Kerry's easy path

Just read the article on the main page. Very well written and really shows up the inequality that exists at the moment..no blame on Kerry. They have to play by the rules buts its so unfair.

kavvie (Clare) - Posts: 505 - 01/06/2017 11:30:58    1992968

Leinster may not be what it was, but up to 10 years ago Leinster was uber competitive. Had Kerry been in Leinster they wouldn't have half the All Ireland's they have. Its no coincidence that the county with most football titles came out of the weakest province and the county with the most hurling titles came out of the weakest province also

And thats just a fact................

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 01/06/2017 12:06:41    1992996

Oh Jesus, here we go again...

I tell ye what lads, why don't ye all get together and start a petition to demand the GAA take away the number of All-Ireland's you feel Kerry have unfairly won due to their easy route, handy final opponents, doping, bribing referee's, cynical play etc, etc.

Off ye go...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 01/06/2017 12:25:43    1993008

And as a final comment on this, to see a poster from Dublin going on about another county having a easy provincial route! Jesus wept. :D

P.S. to be a little more serious, Munster the weakest Liam? Really? When's the last time a team from Connacht won an All-Ireland or a team from Leinster outside Dublin?

How come since the advent of the back door there has only been three All-Ireland's contested by teams from the same province and twice it was Cork/Kerry!

In fact since 2001, tell me how many times a team from Connacht or Leinster (outside of Mayo and Dublin) have even reached an AL semi-final! I'll tell you, twice: Meath 01 and 09!

Long love the Munster football championship and give me Clare v Kerry any day over Down and Armagh this Sunday!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 01/06/2017 12:38:38    1993013

Kerry are the kings of football and it's not their fault who they play but last years fixtures for them to get to semi final made a mockery of the whole championship.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/06/2017 12:40:58    1993015

Replying To TheHermit:  "Oh Jesus, here we go again...

I tell ye what lads, why don't ye all get together and start a petition to demand the GAA take away the number of All-Ireland's you feel Kerry have unfairly won due to their easy route, handy final opponents, doping, bribing referee's, cynical play etc, etc.

Off ye go..."
No one has suggested any of that, your projecting is interesting though.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 01/06/2017 12:50:38    1993019

Replying To TheHermit:  "And as a final comment on this, to see a poster from Dublin going on about another county having a easy provincial route! Jesus wept. :D

P.S. to be a little more serious, Munster the weakest Liam? Really? When's the last time a team from Connacht won an All-Ireland or a team from Leinster outside Dublin?

How come since the advent of the back door there has only been three All-Ireland's contested by teams from the same province and twice it was Cork/Kerry!

In fact since 2001, tell me how many times a team from Connacht or Leinster (outside of Mayo and Dublin) have even reached an AL semi-final! I'll tell you, twice: Meath 01 and 09!

Long love the Munster football championship and give me Clare v Kerry any day over Down and Armagh this Sunday!"
To be fair mate, it makes sense that Munster team will generally get further in the championship latter stages in the examples you give, if the provincial championship is weak, has less matches, weaker opposition or leaves more in the tank for August football as opposed to other provinces i think that is the point of the article. I don't think that line is really helping your argument.

I mean Clare and Tipperary last year or Cork and Kerry finals were these teams helped due to Munsters weakness? would if it happened if these counties were comign out of Ulster or Leinster? would it have happened without a short championship, extra recovery/preparation time, two game championship for the bigger teams. Its a lot of advantages for a strong August which was the general point.

Just to be balanced i dont think Leisnter has been fit for purpose the last 6-7 years but that is a relatively new thing.

Perhaps the super 8 will counter the imbalance.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 01/06/2017 12:57:01    1993021

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Leinster may not be what it was, but up to 10 years ago Leinster was uber competitive. Had Kerry been in Leinster they wouldn't have half the All Ireland's they have. Its no coincidence that the county with most football titles came out of the weakest province and the county with the most hurling titles came out of the weakest province also

:)"
The current structure is not fit for purpose anymore and it didn't get lop sided overnight

It's been dodgy for a long time

No doubt it's benefited certain counties for a very long time.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 01/06/2017 13:00:14    1993023

Kerry fans can be as defensive about the topic as they want, its a simple fact that there are inequalities in the current championship structure and that they have benefited from these for years.

The article says nothing we didn't already know, the only shame is that the problem still exists.

Steve (Fermanagh) - Posts: 293 - 01/06/2017 13:09:38    1993031

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Leinster may not be what it was, but up to 10 years ago Leinster was uber competitive. Had Kerry been in Leinster they wouldn't have half the All Ireland's they have. Its no coincidence that the county with most football titles came out of the weakest province and the county with the most hurling titles came out of the weakest province also

Have to disagree, Ulster and Connaught have been serially weak in the hurling and we aren't awash with McCarthy cups every few years.

duckula20 (Antrim) - Posts: 175 - 01/06/2017 13:14:38    1993037

Replying To greatpoint:  "No one has suggested any of that, your projecting is interesting though."
Eh, why don't you read Liam's post again there.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 01/06/2017 13:19:38    1993041

Replying To TheHermit:  "And as a final comment on this, to see a poster from Dublin going on about another county having a easy provincial route! Jesus wept. :D

Long love the Munster football championship and give me Clare v Kerry any day over Down and Armagh this Sunday!"
Don't forget Kildare in 2010. They reached the All Ireland semi-final.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 01/06/2017 13:19:59    1993043

haha Liam you baiting us again!!!
All i can say to that is Kerry and Cork somewhat have always got over the other 4 counties fairly handy.
But then those "weaker" counties excluding Waterford have continually beaten many counties in the other provinces since the qualifiers came in. Tipp has consistently beaten teams from the "strongest" province!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 01/06/2017 13:23:35    1993047

In that case Antrim or Galway would have the most hurling all irelands.

Frederick (Louth) - Posts: 479 - 01/06/2017 13:25:12    1993050

Replying To OLLIE:  "

Don't forget Kildare in 2010. They reached the All Ireland semi-final."
My apologies, I forgot Kildare got that far. I thought they lost to Down in the Q-final but it was actually us they beat, will we ever beat them in the Championship!,

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 01/06/2017 13:48:22    1993067

Replying To woops:  "haha Liam you baiting us again!!!
All i can say to that is Kerry and Cork somewhat have always got over the other 4 counties fairly handy.
But then those "weaker" counties excluding Waterford have continually beaten many counties in the other provinces since the qualifiers came in. Tipp has consistently beaten teams from the "strongest" province!"
Because I didn't believe you I had a look at Tipperary's record since the qualifiers were introduced. Since 2001 Tipperary have a grand total of 1 win against Ulster opposition in the championship: last year when they beat Derry by a point.

Why are you making stuff up?

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 01/06/2017 13:53:22    1993072

Replying To TheUsername:  "

To be fair mate, it makes sense that Munster team will generally get further in the championship latter stages in the examples you give, if the provincial championship is weak, has less matches, weaker opposition or leaves more in the tank for August football as opposed to other provinces i think that is the point of the article. I don't think that line is really helping your argument.

I mean Clare and Tipperary last year or Cork and Kerry finals were these teams helped due to Munsters weakness? would if it happened if these counties were comign out of Ulster or Leinster? would it have happened without a short championship, extra recovery/preparation time, two game championship for the bigger teams. Its a lot of advantages for a strong August which was the general point.

Just to be balanced i dont think Leisnter has been fit for purpose the last 6-7 years but that is a relatively new thing.

Perhaps the super 8 will counter the imbalance."
To reiterate what others have posted, where are Antrim and Galway's mountain of Liam McCarthy's?

Cavan couldn't be beat in Ulster until the 1960's where are their scores of All-Irelands?

This argument is baloney and always was.

It's an easy bit of propaganda thrown out to try and explain the short comings of others.

Cream rises to the top.

As Woops said, isn't it amazing how well Clare, Tipp and Limerick have done in the qualifiers if they are so weak.

And to give you a valid counter-argument - Kerry have actually suffered due to weakness of Munster in certain past years. Last year was the classic example, Cork weak and beaten before they played us, facile wins over Clare and Tipperary so that we only get our first serious game against Dublin where we don't perform for the first 20 mins because we were so rusty. If we had played a fired up Cork in a Munster final or a Donegal in the Q-final we would have been much better prepared.

However I don't expect most of ye to take any of that on board.

Yet if an open drawn every those come in, I'd love to see how ye explain away the fact Kerry will still be winning titles ;D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 01/06/2017 13:58:46    1993073

Tune up the violins lads, The Hermit is feeling sorry for himself.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 01/06/2017 14:22:56    1993083

Replying To TheHermit:  "
Replying To TheUsername:  "[quote=TheHermit:  "And as a final comment on this, to see a poster from Dublin going on about another county having a easy provincial route! Jesus wept. :D

Perhaps the super 8 will counter the imbalance."
To reiterate what others have posted, where are Antrim and Galway's mountain of Liam McCarthy's?

Cavan couldn't be beat in Ulster until the 1960's where are their scores of All-Irelands?

This argument is baloney and always was.

It's an easy bit of propaganda thrown out to try and explain the short comings of others.

Cream rises to the top.

As Woops said, isn't it amazing how well Clare, Tipp and Limerick have done in the qualifiers if they are so weak.

And to give you a valid counter-argument - Kerry have actually suffered due to weakness of Munster in certain past years. Last year was the classic example, Cork weak and beaten before they played us, facile wins over Clare and Tipperary so that we only get our first serious game against Dublin where we don't perform for the first 20 mins because we were so rusty. If we had played a fired up Cork in a Munster final or a Donegal in the Q-final we would have been much better prepared.

However I don't expect most of ye to take any of that on board.

Yet if an open drawn every those come in, I'd love to see how ye explain away the fact Kerry will still be winning titles ;D"]If you're trying to convince everyone that this is actually a parody account then you're doing well!

Multiple ex-Kerry players have written articles conceding the benefit to Kerry of Munster's advantageous provincial setup. Get your head out of the sand instead of just typing reams of rubbish in defense of Kerry's honour (or whatever in God's name you believe you're doing).

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 01/06/2017 14:28:44    1993085

Replying To greatpoint:  "Because I didn't believe you I had a look at Tipperary's record since the qualifiers were introduced. Since 2001 Tipperary have a grand total of 1 win against Ulster opposition in the championship: last year when they beat Derry by a point.

Why are you making stuff up?"
We beat Antrim in 2012....out of interest how many game against northern teams have we played? Coming from the weakest province we haven't done bad, 2011 was the last time a team from Leinster beat us in laois, since then we have beaten laois, longford, Louth, offaly, wexford. In that time the teams in the championship we have lost to have been kerry, cork, Galway, Tyrone, mayo and down.

tipp11 (Tipperary) - Posts: 353 - 01/06/2017 14:43:29    1993088