Things GAA culchies love.

A nice bit of ham; buttered biscuits; digging 'houles'; saying it's too cold to snow; pretending to know about the 'RA; tayto cheese and onion; pretending their in the 'RA; a stretch in the evenings; lucozade; accordions; pretending to like Holy Week; a dinner dance; gettin' clattered in muck; Nathan Carter; country and western dos in Donegal; spittin' in their hands before doing anything manual; steel toe caps; a big bowl of carrots and parsnips; eatin' sandwiches out of the boot of a car at GAA matches;........to be continued!

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 30/03/2017 22:02:46    1973353

I love them hot summer sunday mornings where your up out of bed, listening to the local radio station,, cup of tae, reading the newspaper and raring to hit the road for the match that afternoon.

11jm11 (Kildare) - Posts: 365 - 31/03/2017 00:11:08    1973402

Replying To 11jm11:  "I love them hot summer sunday mornings where your up out of bed, listening to the local radio station,, cup of tae, reading the newspaper and raring to hit the road for the match that afternoon."
'Hot summer Sunday mornings'??? Where do you live, Dubai, Cape Town, Alice Springs?

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 31/03/2017 00:43:54    1973408

Looking at the fixtures and seeing the next match is a home game against a City team. Hoking out the crap kicking football boots. The sight of City blood. Watching the tail lights as the City players cars make for a sharp exit hoping they can find the M2. Reading the greeting social media comments about the big bad culchies and their parsnip eating ways etc etc.

Ah, it's great to be a culchie.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 31/03/2017 08:02:12    1973422

Getting up on a Championship Sunday morning, having the full Irish while reading the Sunday TImes. Then hopping in my Range Rover and driving to Dublin. Book into the Shelbourne for the night, Heino's with the lads on sat night and then into the corp box for a feed and watch the match on TV in Croke Park while drinking champers...yes I am the new breed....a posh CGAA Culchie :)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 31/03/2017 09:32:25    1973439

Replying To yew_tree:  "Getting up on a Championship Sunday morning, having the full Irish while reading the Sunday TImes. Then hopping in my Range Rover and driving to Dublin. Book into the Shelbourne for the night, Heino's with the lads on sat night and then into the corp box for a feed and watch the match on TV in Croke Park while drinking champers...yes I am the new breed....a posh CGAA Culchie :)"
Sound like a proper M4 ;)

Garth Brooks, seemingly.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 31/03/2017 10:24:56    1973455

watching a match, unlike too many from the greater pale area that only tune in when big blue is on

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 31/03/2017 10:47:19    1973468

Replying To 11jm11:  "I love them hot summer sunday mornings where your up out of bed, listening to the local radio station,, cup of tae, reading the newspaper and raring to hit the road for the match that afternoon."
And do you mean to say you don't go to mass? Are you a millenial culchie?

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 31/03/2017 11:47:52    1973493

And do you mean to say you don't go to mass? Are you a millenial culchie?

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 31/03/2017 11:47:53    1973494

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "watching a match, unlike too many from the greater pale area that only tune in when big blue is on"
Ridiculous comment

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 31/03/2017 11:47:58    1973495

having puck about with kids on pitch after game

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 31/03/2017 12:15:03    1973504

Replying To Laois76:  "And do you mean to say you don't go to mass? Are you a millenial culchie?"
Mass on a Saturday night during GAA season - sure everyone knows that!

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 31/03/2017 12:19:47    1973506

givin the dog a wile bate'n

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 31/03/2017 12:34:04    1973512

Local derby against Bally, if there is a shower worse than the black and tans, its that shower over in Bally.....

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 31/03/2017 12:46:36    1973517

Replying To SaffronDon:  "givin the dog a wile bate'n"
Ha - with a piece of alkathene pipe or a branch pulled from a tree in the hedge.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 31/03/2017 12:54:30    1973521

Replying To Laois76:  "And do you mean to say you don't go to mass? Are you a millenial culchie?"
I was thinkin "Leix"wouldnt be goin to Croker!!

Brinsley Swartz (Mayo) - Posts: 2225 - 31/03/2017 13:11:41    1973525

Coppers. Say no more. We made it what it is.

Foley91 (Meath) - Posts: 418 - 31/03/2017 13:33:36    1973533

Beating the Dubs

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 31/03/2017 14:16:50    1973554

Replying To Brinsley Swartz:  "I was thinkin "Leix"wouldnt be goin to Croker!!"
Shur every Leinster semi final is played in Croker we've played in countless matches in Croker. I'd say 'Leix' have won more games in Croker than Mayo!!

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 31/03/2017 14:27:09    1973564

Friends coming to collect me & partaking of a big fry as prepared by Mrs MuckrossHead before heading to Omagh/Clones/Croker.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 31/03/2017 14:45:16    1973571