Two down-- Two to go

With Chelsaa following Liverpool out of the Champions League, two English teams remain. Lets all hope its a Brit free Champions League final this year.

millhouse (Meath) - Posts: 892 - 17/03/2010 11:06:06    590316

YES

Dr.Shephard (Leitrim) - Posts: 2187 - 17/03/2010 12:59:14    590458

NO

bigman2 (Tipperary) - Posts: 1202 - 17/03/2010 15:44:38    590554

That would be brilliant!

Mick14 (Limerick) - Posts: 766 - 17/03/2010 18:19:44    590635

Would you say the same if Celtic were in the Competition after all they were the first BRITISH Side to win the European Cup?

DynamoDooher (Tyrone) - Posts: 423 - 17/03/2010 18:57:59    590665

I know this is the non-Gaa forum, but I still don't get why so many GAA supporters are drawn to the English game.

redandblackgaa (Tyrone) - Posts: 251 - 17/03/2010 20:15:03    590741

I'm not just a GAA-person. I am a sportsperson and I would think that that goes for quite a few on here.

Dr.Shephard (Leitrim) - Posts: 2187 - 17/03/2010 20:28:01    590759

I've yet to hear anyone from around here say that they support a team from the League of Ireland..It's all Liverpool and United

redandblackgaa (Tyrone) - Posts: 251 - 17/03/2010 20:43:21    590781

redandblackgaa

There are a few of us on here.

I support Sligo Rovers, go to most home games. MesAmis is a Bohs fan if I'm not mistaken. One of the Cavan posters supports Dundalk (can't think which one)
That's just off the top of my head.
There are a good few more.

Dr.Shephard (Leitrim) - Posts: 2187 - 17/03/2010 21:39:55    590872

redandblackgaa

I've yet to hear anyone from around here say that they support a team from the League of Ireland..It's all Liverpool and United

I support FC Carlow.

hurlingguru (Carlow) - Posts: 1863 - 17/03/2010 21:48:39    590892

Fair play lads, but I meant Up Here in the North. I also understand about people following all sports.

redandblackgaa (Tyrone) - Posts: 251 - 17/03/2010 22:00:12    590905

But there is only one League of Ireland club in the North. So I would imagine only people in and around Derry would be supporting a League of Ireland side.

Dr.Shephard (Leitrim) - Posts: 2187 - 18/03/2010 12:14:09    591152

You are right Dr. But people in Ireland tend to support teams from their own area. It still doesn't stop them supporting teams from a different country. Would you get many Derry people supporting Shamrock Rovers?. I wouldn't think there would be too many but you'll see plenty of English jerseys in Derry. I think Irish people (up here at least) depend too much on England for entertainment, wether it's football, tv or radio. I watched The Underdogs on TG4 recently...great programme, Irish sport and Irish language and then they go and stick in some music from a British band. Have we not got plenty of excellent Irish bands of our own???

redandblackgaa (Tyrone) - Posts: 251 - 18/03/2010 13:28:17    591262

Now that there are TWO French clubs in the quarter finals, same as the much vaunted EPL, does this mean that the French ligue is the strongest in Europe, cos thats what we have had to listen to every year when the "big four" qualify for that stage?

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 18/03/2010 13:43:36    591297

I agree with what you are saying and I suppose that it's just the way it is and has been for as long as I can remember.
I suppose a lot of it is to do with the ammount of British television stations we receive and the poor quality of programmes on our own channels.
People are more likely to watch and therefore be influenced by British television.

I agree that the Underdogs is a fairly good show.
But in general the 4 Irish tv channels show an abundance of s****

Dr.Shephard (Leitrim) - Posts: 2187 - 18/03/2010 13:47:43    591306

I support Dungannon Swifts.

TheMonk (Tyrone) - Posts: 187 - 18/03/2010 14:22:54    591386

millhouse

590316 With Chelsaa following Liverpool out of the Champions League, two English teams remain. Lets all hope its a Brit free Champions League final this year.

Howya 26.We know it's you.

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 18/03/2010 14:35:24    591418

brendtheredhand

Now that there are TWO French clubs in the quarter finals, same as the much vaunted EPL, does this mean that the French ligue is the strongest in Europe, cos thats what we have had to listen to every year when the "big four" qualify for that stage?

I was thinking that myself.

Now the experts reckon 925 of football success is "bought" such as the big 4 and Hull, west ham, portsmouth etc in England, but the French teams are paupers in comparison.

Maybe it is just a better league.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 18/03/2010 15:54:17    591574

I hope Arsenal win the CL
Great to see a team that play the football they do and run a club as well as they do take the ultimate prize
Come on you Gooners

Millhouse/32_4_1 ..........Who do you think your kidding? Hows Meath Bhoy?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 18/03/2010 15:57:57    591582

brendtheredhand

591297 Now that there are TWO French clubs in the quarter finals, same as the much vaunted EPL, does this mean that the French ligue is the strongest in Europe, cos thats what we have had to listen to every year when the "big four" qualify for that stage?

No, its the much vaunted Spanish league that is top dog of course seeing as they have..... only one team left in the champions league.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 18/03/2010 17:16:57    591730