Hill 16, no,no,no....

Was looking to buy Hill tickets for my 2 teen sons for the double header in Croke Park on Saturday July 29th but yet again the GAA aren't opening the Hill for non Dublin games. It's going to cost me €100 now for a family of four plus all other expenses, don't get me wrong delighted to be going to see Armagh in HQ , but will ultimately be an expensive day. Is there a rule that the Hill is only opened to the Dub's until semi final stages??

sean og (Armagh) - Posts: 1053 - 18/07/2017 13:44:02    2018626

Replying To sean og:  "Was looking to buy Hill tickets for my 2 teen sons for the double header in Croke Park on Saturday July 29th but yet again the GAA aren't opening the Hill for non Dublin games. It's going to cost me €100 now for a family of four plus all other expenses, don't get me wrong delighted to be going to see Armagh in HQ , but will ultimately be an expensive day. Is there a rule that the Hill is only opened to the Dub's until semi final stages??"
I don't understand how it will cost you more as if its a family ticket surely kids are 5euro on that where as if you were going the hill the kids would have to buy a full price ticket which would cost probably 20euro for a qualifier double header.
wrong that the option isn't available as like me I only like to go to terrace as I hate sitting. But don't see why this is relating to Dublin as in thurles the last day they did same only had one end of the ground open and closed the other. In limerick they generally only have the stands open and terraces closed too for qualifier games.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 18/07/2017 14:06:32    2018652

Replying To sean og:  "Was looking to buy Hill tickets for my 2 teen sons for the double header in Croke Park on Saturday July 29th but yet again the GAA aren't opening the Hill for non Dublin games. It's going to cost me €100 now for a family of four plus all other expenses, don't get me wrong delighted to be going to see Armagh in HQ , but will ultimately be an expensive day. Is there a rule that the Hill is only opened to the Dub's until semi final stages??"
Indeed there is Sean Og

Rule 56.1.7 states "Hill16 shall remain closed for all games not involving Dublin until such a time as the GAA see fit. Dublin Fans are superior and more deserving of cheaper terrace tickets and shall be placated in so far as is possible. Non Dublin fans will be asked to purchase more expensive stand tickets thus robbing them and annoying their brains, all the while keeping the Dubs happy in their Ivory Tower"

If i was you sean Og I would start a petition and go on social media and express my outrage

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 18/07/2017 14:09:34    2018653

Yes, there is a rule. Congress passed a rule a few years back giving sole power to the Dublin County Board over the opening of Hill 16.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13719 - 18/07/2017 14:19:16    2018662

Don't get it myself just open the bloody thing and give people who want to stand that option. Before the Leinster hurling final people comained and righly so about this issue and the excuse give was that the Coldplay concert was being prepared for, but that's bs. You can absolutely guarantee 100% that hq wouldn't have authorised a concert I their ground week before a potential game involving the dublinfootballers, not anymore anyway, I know they did in 09 but not since .. It's double standards .. Codology

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 18/07/2017 14:32:18    2018677

Not for Dubs as such but judged by expected attendances I imagine. Cheaper for them to keep the Hill and the top section closed (less costs as less staff required to man them etc)

I agree with ye though. Hill should be open at this stage. Always good to see a team shooting into where fans are cheering and a fairer option for the fans.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 18/07/2017 14:33:37    2018681

€100 for four to Croke Park seems like good value to me. The most you would have saved on the Hill would have been €20 which in the overall scheme of things is not a lot.
Make your own sangwiches, bring flasks of tae & you'll be quids in!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 18/07/2017 14:35:18    2018683

I don't get it either, especially since it's a double header. Never liked seeing an empty Hill in Croker

Hill16Army (Dublin) - Posts: 88 - 18/07/2017 14:50:32    2018691

Not having a go at the Dub's here, there is no better sight/sound in GAA when the Hill is full of Dub's! !

My 2 boys are 18 & 19 so too old for a family ticket. It's not just the expense, they would prefer to stand in the Hill with their friends and have a bit of craic and make a better atmosphere, it just seems odd that other counties can't get the opportunity to do this and the Dub's can.

sean og (Armagh) - Posts: 1053 - 18/07/2017 15:09:45    2018699

Replying To hill16no1man:  "I don't understand how it will cost you more as if its a family ticket surely kids are 5euro on that where as if you were going the hill the kids would have to buy a full price ticket which would cost probably 20euro for a qualifier double header.
wrong that the option isn't available as like me I only like to go to terrace as I hate sitting. But don't see why this is relating to Dublin as in thurles the last day they did same only had one end of the ground open and closed the other. In limerick they generally only have the stands open and terraces closed too for qualifier games."
Tickets in the Hill for the Leinster and Minor football championship on Sunday were 25 euro and the Stand were 35 euro.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 18/07/2017 15:11:49    2018701

Was the hill opened for the leinster hurling final

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1676 - 18/07/2017 15:14:49    2018705

Replying To OLLIE:  "Tickets in the Hill for the Leinster and Minor football championship on Sunday were 25 euro and the Stand were 35 euro."
I know I was there lol
I don't get your point?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 18/07/2017 15:38:56    2018726

Replying To cuchulainn35:  "Was the hill opened for the leinster hurling final"
Don't think so but the Nally was? Sure there was folk standing at it but not behind the goals.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 18/07/2017 15:39:43    2018727

Replying To sean og:  "Not having a go at the Dub's here, there is no better sight/sound in GAA when the Hill is full of Dub's! !

My 2 boys are 18 & 19 so too old for a family ticket. It's not just the expense, they would prefer to stand in the Hill with their friends and have a bit of craic and make a better atmosphere, it just seems odd that other counties can't get the opportunity to do this and the Dub's can."
That's fair enough I thaught you were implying they were under 16.
again though I don't think it's a croke park only issue it's a cost issue the gaa view it as not enough demand to open all areas of grounds, the mayo v cork game in limerick this weekend only has stand tickets for sale no terrace open it would appear too. I agree there should be a terrace option as it would put me off going

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 18/07/2017 15:42:43    2018730

Replying To sean og:  "Not having a go at the Dub's here, there is no better sight/sound in GAA when the Hill is full of Dub's! !

My 2 boys are 18 & 19 so too old for a family ticket. It's not just the expense, they would prefer to stand in the Hill with their friends and have a bit of craic and make a better atmosphere, it just seems odd that other counties can't get the opportunity to do this and the Dub's can."
Hold on ta feck.....18 and 19 and you are buying their tickets for them....

I see your first problem right there anyways Sean Og!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 18/07/2017 15:45:00    2018733

Open the hill quickly before we have all our young SJWs being offended
All jokes aside, of course they should open it, either that or lower the stand prices.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 18/07/2017 15:49:10    2018740

can you imagine the outcry if the hill wasn't opened

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1676 - 18/07/2017 15:58:15    2018749

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Hold on ta feck.....18 and 19 and you are buying their tickets for them....

I see your first problem right there anyways Sean Og!!"
sean og ain't the only sucker around these parts :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 18/07/2017 16:04:34    2018755

Replying To cuchulainn35:  "Was the hill opened for the leinster hurling final"
No, it wasn't and they could easily sold thousands if they had offered them.
Two 80,000 attendees concerts there within a couple of weeks of each other and they can't open the hill to a Leinster hurling final is redicilous.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 18/07/2017 16:35:31    2018786

Replying To OLLIE:  "Tickets in the Hill for the Leinster and Minor football championship on Sunday were 25 euro and the Stand were 35 euro."
Haha well you did ask how much the tickets would be for the hill?

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 18/07/2017 16:48:55    2018793