Alan Brogan on Meath

Have we all read the article in today's indo?
I would love to hear Royaldunne's opinion of it, and Hteam's?
What ya make of it lads? Is it fair copy?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 16/06/2017 10:58:44    2000260

I wouldn't have any argument with that. The same steel that was so prevalent in Boylans teams never replicated itself under any other management since Boylan. We're all hopeful for a renewal under McEntee but the jury is still out.

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 16/06/2017 11:31:05    2000270

back in 95, beating meath was as good as winning the all ireland

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 16/06/2017 12:06:10    2000287

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Have we all read the article in today's indo?
What ya make of it lads? Is it fair copy?"
Hard to find fault with his article. Its a fair assessment where Meath were over last few years. Hopefully things are changing with new (mad) management in place.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 16/06/2017 12:11:09    2000291

Just read it, its a good article. A few Dublin people say the same to me over the years, many of them seem to miss the rivalry also.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1349 - 16/06/2017 12:18:38    2000297

I would see it as a fairly accurate assessment, he also thinks we will win tomorrow evening so I hope he's accurate there too, kind of felt that Brogan was lending a bit of support for Meath in that article, release the mad men........

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 16/06/2017 12:23:22    2000302

All slagging aside, I would love to see Meath back at the top table. Love it. It's much better craic with ye in it.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 16/06/2017 12:28:49    2000303

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "All slagging aside, I would love to see Meath back at the top table. Love it. It's much better craic with ye in it."
Be careful what you wish for.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 16/06/2017 12:40:57    2000308

Replying To Richieq:  "I would see it as a fairly accurate assessment, he also thinks we will win tomorrow evening so I hope he's accurate there too, kind of felt that Brogan was lending a bit of support for Meath in that article, release the mad men........"
Richieq, shock horror, whisper it but....most Dubs will be up for Meath

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 16/06/2017 12:42:38    2000309

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "All slagging aside, I would love to see Meath back at the top table. Love it. It's much better craic with ye in it."
So long as they are competitive and never beating us, thatll do me grand.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 16/06/2017 12:47:40    2000312

also interesting how he says that meath have alot of footballers that would be good enough to play for dublin with the right support.

would agree with that,meath have alot of really good footballers. first thing andy said when he came in was that we had a lot of skillfull footballers and that wasn't the issue. for years now it has been a lack of belief and clearly fitness.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 16/06/2017 12:58:09    2000317

Its a very fair and accurate account of what happened to Meath. The mad men are now in charge so the steel is back, I don't get the attitude of saying we will win as been a bad thing be it from supporter management and particularly players. If they don't believe they can beat all imfront of them I wouldn't have them on the team. What the McEntee era will bring is that steel and determined drive back. I think we will see it tomorrow night and for rest of year too.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/06/2017 13:36:56    2000337

I enjoyed it Liamo, I thought it was a good article, Alan captured exactly what Meath v Dublin used to mean to the players and supporters and I get the sense that he really wants to see a competitive Leinster championship again.

He gives us and our management plenty of credit and goes for a Meath win but personally I'm yet to be convinced although admittedly we do look a bit better. I've just seen too many disasters, particularly over the last 3 years to start feeling optimistic yet.

Can't wait for tomorrow though, I think we're in with a good chance and I'd love another crack at the Leinster final.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 16/06/2017 17:40:58    2000436

I agree with most of what he said but Meath were unfortunately on a down hill spiral before he left. There was too little attention being paid to underage with extremely poor management in charge.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 16/06/2017 18:02:13    2000444

Hope it

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 16/06/2017 18:42:47    2000457

Hope it's Meath, I'd enjoy beating them more, 50/50 game even if I think Kildare look the better side.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 16/06/2017 18:44:26    2000458

Replying To bdbuddah:  "Just read it, its a good article. A few Dublin people say the same to me over the years, many of them seem to miss the rivalry also."
Have to admit I miss the rivalry too, as Brogan said it got to a stage where it was almost a no contest. As someone that started following the Dubs in the early 80's, (and lives on the Meath/Dublin border), the clashes all through the 80's and 90's were brilliant, even if we lost as often as we won. I'd much prefer beat Meath by a point in an evenly matched contest, than win by 10 points in games like we have had in recent years. Hopefully both Meath and Kildare are on the way back, because apart from everything else I've a pain in my face listening to people belittling Leinster football on the basis of one bad decade with regards competitiveness.

AHP (Dublin) - Posts: 323 - 16/06/2017 21:20:57    2000495