all of the managers were yesterday...

Lookit (Kilkenny) - Posts: 12 - 05/09/2016 23:06:03    1910478

Cody is a legend as a player & as a manager pure & simple. Both managers are class acts, articulate & honest & gracious in defeat & in victory. Both managers are passionate men which is what makes Gaa different & they sometimes show that emotion & passion. I would prefer that to some of the new contrived managers we see who stand with arms folded totally emotionless to anything going onlooking cool with their earpieces, stats teams, gps gurus & who display this image of "I know what I'm doing" even though they haven't a clue. These types are now prevalent throughout the club scene. Give me a Cody any day, no sh%te what you see is what you get, honesty. A bit like the O Donovan brothers, not like the sheep we have now who ape everything instead of keeping it simple, being themselves & following their own path.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 05/09/2016 23:32:54    1910487

Cody has been a passionate GAA man all his life. Every manager will question decision given by ref or linesman or those not given. His always first to acknowledge the victorious team and never makes excuses. Hard man to please Cody but no doubt his the greatest manager and will be the greatest manager in history of GAA. No one will match his records.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 05/09/2016 23:41:10    1910492

Inter county manager argues with linesmen and referee!!

Whatever is the world coming to? Won't somebody think of the children?

I mean never in all my life have I ever seen a GAA manager arguing with linesman or a referee. I blame social media or those Ulster boys handpassing the ball around constantly or the black card or the sweeper system actually I've heard a rumour that Dublin have so much money these days they employ a random fella to do that so Jim Gavin doesn't have to, true story!

Didn't happen back in the day lads I'm telling ye, no no, never in the history of the GAA or sports in general have mangers argued with officials!

Sweet Jaysus!

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1351 - 06/09/2016 08:09:20    1910512

Gas how some people are always just waiting to be offended or put out.
Of all that happened and the great game we had its Cody's antics and Bubbles swearing that get more or less the same amount of attention as all the good stuff.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 06/09/2016 08:30:09    1910514

Cody is a passionate hurling man and has strong views on how the game should be played, so its natural if the ref disagrees there'll be some animation, but for someone with such a record of success and obvious dislike of losing he has always been remarkably magnanimous and gracious and the only time I can remember him publicly having a cut at a ref was after the replay 2 years ago when O Dwyer was given the chance to win it at the death.

If he was sitting passively whilst his team were in the white heat of battle he wouldn't be in a job for too long, he asks his players to leave everything on the pitch so why wouldn't he do the same. He is and always has been a class act.

duckula20 (Antrim) - Posts: 175 - 06/09/2016 09:32:04    1910536

If he was sitting passively whilst his team were in the white heat of battle he wouldn't be in a job for too long

Don't see how that would matter to how long a manager was in a job. If the team does the business on the field he would be there as long as they are doing well.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 06/09/2016 10:13:36    1910559

Folks you seem to have picked up my point incorrectly. In my first line I state how much respect I have for Brian. Passionate etc etc. And there is nothing more I like to see is passion on and off the GAA pitch.
My point is that when Davy Fitz and other managers do the same as Brian, newspaper articles, pundits, treads on here are vilifing certain managers but others get away with it under the guise of Passion. Ah sure he's only showing passion. Can't be one rule for one manager and different for the next just because of his standing in the game. Brian have started arguments with Derek McGrath and I seen him last year at it with other managers.
Also I'm sure Brian uses profanity just as much as Davy Fitz etc.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 06/09/2016 10:35:02    1910569

How in the name of God did this turn into a Tyrone bashing thread?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 06/09/2016 11:22:08    1910591

Some posters here seem to use "passion" as an excuse for verbal abuse and intimidation of opponents and referees. The two are not the same. Verbal abuse of opponents and match officials should not be tolerated under any circumstances.

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 06/09/2016 11:46:40    1910609

Much ado about nothing, if he does influence officials then good for him. Win at all costs.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 06/09/2016 11:57:34    1910615