Lads over the past few months I feel that HS as it used to be has all but gone. It seems to be that one replies to the county of origin of a poster rather than the poster. Any chance of debate is always scuppered by the many wind up merchants floating from thread to thread stirring (we all know who they are). How can this be resolved? Perhaps doing away with the county of origin might improve it? Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 21/02/2013 13:09:22 1337180 Link 0 |
Good on you for raising this Jackeen and its a valid point, you only have to look at the number of Dublin related threads floating around at the moment mostly started by...................non Dubs! I don't think your solution would work for 2 reasons (1). Most of us are well known on these boards as are our counties and (2) it wouldn't take long to suss out the county affiliations of a newbie. The board has become somewhat formulaic in that any thread starts off with good intentions but will inevitably decend into an inter-county brawl without addressing the points raised by the thread in the first instance. brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 21/02/2013 14:23:42 1337232 Link 0 |
Indeed I've been guilty of a few myself but I see where you are coming from. Every post is being dragged down. Some people only feel the need to contribute when the thread is about certain counties. When somebody openly declares their hatred they cannot be taken seriously. They cannot be depended on to post objectively. sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 21/02/2013 14:32:37 1337239 Link 0 |
Perhaps we could filter over some of Dublin GAA revenue to HS so they can employ more Admin staff? Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 508 - 21/02/2013 14:35:20 1337243 Link 0 |
I'm not allowed comment on this because I keep getting accused of a 'holier than thou' attitude but I agree it has gone very bad. The admins have made some positive steps in the last few weeks posting reminders to keep debates on topic. More of that please... doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 21/02/2013 14:44:30 1337249 Link 0 |
Jackeen Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 21/02/2013 14:48:12 1337253 Link 0 |
Beelzedub Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 21/02/2013 14:50:29 1337255 Link 0 |
brendtheredhand Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 21/02/2013 14:51:42 1337257 Link 0 |
Does anyone remember the Hogan stand Union parties we set up a few years go - great craic but maybe a few of us old heads need to but our "heads" together and come up with ways to improve HS and then sent to management. yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 12130 - 21/02/2013 14:55:51 1337259 Link 0 |
Stop multiple usernames !! waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 21/02/2013 14:59:30 1337262 Link 0 |
You are vey selective in your comments Breff Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 508 - 21/02/2013 14:59:37 1337263 Link 0 |
Jackeen Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 21/02/2013 14:59:57 1337265 Link 0 |
Jackeen its no co-incidence that the majority of the old guard have left us. Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 21/02/2013 15:04:55 1337269 Link 0 |
Jimbo try not to turn this thread of all threads into a petty squabble. Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 21/02/2013 15:05:38 1337271 Link 0 |
Tyical Dub trying to deny us our rural identity ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 21/02/2013 15:05:49 1337272 Link 0 |
doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 21/02/2013 15:06:58 1337275 Link 0 |
Breffni39 Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 508 - 21/02/2013 15:11:51 1337278 Link 0 |
doublehop Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 21/02/2013 15:14:25 1337281 Link 0 |
This thread in nothing new Jackeen but I repsect your opinions 100% Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 508 - 21/02/2013 15:14:54 1337283 Link 0 |
I reckon we need to have a HS Gathering, get all the old posters back to get us out of this mess we're in Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 21/02/2013 15:15:56 1337284 Link 0 |