Cardinal Brady......Should he go?

Is this just another media feeding frenzy or do the facts justify his resignation? The Cardinal maintains that he was involved in NO cover up but seems to be fighting against the tide. The fact that 2 children had to sign a 'CONFIDENTIAL' agreement in a meeting he attended seems like the Church once again being more interested in Canon Law than Civil Law. I think that the Cardinal's position is now untenable and that he should resign. Who would succeed him as the entire Catholic heirarchy seems to be tainted now? Archbishop Martin of Dublin has a lot of respect amongst the laity but Rome seemed to have clipped his wings after the recent visit to the Vatican from the Irish bishops.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9840 - 15/03/2010 17:53:57    588860

Abolish the whole church!

beer baron (Cavan) - Posts: 3916 - 15/03/2010 19:10:20    588973

not only should he resign he should be charged and brought to justice

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 15/03/2010 19:18:37    588987

Yes he should go .

beer baron

Abolish the whole church!

Think your jumping the gun a bit there to be fair.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 15/03/2010 19:19:30    588990

Im so disappointed, honestly thought he was one of the good guys. He should step down and hang his head in shame.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 15/03/2010 19:27:08    589003

Brolly
County: Monaghan

589003 Im so disappointed, honestly thought he was one of the good guys. He should step down and hang his head in shame.

In fairness, how would a lad that puts on a frock and goes to kiss the popes ring, on television at that, be one of the good guys.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 15/03/2010 19:38:10    589030

beer baron

588973 Abolish the whole church!

It will be more Fun watching it self destruct. They are actially starting to break ranks now.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 15/03/2010 19:39:44    589035

He should be jailed if the allagations are true

dammon (Meath) - Posts: 1291 - 15/03/2010 19:45:31    589048

Religion is the ruination of the world!

beer baron (Cavan) - Posts: 3916 - 15/03/2010 19:51:47    589055

Didn't he say a couple of years ago that if he had of been implicated in any cover up that he would resign?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 15/03/2010 21:07:05    589184

I give up Religion
Because it interfered
with my faith.

williewentwell (Tyrone) - Posts: 1712 - 15/03/2010 21:26:42    589223

williewentwell

589223 I give up Religion
Because it interfered
with my faith.

A great deal of truth in that Willie. Too many people confuse the two especially Churchmen

derryman (Derry) - Posts: 3246 - 15/03/2010 21:32:50    589238

I always found the Church heirarchy a shower of arrogant, snobby, stuck up so and so's who looked down on most of their flock. I was once sent home by the headmaster of my grammar school because I wore white socks in school; that same man became a bishop. You would have thought I had just broken all the commandments so nasty was he. Now the pope's own brother has been implicated in physical abuse cases in Germany. I wonder if all these Nostradamus prophecies are coming true with the collapse of the Church. Didn't the Mayan's say it was all going to end on 21st December 2012?

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9840 - 15/03/2010 21:35:38    589245

Yep MesAmis, he did say that. Lets see how hypicrital he actually is...

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 15/03/2010 21:44:13    589263

derryman
County: Derry

williewentwell

589223 I give up Religion
Because it interfered
with my faith.

A great deal of truth in that Willie. Too many people confuse the two especially Churchmen

True derryman Religion is no Substitute for Faith.

williewentwell (Tyrone) - Posts: 1712 - 15/03/2010 21:51:45    589277

Brady said just last December that he would resign if it was found that his failure to act had caused children to be abused. Now he is trying to use the Nuremberg defence to hold onto his position and avoid prosecution.

Ulsterman, the pope himself has been implicated in the scandal in Germany, not just his brother, but another less senior clergyman has taken most of the fall for him.

Time for people to wake up and smell the roses, the catholic church is a disgusting organisation.

nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 15/03/2010 21:55:08    589280

Did anyone hear the Monsignor that was on the radio yesterday - he is a Proffessor in church law.
Said that Brady had no business telling anyone as he is not an Auxillary Garda and that Church law was higher than state law.
And he was being rolled out as some sort of intellectual expert. You could'nt make it up.

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 16/03/2010 09:04:08    589325

I no longer wish to be regarded as "Catholic"
Christian, Yes
Catholic, No

The Catholic Church is the most corrupt, self serving haven for criminals on Gods earth
They are a cancer on Irish society and should be disbanded

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 16/03/2010 09:55:29    589368

ruanua

589325 Did anyone hear the Monsignor that was on the radio yesterday - he is a Proffessor in church law.
Said that Brady had no business telling anyone as he is not an Auxillary Garda and that Church law was higher than state law.
And he was being rolled out as some sort of intellectual expert. You could'nt make it up.
Dooley, retired of course, so there can be no comeback.
Some Beaut ok,, but thats the mentality,, its ingrained over centuries, I had the "honour" of spending a few days in the company of one of his collegues on a mountain, didn't think one of us would get back. Its only now they are coming up against educated people that dont show them total submissiveness. Mind you there are still quite a few prepared to stand up and defend them or at least stay silent E.G. our entire government.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 16/03/2010 10:05:26    589372

Of course he should go. It showed the whole oath on tv last night and no one seems to have picked up on the fact it contained the words "even in the cause of the greater good". This shows they knew what they were doing was wrong. Absolutely no doubt he and half the clergy out there should go. Jesus himself would be ashamed.

Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 16/03/2010 10:34:29    589406