Dublin sportsmanship

After the Leinster final we have heard about Dublin's alleged biting incidents and handshake refusals but I would to draw attention to an incident in the second half where a Meath player went up for a high ball and received what seemed to be an accidental blow to the head and went down on the ground immediately and instantly 2 Dublin players went to the Meath player with concern and called over the medical team. I think this shows that Dublin players are good sports when a Meath player seemed seriously injured. I think those other incidents deflect from others like this which I thought was a very good thing to see that the Dublin players showed genuine concern for the Meath player.

Meathman248 (Meath) - Posts: 14 - 21/07/2014 14:25:49    1622964

yes agree but do we really need yet another thread ?

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 21/07/2014 14:38:10    1622984

Johnny Cooper after the final whistle in last years AI final...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/07/2014 14:49:43    1622996

It explains why Connolly blanked O'Rourke on this site, enough said!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 21/07/2014 14:53:42    1623005

Happened just in front of me. It was some belt. Elbow to head, accidental. Not taking away from the Dubs players reaction but I doubt that that would happen if there was a point or two in it! Be devil take the hindmost. Anyone who recalls the Dubs and Meath in old days will know what I mean!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 21/07/2014 14:55:18    1623010

Jaysus lads, this is all getting a bit much!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 21/07/2014 15:00:15    1623017

I know... ahahaha

What great couple of days

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/07/2014 15:03:20    1623020

Jaysus, the site is going to explode with the amount of threads involving us that are in use ha ha.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 21/07/2014 15:18:29    1623048

Gone are the days when ye'd call a Meath man hard... Are we all gone soft down here or what?

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 21/07/2014 15:49:44    1623095

Ah, Thanks lads. That's lovely of ye!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 21/07/2014 16:34:27    1623153

Muckross - I hear that UN have asked Rory and Stephen to fly out to Gaza and Ukraine to spread the love.

(Don't be expecting any niceness in the semi-final mind you :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 21/07/2014 16:53:47    1623185

I don't know if this is the right forum but I hear that Dermie and Bernard rescued four puppies - little puppies with big eyes - from a fire on their way back from bringing people to bingo last night. They start the soup run for the homeless at midnight.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 21/07/2014 16:57:53    1623190

hurlingdub

I don't know if this is the right forum but I hear that Dermie and Bernard rescued four puppies - little puppies with big eyes - from a fire on their way back from bringing people to bingo last night. They start the soup run for the homeless at midnight.
_______

Hahahaha

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/07/2014 17:17:41    1623218

Yes indded my attitude to Dublin since Pillars era has changed completely. We were in Cassidys of Camden St last year after the Mayo hammering and a buddy of mine who is an avid follower of Donegal in Croke Park ! was out with gang of us. He disappeared and came back a while later. He said he was chatting to a few Dublin supporters who were at the game, were sound lads and reckoned Mayo had a chance of winning SAM. We were near the exit and as three lads were leaving he pointed them out to me, it was Rory O'carroll, Ross McConnell and Kevin McManaman. Just normal lads no BS

fintownsuburbs (Donegal) - Posts: 30 - 21/07/2014 18:52:35    1623330

The Dublin players are all very cute when it comes to the image they present of themselves.

I personally felt Cluxton and O'Carroll doing what they did yesterday was a nice touch and other players from other counties wouldn't have done it.

As well as that there's a lot of going over to sick children after the games and posing for a photo. This again is a nice gesture and a free gift to the child. Also boosts the Dublin player's image especially outside the county.

I think the Dublin players are branding themselves in fairly like-able way and I think there are probably one or two working behind the scenes to help with this.

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 21/07/2014 19:49:21    1623399

Another thing is the Dublin players are all very media-friendly and they all present this charming, charismatic image of themselves. And if you're popular with the media, then chances are you're going to be popular with the general public.

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 21/07/2014 19:55:09    1623406

So you reckon that's why they won yesterday Former Poster?

Only busting your chops! Maybe they are just mostly decent lads? Most players from every county are.

I have had the pleasure of meeting some of your legends over the years and you could not meet nicer nor more modest men, although I would not have fancied any of them being behind my back!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 21/07/2014 20:12:54    1623423

After each training session the Dublin footballers hold hands and sing "kum-baya".

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 21/07/2014 20:26:42    1623435

The Dublin players are all very cute when it comes to the image they present of themselves.

I personally felt Cluxton and O'Carroll doing what they did yesterday was a nice touch and other players from other counties wouldn't have done it.

As well as that there's a lot of going over to sick children after the games and posing for a photo. This again is a nice gesture and a free gift to the child. Also boosts the Dublin player's image especially outside the county.

I think the Dublin players are branding themselves in fairly like-able way and I think there are probably one or two working behind the scenes to help with this.

At fomer poster- why do you always look for the negative in Dublin gaa? Stephen cluxton is 31 years of age and could not give a rats about his image or the media. He seen a kid getting a bang and been the man he is went over to him. Dublin players have humility and honesty bred into by Jim Gavin because he wants the players to reflect what he believes gaa is all about, community, grass roots and amateur ethos. It was ten short years ago we where vilified for walking to the hill and pointing at scoreboards. Stephen bray stopped to shake my kids hand last week in navan, kid was delighted, a gentleman is bray. That's what I expect from gaa footballers. The image you portra
y is not a perfectly choreographed play acting by the Dublin camp, ffs get over yerself and get rid of the chips.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 21/07/2014 21:03:14    1623488

Former_Poster

Former poster

Have you congratulated Dublin on their peformance yet?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 22/07/2014 08:43:46    1623608