Modern day GAA is just full of whingers

I don't exclude my own county from this, but I think the modern day GAA, from the terraces to the top of the game, is just full of whingers and people looking for excuses, a blame anybody but ourselves culture has completely taken over.
I honestly cannot think of the last time a game was won, where the first thing pointed to by the beaten team is the referee, who dogged them on the day, should have put on a jersey, etc, etc. What about mistakes made by players? What about bad wides?
A good hard tackle is now met with recrimination from the stands, players now cheat and dive their way to frees, are masters in looking fouled by grabbing the opponent rather than trying to score a point.
At club level, managers and players will blame everybody but themselves as well when a team has a bad year.
At administrative level, the common cop out of "our hands are tied" is rolled out all too often.
Wouldn't it be great if we went back to the "you win some, you lose some decisions, mentality"?

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 29/08/2016 21:18:56    1907829

Replying To Pinkie:  "I don't exclude my own county from this, but I think the modern day GAA, from the terraces to the top of the game, is just full of whingers and people looking for excuses, a blame anybody but ourselves culture has completely taken over.
I honestly cannot think of the last time a game was won, where the first thing pointed to by the beaten team is the referee, who dogged them on the day, should have put on a jersey, etc, etc. What about mistakes made by players? What about bad wides?
A good hard tackle is now met with recrimination from the stands, players now cheat and dive their way to frees, are masters in looking fouled by grabbing the opponent rather than trying to score a point.
At club level, managers and players will blame everybody but themselves as well when a team has a bad year.
At administrative level, the common cop out of "our hands are tied" is rolled out all too often.
Wouldn't it be great if we went back to the "you win some, you lose some decisions, mentality"?"
Look at the state of society in general nowadays, look at the current generation, the 'snowflake generation' as they are dubbed, cheating and getting everything the easy way seems to be the way now, God forbid they had to do any hard graft or make do with things as they are and not demand the best of everything.
We'll be looking back at this generation of players in 20 years time if we are still around and saying how great they were, and how they played the game like men.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 29/08/2016 22:28:48    1907858

The problem is every clown has a voice now through social media. I'll include myself in that ;)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 29/08/2016 23:12:45    1907877

Replying To TirChonaillabu2:  "Look at the state of society in general nowadays, look at the current generation, the 'snowflake generation' as they are dubbed, cheating and getting everything the easy way seems to be the way now, God forbid they had to do any hard graft or make do with things as they are and not demand the best of everything.
We'll be looking back at this generation of players in 20 years time if we are still around and saying how great they were, and how they played the game like men."
We're starting to sound like our dads but you're right!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 30/08/2016 01:03:08    1907898

I dont think its any worse than it ever was to be honest.

The problem is with Social media these days twitter, facebook, instagram etc every whinger in the country now has a platform to reach thousands of people with that particular whinge. Everyone has a voice now which is great in theory but can be a right pain in the (you know what)

Everyones local has that one or two fellas generally referred to as a dose or a plague who has is an expert on everything, argues with everyone, the fella you spend the night rearranging your chair to try and avoid. Now through social media that fella has access to thousands and many like minded souls unfortunately.

I checked twitter after the game on sunday and the 2 main talking points were the free not given to Kerry at the end and the referee being hit with a few programmes and plastic bottles. Thats after one of the best games of football seen for a long time.

Its just the modern age unfortunately. In the GAA its always been someone elses fault, now we just hear it more often.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1337 - 30/08/2016 08:25:24    1907912

Its a strange one really.
I suppose a big difference now is the preparation required. Players and Managers spend a long time every year training and planning and sometimes its tough when that is pulled from under them by ref decisions.

What really annoys me is people jumping to conclusions. I might give out about a ref during the game but sometimes when you watch back you will realise that while they may have made a few mistakes they also may have given ye a few calls also.

The question I always ask and I have to ask myself at times is why aren't you a ref. The answer is because its a thankless job and its harder than people think.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 30/08/2016 08:35:33    1907914

i agree with this,if you are beaten the first thing you must,before considering anything else,is blame the referee.
TirChonaillabu2,do they really play like men?for me,they try to get a free before they try to get a point,just like soccer the slightest touch and they are down rolling around.
bring back paidi o se and dinny allen,a hard hit either way and no rolling around trying to get the opponent sent off.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 30/08/2016 08:53:20    1907919

Replying To TirChonaillabu2:  "Look at the state of society in general nowadays, look at the current generation, the 'snowflake generation' as they are dubbed, cheating and getting everything the easy way seems to be the way now, God forbid they had to do any hard graft or make do with things as they are and not demand the best of everything.
We'll be looking back at this generation of players in 20 years time if we are still around and saying how great they were, and how they played the game like men."
I have to totally agree with the first two posts. .
Everyone bloody whinging, with a total lack of self responsibility, players, management, and society in general, its everyone else fault apart from their own. Its the entitlement brigade and in Ireland it is rampant, we should get this cause we are entitled. I'm absolutely sick of it, Kerry didn't get beat by Dublin been better team, or by Gooch kicking easy shot wide or by some very easy shots been missed or taking geaney off for ose, no it was the ref who didn't give them a free for Crowley , that they may or may not have scored to draw level.
I'm entitled. No your bloody well not, in life if you want something you go and get it if its at all achievable, no one should hand it to you.
Rant over

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/08/2016 09:19:28    1907924

Replying To royaldunne:  "I have to totally agree with the first two posts. .
Everyone bloody whinging, with a total lack of self responsibility, players, management, and society in general, its everyone else fault apart from their own. Its the entitlement brigade and in Ireland it is rampant, we should get this cause we are entitled. I'm absolutely sick of it, Kerry didn't get beat by Dublin been better team, or by Gooch kicking easy shot wide or by some very easy shots been missed or taking geaney off for ose, no it was the ref who didn't give them a free for Crowley , that they may or may not have scored to draw level.
I'm entitled. No your bloody well not, in life if you want something you go and get it if its at all achievable, no one should hand it to you.
Rant over"
To be fair to Fitzmaurice he refused to answer when asked about those decisions and just praised Dublin.

Seemed sincere also, I think he'd recognise that they were the better team.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4226 - 30/08/2016 09:55:53    1907941

people also have absolutely zero respect for the fact that the referee has a split second to make a decision,rather than the rest of us who have the benefit of a replay before ranting to all and sundry.
if people can't accept the human element of a refereeing decision the same way they view a missed free,missed shot,bad pass,etc,then it is time they stopped watching this game and went and played chess,darts,golf,or some other game with 100% certainty of decisions.
it'd be great if we could focus on the wonderful games we were lucky enough to witness rather than focusing on a couple of borderline decisions.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 30/08/2016 10:42:16    1907971

I don't think its a modern phenomenon at all.Last Sunday we had a tight, tense, epic contest between two top teams going hell for leather for over 70 minutes that could have gone either way just like Tipp/Galway and KK/Waterford in hurling.These are the type of games we want to see.
Naturally fans are going to highlight breaks that went against them.Its just human nature.
If you are looking for people who will accept the result and forget about it till next year you will be looking for a long time.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 30/08/2016 11:22:16    1908003

Replying To Whammo86:  "To be fair to Fitzmaurice he refused to answer when asked about those decisions and just praised Dublin.

Seemed sincere also, I think he'd recognise that they were the better team."
Fitzmaurice didn't refuse to answer he said I'll bite my lip on that - translation - "the ref robbed us"

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 30/08/2016 11:34:37    1908009

Replying To Floops:  "Fitzmaurice didn't refuse to answer he said I'll bite my lip on that - translation - "the ref robbed us""
exactly.

He learned his lesson after what he said the last time,

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 30/08/2016 11:40:01    1908013

Replying To waynoI:  "exactly.

He learned his lesson after what he said the last time,"
It's still a better response than most. Particularly after a defeat where your team was 3 points up with 65 minutes on the clock.

He did congratulate Dublin.

It should have been a free, but at the same time it wasn't why Kerry lost, Dublin were without doubt the better team. So I'd say he was frustrated about the decision but knew in his heart of hearts that they didn't really deserve a draw from that game.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4226 - 30/08/2016 12:20:20    1908034

Replying To tearintom:  "I dont think its any worse than it ever was to be honest.

The problem is with Social media these days twitter, facebook, instagram etc every whinger in the country now has a platform to reach thousands of people with that particular whinge. Everyone has a voice now which is great in theory but can be a right pain in the (you know what)

Everyones local has that one or two fellas generally referred to as a dose or a plague who has is an expert on everything, argues with everyone, the fella you spend the night rearranging your chair to try and avoid. Now through social media that fella has access to thousands and many like minded souls unfortunately.

I checked twitter after the game on sunday and the 2 main talking points were the free not given to Kerry at the end and the referee being hit with a few programmes and plastic bottles. Thats after one of the best games of football seen for a long time.

Its just the modern age unfortunately. In the GAA its always been someone elses fault, now we just hear it more often."
Very well said .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 30/08/2016 12:25:46    1908038

I don't exclude my own county from this, but I think the modern day GAA, from the terraces to the top of the game, is just full of whingers and people looking for excuses, a blame anybody but ourselves culture has completely taken over.
Wouldn't it be great if we went back to the "you win some, you lose some decisions, mentality"?
Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts:3517 - 29/08/2016 21:18:56
I don't think its modern day GAA its simply all areas of life that has people complaining more. How do you propose to go back to this mentality? And when do you think it ever wasn't the case that people whinged/complained its just people see it more these days. Players have always cheated their way to frees.

people also have absolutely zero respect for the fact that the referee has a split second to make a decision, rather than the rest of us who have the benefit of a replay before ranting to all and sundry.
if people can't accept the human element of a refereeing decision the same way they view a missed free, missed shot, bad pass etc, then it is time they stopped watching this game and went and played chess, darts, golf, or some other game with 100% certainty of decisions.
it'd be great if we could focus on the wonderful games we were lucky enough to witness rather than focusing on a couple of borderline decisions.
perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts:1480 - 30/08/2016 10:42:16
Yes people do have to accept that referees just like players, coaches and managers make mistakes but no sports have 100% certainty of decisions

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 30/08/2016 13:20:45    1908074

Replying To waynoI:  "exactly.

He learned his lesson after what he said the last time,"
You're spot on Wayno

He pretty much said that himself at the start of the interview

He didn't want to see his words plastered all over the paper again giving out

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 30/08/2016 13:20:46    1908075

there have been borderline decisions since day 1.
i remember 1991,when dj took about 10-12 steps to score the game winning goal,but we just accepted the decision and went home.i don't recall any major whinging,protest,a referee getting stuff thrown at him,etc.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 30/08/2016 14:28:14    1908124

Its nothing new, Meaths semi final win against Tyrone comes to mind (1996) Most comical of all was the fact Joe Duffy got dragged into that one

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 30/08/2016 19:10:47    1908310

Replying To seadog54:  "Its nothing new, Meaths semi final win against Tyrone comes to mind (1996) Most comical of all was the fact Joe Duffy got dragged into that one"
i don't remember that one?

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 31/08/2016 09:44:38    1908526