Our sport on the National Broadcaster

On a weekend that there will be two AI qtr finals, and two 4th round qualifier games, GAA was last in the sports section of RTE news at 6. Is it asking too much that as the GAA season is reaching its conclusion, that RTE actually gives the games proper coverage? Its funny how RTE make a big fuss of losing the rights to sky, yet cant be bothered to properly cover games on its news programme.

PK57 (Louth) - Posts: 1653 - 01/08/2014 21:47:51    1629644

Let me guess PK, Irelands ladies rugby teams thrilling victory over the USA took centre stage, am I right?

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 02/08/2014 08:06:51    1629653

01/08/2014 21:47:51 PK57
On a weekend that there will be two AI qtr finals, and two 4th round qualifier games, GAA was last in the sports section of RTE news at 6. Is it asking too much that as the GAA season is reaching its conclusion, that RTE actually gives the games proper coverage? Its funny how RTE make a big fuss of losing the rights to sky, yet cant be bothered to properly cover games on its news programme.
How did GAA not get "proper coverage"? What would you define as "proper coverage"?
02/08/2014 08:06:51 brendtheredhand
Let me guess PK, Irelands ladies rugby teams thrilling victory over the USA took centre stage, am I right?
And it deserved the coverage. Beating top team in the world cup to almost guarantee a top 6 place in the world which hasn't been achieved before.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 02/08/2014 10:35:07    1629691

In fairness it's the Women's World Cup, they beat a well-ranked, they won the 2013 Grand Slam,the football isn't until today and tomorrow and they're trying to build a profile for Women's rugby.Fair play to them. Was top of the Today FM and Newstalk sportsnews too so maybe Women's rugby have some good PR people getting their game put as high up the TV, Radio and Newspaper lists as possible.

The Premier League transfer window always takes up airtime this year. Throw in the Galway races too.Not everyone is actually interested in Galeic games, strange as that might seem.
Gaelic football is my game but contrast this to Liam O'Neill's talk that they'll just have a crowd of 30,000 in Croker to orrow, trying to convince whoever that that is a good crowd but not doing anything on how to get more people I to watch the game. Makes the Women's Rugby look pro-active to get new people involved in their sport and the GAA seem content, or arrogant, enough to think 'Sure we've the national games, we'll always get the crowds and young people will always play football and hurling over soceer, rugby, basketball, etc".

They need to wake up to the fact that we're not dancing at the crossroads anymore and there's influences from many nationalities with Iot
inerests in a lot of sport..

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 02/08/2014 11:02:55    1629707

Gaelic games is no longer an isolated sport here, gaelic games may be our national sport but now in name only. We have gone digital, the authorities in croke park all two of them have decided to beam our "national" games out world wide, that said we have to welcome other sports on board and give them their fair share of analysis.

And yes our ladies rugby team were full value for money and deserved the #1 spot.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 02/08/2014 11:19:45    1629715

They'd get more viewers overseas if they encouraged overseas visitors to come and watch the games live then word-of-mouth encouragement to their mates when they return home. Could bring more viewers, more revenue on top of the ticket sales from visitors who'd go to games and a possibility of others following when they visit Ireland. Maybe tha's naive enough thinking from me but Ithink they're passing on an opportunity to tap a big market and it would also benefit the retail/pub/restaurant/hawker trade close to the grounds.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 02/08/2014 11:41:18    1629729

ormondbannerman you were the very one arguing that the GAA would receive big coverage later in the year, when it reaches the latter stages of the championship, and quarter final weekend is a big weekend in the calendar, and putting it as the final segment on the sports news shows the lack of interest at RTE for gaelic games, yet when RTE lost the rights to show games to sky, they made a big deal of it.

PK57 (Louth) - Posts: 1653 - 02/08/2014 12:25:03    1629748

02/08/2014 11:02:55 GreenandRed
In fairness it's the Women's World Cup, they beat a well-ranked, they won the 2013 Grand Slam,the football isn't until today and tomorrow and they're trying to build a profile for Women's rugby.Fair play to them. Was top of the Today FM and Newstalk sportsnews too so maybe Women's rugby have some good PR people getting their game put as high up the TV, Radio and Newspaper lists as possible.
The Premier League transfer window always takes up airtime this year. Throw in the Galway races too.Not everyone is actually interested in Galeic games, strange as that might seem. Gaelic football is my game but contrast this to Liam O'Neill's talk that they'll just have a crowd of 30,000 in Croker to orrow, trying to convince whoever that that is a good crowd but not doing anything on how to get more people I to watch the game. Makes the Women's Rugby look pro-active to get new people involved in their sport and the GAA seem content, or arrogant, enough to think 'Sure we've the national games, we'll always get the crowds and young people will always play football and hurling over soceer, rugby, basketball, etc". They need to wake up to the fact that we're not dancing at the crossroads anymore and there's influences from many nationalities with Iot inerests in a lot of sport..
Women's rugby same pr people as the men. IRFU guys know how to promote and market well. very good post btw
02/08/2014 12:25:03 PK57
ormondbannerman you were the very one arguing that the GAA would receive big coverage later in the year, when it reaches the latter stages of the championship, and quarter final weekend is a big weekend in the calendar, and putting it as the final segment on the sports news shows the lack of interest at RTE for gaelic games, yet when RTE lost the rights to show games to sky, they made a big deal of it.
Putting a story to the end of a segment doesn't mean or show a lack of interest. It can also show its a very big story so its left to last and you get other sports news out of way before discussing the big story.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 02/08/2014 13:44:04    1629798

i may be wrong on this but did the irish womens soccer team receive similar coverage when they had good wins?..considering womens soccer is a lot bigger than womens rugby...you never really see gaa womens teams get big coverage even though way more play and attend it than its rugby counterpart

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 02/08/2014 14:08:44    1629827

02/08/2014 14:08:44
fabio8
i may be wrong on this but did the irish womens soccer team receive similar coverage when they had good wins?..considering womens soccer is a lot bigger than womens rugby...you never really see gaa womens teams get big coverage even though way more play and attend it than its rugby counterpart
The soccer team have got plenty of coverage when deserved
You really love throwing digs at rugby...
Women's football finals and camogie finals shown live and earlier in competition as well on tg4/rte.
you are trying to make it a bad thing women's rugby gets coverage it gets well maybe gaa journalists/pr people of women's associations need to cover their sports more and same for soccer

gaa first sport covered on news tonight as it is more often than not...

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 02/08/2014 18:28:09    1629955

where do i really love taking digs at rugby?...i have only recently joined this site...somebody is rather defensive..i just find it laughable that such a minority sport which womens rugby is gets top billing on the national news broadcast...nothing wrong with the sport just coverage should generally work on what sport is bigger and has more participants which both womens gaa and womens soccer do

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 02/08/2014 18:39:10    1629973

02/08/2014 18:39:10
fabio8
where do i really love taking digs at rugby?...i have only recently joined this site...somebody is rather defensive..i just find it laughable that such a minority sport which womens rugby is gets top billing on the national news broadcast...nothing wrong with the sport just coverage should generally work on what sport is bigger and has more participants which both womens gaa and womens soccer do
You have posted quite a few anti rugby posts....
Womens rugby is one of the fastest growing sports in Ireland and growing strongly world wide.
The side is competing internationally in a world cup and for first time ever is quite strong and could do quite well.
Womens international soccer side has regularly got coverage on the news
the camogie and ladies football all Irelands are shown on tv and they get appropriate coverage.
womens rugby gets very little coverage over the course of the year

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 02/08/2014 19:58:53    1630061

RTE are a national broadcaster they report on the news , not preview future matches. The women's rugby team won a big match and they reported on it. After the GAA matches this weekend they will report on them. People here think RTE should be GAA TV 24 hours a day

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 02/08/2014 20:08:06    1630068

Bad.monkey, I think the point being made is that with all the best intention in the world, not too many people care about womens rugby, and therefore it doesn't make sense for Rte to pretend otherwise.
I do however admit that GAA people can be very very paranoid when it comes to the media, and especiall RTE, which is ironis when you consider the praise the Sky sports get. Rte is more dedicated to the GAA than them imo.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 02/08/2014 20:18:46    1630083

Yes maybe they don't but it is a good story and fair play to them they won a big match - rte report on Irish sports people doing well even if the sport is not one of the big 4 - Like Katie Taylor, Irish cricket team beating England in World Cup, Rob Heffernan in the walking or Stephen Redmond in the ocean swimming. It seems people think rte should report based on the popularity of the sport , thankfully they report based on the achievement of the person /people involved otherwise we would have nothing but soccer, GAA and rugby

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 02/08/2014 20:30:55    1630092

where have i made these posts ormond?

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 02/08/2014 20:42:33    1630109

womens rugby 6 nations matches are shown by rte..rte do not show any womens football or soccer to the best of my knowledge

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 02/08/2014 20:43:19    1630112

Forget rte lads; SKY is were it's at! They're are doing a great job,
great positive analysis from 'Peter the great' and some Dublin fella
(whoever he is)! ;)

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 02/08/2014 20:47:28    1630122

badmonkey..they happily preview rugby matches both club and international including lions tests and so on..they fail to adequately do the same for gaa matches in my opinion and a lot of others..nothing wrong with discussing the various great achievements of people but some perspective please and not favouritism to 1 sport..people dont expect rte to be gaa 24/7 but a lot more gaa than is currently provided considering the coverage rugby gets...that doesnt make me anti-rugby just stating my opinion

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 02/08/2014 20:51:38    1630129

02/08/2014 20:08:06
bad.monkey
RTE are a national broadcaster they report on the news , not preview future matches. The women's rugby team won a big match and they reported on it. After the GAA matches this weekend they will report on them. People here think RTE should be GAA TV 24 hours a day
Of course they do...
02/08/2014 20:18:46 joncarter
Bad.monkey, I think the point being made is that with all the best intention in the world, not too many people care about womens rugby, and therefore it doesn't make sense for Rte to pretend otherwise.
I do however admit that GAA people can be very very paranoid when it comes to the media, and especiall RTE, which is ironis when you consider the praise the Sky sports get. Rte is more dedicated to the GAA than them imo.
Do many care about club games yet they are put on news at times. Do many care about some of the Olympic athletes but they not are covered?
02/08/2014 20:30:55 bad.monkey
Yes maybe they don't but it is a good story and fair play to them they won a big match - rte report on Irish sports people doing well even if the sport is not one of the big 4 - Like Katie Taylor, Irish cricket team beating England in World Cup, Rob Heffernan in the walking or Stephen Redmond in the ocean swimming. It seems people think rte should report based on the popularity of the sport , thankfully they report based on the achievement of the person /people involved otherwise we would have nothing but soccer, GAA and rugby
+1
02/08/2014 20:42:33 fabio8
where have i made these posts ormond?
Apologies maybe im confusing you with someone else..
02/08/2014 20:43:19 fabio8
womens rugby 6 nations matches are shown by rte..rte do not show any womens football or soccer to the best of my knowledge
Womens rugby has only been covered in last 2 years or so. Camogie/Ladies football have had their finals live on tv for years...

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 02/08/2014 20:59:31    1630144