Where is John 3:7?

Don't see him around any more.
He is a sign of the Irish summer. I hope he is OK.
Anybody seen him?

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 04/06/2017 21:04:20    1994678

Replying To Pinkie:  "Don't see him around any more.
Anybody seen him?"
From Kerry isn't he?

They haven't played yet.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 04/06/2017 22:54:27    1994754

Replying To Pinkie:  "Don't see him around any more.
Anybody seen him?"
I think his name was Frank, he's a Limerick man that much i know from seeing him around town over the years, had a chat with him once at a match, very nice man.
I did hear he had been in poor health but that was about two years ago....How things are with him now I don't know but i'd say his evangelising days are over somehow.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1062 - 04/06/2017 22:54:40    1994755

I think I read that he was very ill a year or two ago. Hopefully he is doing better now.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 05/06/2017 00:23:56    1994813

http://www.limerickleader.ie/news/home/234910/john-3-7-returns-to-the-terraces-after-two-year-hiatus.html

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 05/06/2017 00:25:30    1994815

This article is from Feb this year so all being well he will be seen in this years Championship games:

http://www.limerickleader.ie/news/home/234910/john-3-7-returns-to-the-terraces-after-two-year-hiatus.html

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 05/06/2017 07:48:40    1994836

Feck, he almost died according to himself in that article. Thank God the garda revived him and he's recovered. One of the best gaa fans there is.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 05/06/2017 14:02:07    1995013

I see the Offaly Jersey man is still going strong at the Kildare v Laois game yesterday.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/06/2017 14:36:03    1995034

Replying To skillet:  "I think his name was Frank, he's a Limerick man that much i know from seeing him around town over the years, had a chat with him once at a match, very nice man.
I did hear he had been in poor health but that was about two years ago....How things are with him now I don't know but i'd say his evangelising days are over somehow."
think your right about him being called frank and he is from limerick. I met him with a mate a few years back outside the thurles ground and then inside again behind the town end goal he was behind us and we got chatting to him before the minor and senior hurling games. From what I remember he had some personal issues which took him towards religion hence the john sign. It was a sad story to listen to and would make you think what if? funny now you've mentioned it we haven't seen him behind the goals suppose it's one of those things which you comment on when you see him but then forget about.

bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 05/06/2017 14:53:09    1995044

This man must have plenty of stories to tell, not just about going to matches. Would make a great book.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 05/06/2017 15:31:31    1995068

Replying To clondalkindub:  "I see the Offaly Jersey man is still going strong at the Kildare v Laois game yesterday."
Ah I love Offaly jersey man clon, seen him at many games through out the years.

Fair play to him he's some fan.

As for John 3:7 isn't his name frank hogan from limerick, a gang of us met him outside the belvedere about 10 years ago and we got our photo taken with him, nice guy.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/06/2017 16:20:22    1995086

Had the pleasure of meeting him a few times, glad he will be back on the scene for 2017

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 05/06/2017 17:37:00    1995129

wouldn't it be great if someone called John scored 3:7 in a game and Frank held up his banner as the final point went over the bar.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 05/06/2017 21:30:56    1995268

I'm sorry to rain on his parade (I'm not really). But, good riddance to him and his dogma. There should be no religious or political banners at GAA games, or any sporting events for that matter. In fact, they are not allowed in soccer.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2466 - 05/06/2017 21:52:56    1995282

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "I'm sorry to rain on his parade (I'm not really). But, good riddance to him and his dogma. There should be no religious or political banners at GAA games, or any sporting events for that matter. In fact, they are not allowed in soccer."
Met the chap a few times...... Would not concur with general opinion on here. Wont say too much but, lets just say he wouldn't be everyones cup of tea

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 05/06/2017 22:52:07    1995306

Replying To bulmccabe:  "think your right about him being called frank and he is from limerick. I met him with a mate a few years back outside the thurles ground and then inside again behind the town end goal he was behind us and we got chatting to him before the minor and senior hurling games. From what I remember he had some personal issues which took him towards religion hence the john sign. It was a sad story to listen to and would make you think what if? funny now you've mentioned it we haven't seen him behind the goals suppose it's one of those things which you comment on when you see him but then forget about."
He's actually a tipp man living in limerick almost all his life

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 05/06/2017 23:43:57    1995335

Replying To tiobraid:  "He's actually a tipp man living in limerick almost all his life"
he had just told us he was from limerick but it was sad listening to him talking about his personal struggles but one day he found as he called it religion. Have worked with a few guys who went the same way turning to god nearly over night, from one extreme to the other. Regardless he was a harmless man with a story who brought colour to the terraces and was pretty popular for photos. Often wondered did he receive free entry to the grounds having carried his placard far and wide

bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 06/06/2017 09:52:01    1995395

I hope he's in good health obviously but as a few have suggested, it's a bit bizarre.

http://www.hoganstand.com/common/ads/down/john37/john37.htm

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 06/06/2017 10:50:41    1995436

Replying To s goldrick:  "wouldn't it be great if someone called John scored 3:7 in a game and Frank held up his banner as the final point went over the bar."
He'd need to get the last point late in play or he could end up with 3:8 though.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 06/06/2017 12:26:16    1995513

Replying To Pinkie:  "He'd need to get the last point late in play or he could end up with 3:8 though."
Im sure John 3:8 isn't a hell of a lot different to John 3:7

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 706 - 06/06/2017 16:25:18    1995736