Tomás Ó'Sé comments on Donegal?

I thought Tomás Ó'Sé's comments on Donegal were fair enough last night. Their defensive system was impressive, as hard as that is to admire for the Dubs or if you are the next team in line to meet it. Mayo have quite rightly been praised for their impressive tackling. Donegal's approach of marking the man the ball is going into and then having two players close in as well is most impressive. As Tomás correctly point out, it's not only defensive they operate. Once they have the ball then, they are driving on themselves.

I was surprised after the game on Saturday evening to hear some people speculate that Donegal were going to operate a defensive style yesterday and that it was going to be a hard game to watch. Some people obviously are stuck in 2011. The 2012 final was not won by being defensive. The ground work was naturally laid in 2011 to have the defence right and Donegal have both worked on and improve immensely on the attacking side of their game. 3-14 against the capital is an awesome return.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7842 - 01/09/2014 20:25:33    1646399

Would agree, Tomas in fairness is always fair, honest and on the money with his analysis....... I'm glad he is retired now all off a sudden

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 01/09/2014 21:06:19    1646437

I find O'Sé well worth listening to.Straight and to the point. I tuned in late last night ? Who was the northern guy on the panel ?

jerryp (Cork) - Posts: 104 - 01/09/2014 21:44:51    1646474

Just a fella called Mark Mc Hugh, you know him?

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 01/09/2014 21:53:18    1646484

jerryp

I find O'Sé well worth listening to.Straight and to the point. I tuned in late last night ? Who was the northern guy on the panel ?
---
Clondalkindubs boyhood hero

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 01/09/2014 21:57:47    1646487

He does indeed call it as it is but disappointing that he took the opportunity to have a dig at Tyrone
when commenting on the field incursion.

JackMurphy (Cork) - Posts: 30 - 02/09/2014 08:26:46    1646501

I wouldn't classify that as having a 'dig' at Tyrone Jack. He was quite funny describing the incident actually.

traleeexile (Kerry) - Posts: 732 - 02/09/2014 09:42:59    1646546

Yes, I thought the dig at Tyrone was a bit underhand! Probably reveals an itch that they regret they never scratched down in kerry! But not nice that it manifest itself in a comment like that!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 02/09/2014 10:02:35    1646562

In fairness if a fan attacked him then he is fully entitled to say exactly where they were from. Just because it is tyrone doesn't change that. To do that to a living legend of the game is disgraceful.

Himself and Alan Mulholland have been a breath of fresh air. Well spoken, no airs or graces, witty, they let the program flow and most importantly, they talk about the game in front of them. It was refreshing to see Mulholland simply turn to brolly and calmly dismantle his point in the coverage of the first Mayo-Kerry match. He totally outclassed him and brolly was visibly taken aback. They have served to show what a good program it could be if they got away from the spillane/O'Rourke/brolly combo. RTE's program would be far better if these lads were given a bigger role. They are like the old lads in the team who aren't quite up to it, but have the manager's ear. Time to drop them.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 02/09/2014 10:15:05    1646573

Tomas' analysis is like how he played the game - class.
I'd love to have a few pints with him sometime and chat football I'd say some of the anecdotes that aren't meant for TV would be some craic.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9133 - 02/09/2014 11:17:37    1646632

If I was Kerry manager I'd bring him back for the final , Kerry were suspect enough in defence against Mayo , when Mark came on he settle things down and scored a point . Himself and Tomas would tighten things up at the back for Kerry. Tomas is new to rte panel this year and already makes more sense than the rest of them , no bull straight to the point and calls it as it is.

ke40 (Kildare) - Posts: 209 - 02/09/2014 12:50:18    1646706

Snuff
You know well Tomas has an itch when it comes to Tyrone coz he was honest enough to come out and say so in the paper.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/09/2014 12:54:17    1646714

Tomas is class on and off the field. Kingdomboy didn't you know that Snuffy has an itch with anything to do with Kerry.

kerry74 (Kerry) - Posts: 1354 - 02/09/2014 13:12:56    1646732

No problem with the Tyrone comment but I would have been impressed with some of the analysis if it had been made before the game. The lack of understanding about Donegal is puzzling.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 02/09/2014 13:25:41    1646759

mullholland?..is that the same fella who disagreed with kerry playing donaghy?....brolly also called the dublin match very well when it came down to it both on tv and also his column...he may have an ever growing ego but in terms of understanding modern football..brolly is head and shoulders above the people they normally have in the studio alongside him...tomas o se very good and also funny..wish he got more live games

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 02/09/2014 13:38:25    1646776

He is a very astute commentator as are Dara O'Se and Dara O'Cinnaide. They are Kerrymen who played and won (AND lost) at the top level and tell it as it is; they know that Donegal have very good talented footballers and are not just some collection of robots.. Donegal are a fascinating team to watch, almost compulsive viewing in their ability to switch styles so quickly and I just could never understand some of the awful stereotypical 'puke football' abuse that they got. When Donegal attack at speed they are brilliantly entertaining and their defending is very, very effective. What were they meant to do on Sunday, stand off Dublin and let them waltz through them?

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 02/09/2014 13:58:00    1646803

Kerry74
I do indeed kiddo, I'd say he had planned to give us some capital cumupance when Dublin beat us in the final to win a proper front door 2 in a row :-D it was all falling nicely for him with a Kerry team deep in transisition getting to the final, it would have been like shooting fish in a barl. He must be disgusted god love him.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/09/2014 14:10:55    1646820

You gotta love Tomas O'Se, himself and Whelan are the two best pundits on RTE!

Two hard ol divils as they say :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 02/09/2014 14:17:14    1646831

I dare say there'll be few people losing sleep in Tyrone over Tomas's comments. Hes an honest and forthright fella and respected all the more for it.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 02/09/2014 14:18:06    1646833

Agree Brend I don't believe that Tomas said that to get a jibe at Tyrone; he doesn't come across as sleekid or sly that way. He seems to just call it out as it is or as it happened. I think he is as good a pundit as he was a footballer.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 02/09/2014 14:33:04    1646858