Bubbles O'Dwyer Swearing

Lads, just interested in what people on here think about Bubbles swearing in his post game interview on RTE? I'm not saying I have a major problem with it as heat of the moment and all that. However, a lot of kids watching and this kind of thing is almost becoming the norm..Mcgregor always doing it...Conlan recently...sportsmen kids watch religiously..just wondering if this is going to keep happening now?

gorby580 (Limerick) - Posts: 165 - 05/09/2016 13:50:25    1910230

Replying To gorby580:  "Lads, just interested in what people on here think about Bubbles swearing in his post game interview on RTE? I'm not saying I have a major problem with it as heat of the moment and all that. However, a lot of kids watching and this kind of thing is almost becoming the norm..Mcgregor always doing it...Conlan recently...sportsmen kids watch religiously..just wondering if this is going to keep happening now?"
As a society in general, I think we're a bit over sensitive. (although we're no Britain!)

Think about it for a second - The fact that we even have "swear words" in the English language is just crazy! If you make something taboo then you invite the onset of the easily offended who will find anything they possible can to get offended by.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 05/09/2016 14:09:09    1910235

Replying To gorby580:  "Lads, just interested in what people on here think about Bubbles swearing in his post game interview on RTE? I'm not saying I have a major problem with it as heat of the moment and all that. However, a lot of kids watching and this kind of thing is almost becoming the norm..Mcgregor always doing it...Conlan recently...sportsmen kids watch religiously..just wondering if this is going to keep happening now?"
No problem with it.

Kids hear that language all the time anyway.

How many parents haven't sworn at young children doing their nut

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4225 - 05/09/2016 14:11:05    1910236

Personally I thought he let himself down, just thought he showed no class in his whole interview.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/09/2016 14:14:57    1910241

Kids will hear far worse than that in the playground in school, out on the streets playing, sitting on a bus or walking around a shopping centre. It can't be avoided. I get that the kids are supposed to look up to these lads so hearing them swear is not exactly the best example to set but Ii'd put money on the fact that most kids have heard it from their own parents more than once whether their parents realise it or not.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 05/09/2016 14:15:30    1910242

It's classy stuff alright but sure that's life, half of them don't mean to do it the other half I have no doubt are seeking attention in the aftermath, that's my opinion.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7893 - 05/09/2016 14:20:10    1910244

I thought there was no need for it. A bit of a, "look at me!!", type comment.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 05/09/2016 14:21:26    1910245

I think Jonathan Glynn interview was better last year :)

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 05/09/2016 14:23:47    1910246

Unnecessary and silly and slightly took the spotlight off his performance. Doesn't really matter though and wouldn't have offended anyone

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 05/09/2016 14:31:22    1910252

funny how a little word offends people here but not the violent behavior in the minor game yesterday

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 05/09/2016 14:32:58    1910253

I have never won an All Ireland but I can imagine in the excitement of it all I would curse.
Its how I speak with my family and friends - even though I try to be a bit more sensible these days with more kids around and all that

Sometimes these things are just the way they are. God forbid the day a player wont want to give an interview for fear of cursing or worse again where they say the same general stuff to ensure everything is kept pg and nobody is offended

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 05/09/2016 14:33:20    1910254

I was disappointed myself.

Kieran Donaghy gave a memorable line 2 years ago in the same situation but he didn't need to say 'Well Joe Brolly, what do you F-ing thing of that' p- though Plenty of people down here would probably not have been too upset if he said it like that!

Sometimes I think these lads being interviewed on the field after big victories are only trying to copy Star anyway.

It's a if they want to say something dramatic, memorable or controversial so the giff of it gets posted up on Joe.ie or Balls.ie or wherever else, maybe it might make them get a few more twitter followers or get a few more social media hits etc etc.

Ok, he is a young guy, full of adrenaline, being asked straight after a huge moment in his life to talk to a television audience of hundreds of thousands. You can understand why things like that might creep out of a fella's mouth in the exhilaration of the moment.

But I still think you can conduct and should be able to conduct yourself better in those situations. I mean these guys know that whether they like it or not they are expected to be role models for kids. That's part of what comes with being an inter-county player at the highest level.

He didn't try to apologie after it came out of his mouth and that is actually what I find most disappointing, I wouldn't mind it slipping out if he just said sorry, didn't mean that or something.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 05/09/2016 14:36:44    1910255

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I thought there was no need for it. A bit of a, "look at me!!", type comment."
I agree with that though. It didn't seem like a heat of the moment thing, coming at the end of his interview.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4225 - 05/09/2016 14:41:12    1910261

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I thought there was no need for it. A bit of a, "look at me!!", type comment."
100 per cent agree Lockjaw.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7893 - 05/09/2016 14:41:34    1910262

Ah wat of it. Leave him alone to feck!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 05/09/2016 14:45:44    1910266

bad image, no need to swear.

Icehouse (Westmeath) - Posts: 79 - 05/09/2016 14:46:48    1910267

I don't like these interviews where players and managers are interviewed on the pitch straight after the final whistle, as there's a lot to be said for having a few minutes to collect yourself at the end of a tough battle. There's a growing trend towards provocative questioning/ commentary on The Sunday Game anyway, which is probably driven by ratings, especially since Sky came on the scene.

Go back to the days of interviewing players after they've had their shower, I say.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 05/09/2016 14:51:37    1910269

Hermit that's that bit that annoyed me that he didn't say sorry instead he went on and on about "doubters" give me a break man , totally gone off him after that interview. Callahan Mcgraths Brendan Maher all showed class in their interviews after the game. Kilkenny always show class as well but Bubbles lost a fan in me yesterday not that he cares but that's my feelings on him.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/09/2016 14:53:11    1910272

a great idea to interview a man who won his first all ireland seconds before and expect him to conduct himself like a pretentious politician. why must we all pretend like that language isnt used by every team that ever won a trophy?

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 05/09/2016 14:53:17    1910273

looks bad, but in fairness think they should be given 5 mins at least to rest and enjoy themselves , watching celbration nearly more camera men and phototograher than player after match on pitch

madbull (Westmeath) - Posts: 195 - 05/09/2016 14:54:30    1910275