Short puck outs

What's your view on them?

Obviously if a half back line/midfield are cleaning up your keepers puckouts the short option can come in handy. But what about when lads like Cummins and Nash with huge pucks tap them short to a corner back who then carries it into a tackle or hits it no further then the keeper would have then what's the point?

Interested to see the overall views on this one

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 18/07/2013 20:25:48    1435604

But what about when lads like Cummins and Nash with huge pucks tap them short to a corner back who then carries it into a tackle or hits it no further then the keeper would have then what's the point?

Well then as you say whats the point? But its about keeping possession and denying the other team a better than 50& chance of winning a puck out. The idea is to move the ball quickly to free players, teams that employ it you would hope have a pre-determined game plan.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4903 - 18/07/2013 20:33:43    1435613

That's ok if you have a team play a possession game Like Cork did 10 years ago but in the main what ye see is a tap out to a corner back on the 21 who then turns and drives it down field gaining no more advantage then the keeper doing it or they'll run the ball running the risk of losing it

If the keeper has a huge puck that lands on the other 21 jaysus land it down there, or else aim it to a space for a half forward to run on to it. Unless as I said you play like Cork a few years back

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 18/07/2013 20:41:06    1435620

Should only be used where your half-forward line/midfield is getting cleaned out. Utterly pointless otherwise.

Take the U21 game tonight between Clare and Waterford. Taaffe (Clare goalie) hit at least 8 puckouts in the 1st half to his full back-line all of which ended up in them having to take on their men, cue a couple of handpasses only for it to be eventually belted down the field as a 50/50 to Clare half forward line/W'ford half back line. WHAT'S THE POINT OF THAT??! It's the exact same end result of the goalie just taking a normal puck-out, only it uses up 4 times as much energy. Our half-forward line was more than holding their own too. Also on one occasion McInerney (Clare full-back) got dispossessed and W'ford scored, they stopped the short puck-outs after that thank god. In the 2nd half Taaffe went with the normal puck-out (admittedly with a breeze) and was landing them in W'fords full back line. We got 2 goals directly form this.

I rest my case. Just puck it out normally to f**k!!

banner_boy (Clare) - Posts: 1285 - 18/07/2013 21:19:48    1435650

It's the keepers choice.If a defender is in a good position who you going to pass to a midfielder in a crap position or a defender who ha nobody round him?

JosefnDongo (UK) - Posts: 66 - 11/08/2013 18:22:15    1458955

It depends really. If you've a half back line like Kilkenny's who will just gather high balls all day then that is no use. But I think what teams need to do is to try to pick out a player beyond their full back line. If you can pick out a midfielder or half back then it is worth trying to do. As you say, playing it to the full back line and putting a player in trouble is the worst result you can get. But if you have mobile half backs ready to take the pass and work the ball, then it is worth doing some of the time. Cork/clare I think over do it though, sometimes if you've a keeper like Nash who can land the ball on the other full forward line, why not go for it?

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 11/08/2013 20:27:41    1459125