Kerry Dublin - Who are the neutrals shouting for?

Interesting one here. Are people sick of Kerry winning or are they sick of Dublin talking themselves up? (or this year pretending to not talk themselves up when in truth we all know they are dying to do it!)
Do people want to see kerry get a bit of justice for 2011 with declan o'sullivan kicking the winning score or do they want to see them get shafted even worse this time?

Who do the neutrals want to see come out on top?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 28/08/2013 10:01:53    1469812

Neutral really, but would like to see Kerry get there and Mayo to win the final. Mayo lost finals to Kerry in 97, 04 & 06 and I think it would be a huge test to beat Kerry in a final and if they did that then they would finally be undisputed kings of Gaelic football.

Mayo have previously beaten the Dubs so Mayo v the Dubs would be less of a psychological mountain for the Mayo lads.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 28/08/2013 10:05:08    1469815

Id like to see this kerry team do it one last time before they start to break up, but i think dub will win

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 28/08/2013 10:13:34    1469825

I would have to say Kerry. I think that Mayo COULD beat Kerry in the final, I beleive that they WOULD beat Dublin in the final and it would be a huge physcological boost to Mayo to get the Kerry monkey off their back and probably make for a better final too from a neutrals perspective.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 28/08/2013 10:13:45    1469826

I just hope it's a good game and the best team wins.......and I hope that team is Kerry of course ;-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 28/08/2013 10:18:35    1469829

Kerry . Looking at the sides I think Kerrys best ( and only ) chance is to win the midfield battle and with Buckley and Maher they could that . If Kerry lose midfield I can only see a Dublin side ready to dismantle them . Darren OSullivan also needs to stop running down channels where he finds himself isolated . Hes been v frustating like that this season but with the Gooch , although Id have him FF , a serious match winner .

Kerry by 5

RenardRedHand (Tyrone) - Posts: 547 - 28/08/2013 10:33:25    1469852

Kerry . Looking at the sides I think Kerrys best ( and only ) chance is to win the midfield battle and with Buckley and Maher they could that . If Kerry lose midfield I can only see a Dublin side ready to dismantle them . Darren OSullivan also needs to stop running down channels where he finds himself isolated . Hes been v frustating like that this season but with the Gooch , although Id have him FF , a serious match winner .

Kerry by 5

RenardRedHand (Tyrone) - Posts: 547 - 28/08/2013 10:33:39    1469853

Dublin, going to the game & on Hill 16 for first time with a Dublin crowd. Really looking forward to it!

Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 308 - 28/08/2013 10:39:42    1469860

Dublin.. Why are all the neutrals going for Kerry!! They have enough. I really hope the dubs do it and I think they will, they just need to be a little bit cuter in front of goal, but I'm sure this is something they've been working on since beating us....Oh and the herself is a Dub!!

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 278 - 28/08/2013 10:40:47    1469862

bloodandbandage

Dublin.. Why are all the neutrals going for Kerry!! They have enough. I really hope the dubs do it and I think they will, they just need to be a little bit cuter in front of goal, but I'm sure this is something they've been working on since beating us....Oh and the herself is a Dub!!

Which is why everyone in the country should go for Clare in the hurling final ;-)

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 28/08/2013 10:44:59    1469866

I hope Dublin win the semi and the final

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12133 - 28/08/2013 10:48:13    1469871

This was posted as a new thread but has been incorporated here.

Snufalufagus
Dublin

28/08/2013
10:43

Mayo want.......'KERRY'!!!

The neutrals thread on here reminded me of this as posters there have hit the nail on the head. I was speaking to a few mayo lads at the weekend after the game and having a bit of banter they stated that they had no fear of Dublin as they were "well used to beating us" but that its Kerry they want to beat in a final "for once and for all" and to finally do the biz by beating the team that has had the 'indian sign' over them for so long!

I was saying this to my mate fom kerry in Jurys afterwards and he said the words he has stated to me oft times before "Mayo will win nothing"!
My reply was simply "That'll change this year no matter which of us they meet"!!

So it was interesting to see the mindset of Mayo supporters. They are pretty sure of lifting SAM if they play Dublin and I think that is totally understandable.....but its the psychological thing that they want to master against Kerry!

Kerry V Mayo would/'WILL' make for a more gripping final and you can see Mayo and their fans are gunning for it and brimming with sure confidence!

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 28/08/2013 10:48:49    1469872

Dublin have more than a few themselves bloodandbandage so I'm afraid that argument doesn't hold up.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 28/08/2013 10:49:46    1469873

slayer, I would like it to be kerry actually. The motivation would be huge for these lads, you could ramp the intensity of that donegal game up a notch if that were to occur, I have no doubt. People think we fear kerry but that isnt the case, we want to take them on and beat them. Plus, who better than donie buckley to unlock the kerry team?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 28/08/2013 10:49:55    1469874

Donie Buckley apears to be nothing short of a legend. The Limerick players I know said he would have a team ready to go through a wall in the dressing room and masterminded Limerick's annihilation of Meath in 2008.

Mickey Ned realised how good a coach he was & let him do a lot of talking in the dressing room.

No co-incidence that Mayo's tackling is far superior this year than last.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 28/08/2013 10:55:53    1469882

Hope the dubs will win, cos they will beat Mayo in the final & Limerick hurlers won't be he only ones with a jinx on them!

commercials1 (Limerick) - Posts: 115 - 28/08/2013 11:02:47    1469891

I honestly don't care who wins, gonna sit back and enjoy. My head however says Kerry by 2 points...there is not a peep out of them down there and the hay has been saved and the turf long home at this stage.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11248 - 28/08/2013 11:02:56    1469893

The Mayo team would never say it publicly but I can assure you they would prefer Kerry in the final. The fact is there is no psychological barrier with Kerry. In 04 and 06 man for man Mayo were not in the same league as Kerry, this would not be the case shoud they meet again. That being said I can't see Kerry beating the Dubs, time will tell.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7909 - 28/08/2013 11:03:03    1469894

Also slayer, kerry deemed him surplus to requirments this year, Id imagine his own personal motivation would be massive. It would make an interesting side-story.

Saying that, the mayo lads would love to beat dublin in a final, no question. If they win they will go into the game as favourites, and dont we just love taking on the dubs as the underdog? Anyway, enough of that, this is supposed to be about the semi final.

The romantic in me would like to see the old heads of kerry teach the dublin youngsters a lesson in football, not a hiding mind, but to outfox them. It would be a nice touch.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 28/08/2013 11:05:47    1469898

brendtheredhand

Dublin have more than a few themselves bloodandbandage so I'm afraid that argument doesn't hold up.

Since I have started going to games, Dublin have won 2 AI's as opposed to Kerry winning 9 I think, so for me the reason(not argument) does hold up...So come on Brend and shout for the Dubs...

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 278 - 28/08/2013 11:05:56    1469899