County Team Expenditure

Much talk is being made of what counties spend. I have read comments on the bill Mayo racked up last year and feel the need for a defense.

In 2016 the county board paid out €1,632,448 in expenses - up from €880,316 in 2015.

We had the senior football team, u-21 team, u-21 Hurling team and junior football team all reached finals.

Catering costs alone were €447,280.

I don't know about other counties but 16, yes SIXTEEN of the current Mayo senior squad are living outside the county. People point to Mayo never taking the league seriously but when you are only training collectively once a week this time of year it tells. It will ratchet up to twice a week come next month when Dublin based players will be shuttled over to Mayo (more transport costs) and be back in their Dublin beds sometime after 1am.

Let's look at accommodation, anyone have any idea the cost to bed a 30 man panel (probably 40 or more when you include management and support staff) in Dublin 4/5 times in the peak summer months? Believe me it is alot and from what I hear it was hard to find a hotel for the entire team on such short notice last September after the drawn game.

Transport costs will always be high for Mayo and when you add in the London trip last year it added to the bottom line.

Despite this, Mayo actually recorded a surplus of €87,329. Income was up 44% from €2,130,781 to €3,076,988. This included fundraising (money coming in from abroad), Cairde Maigh Eo season tickets (€478,141) and sponsorship (€638,396).

Interesting to note Galway spent €1,362,092 but they have both codes to worry about so that is decent considering their senior sides reached no finals. Roscommon spent €1,074,000 which seems rather high but I hear they have a big financial backer in the US too.

I think what counties spend is up to themselves as long as they don't get into trouble and I know we got a deal for MacHale Park to pay back the debt for the Celtic Tiger madness that was the new stand but I get the feeling some people would have loved to see the county go bankrupt.

Running a GAA team is big business and big costs are incurred. (Now my Dublin posters see I didn't even mention ye;)

Any thought on what your county spends?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 30/03/2017 11:35:09    1973071

Is there any mention of what the travel expenses for the year were? People say oh look Mayo / Kerry spent X amount on their IC teams without realising the biggest chunk of that is used by travelling costs which are far far higher for rural counties on the Western seaboard

KYTotalFootball (Kerry) - Posts: 280 - 30/03/2017 11:52:48    1973083

Replying To KYTotalFootball:  "Is there any mention of what the travel expenses for the year were? People say oh look Mayo / Kerry spent X amount on their IC teams without realising the biggest chunk of that is used by travelling costs which are far far higher for rural counties on the Western seaboard"
Yeah because it's much cheaper for counties to go to Kerry/Mayo than for Kerry/Mayo to go anywhere.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 30/03/2017 12:10:06    1973093

Wont take long for this thread to go the way of most down the shi7hole ,
nothing comes cheap in sport , when your competitors are spending X amount you have to match it , be it strength and conditioning meals after training it doesn't matter , certainly Dublin have not held back the shillings to become the best and why shouldn't day ? points made by previous posters are correct travelling expenses mileage for some counties must be colossal, its also a massive expense to attempt to be a dual county and to have very active competitive female teams.
I don't have an issue with what Kerry spend I don't have an issue with what Mayo spend , I have an issue with poor investment ,
On the other hand and Im sure it will be posted by someone on here , what do we do about the have nots ? Do you halt your own progress because those around you cant afford to keep pace ?
Expenditure is a major issue for the GAA as a whole how you can bridge the gap between the Dublin Mayos and Kerrys of the world with the smaller counties , but lets live in the real world for a second no county is going to ease up on spending if they have access to funds .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 30/03/2017 12:17:39    1973098

Why would Mayo be in Dublin 4/5 times in the peak summer months? Including the replay last year was it not 3 (usually 2)

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 30/03/2017 12:40:47    1973109

Replying To yew_tree:  "Much talk is being made of what counties spend. I have read comments on the bill Mayo racked up last year and feel the need for a defense.

In 2016 the county board paid out €1,632,448 in expenses - up from €880,316 in 2015.

We had the senior football team, u-21 team, u-21 Hurling team and junior football team all reached finals.

Catering costs alone were €447,280.

I don't know about other counties but 16, yes SIXTEEN of the current Mayo senior squad are living outside the county. People point to Mayo never taking the league seriously but when you are only training collectively once a week this time of year it tells. It will ratchet up to twice a week come next month when Dublin based players will be shuttled over to Mayo (more transport costs) and be back in their Dublin beds sometime after 1am.

Let's look at accommodation, anyone have any idea the cost to bed a 30 man panel (probably 40 or more when you include management and support staff) in Dublin 4/5 times in the peak summer months? Believe me it is alot and from what I hear it was hard to find a hotel for the entire team on such short notice last September after the drawn game.

Transport costs will always be high for Mayo and when you add in the London trip last year it added to the bottom line.

Despite this, Mayo actually recorded a surplus of €87,329. Income was up 44% from €2,130,781 to €3,076,988. This included fundraising (money coming in from abroad), Cairde Maigh Eo season tickets (€478,141) and sponsorship (€638,396).

Interesting to note Galway spent €1,362,092 but they have both codes to worry about so that is decent considering their senior sides reached no finals. Roscommon spent €1,074,000 which seems rather high but I hear they have a big financial backer in the US too.

I think what counties spend is up to themselves as long as they don't get into trouble and I know we got a deal for MacHale Park to pay back the debt for the Celtic Tiger madness that was the new stand but I get the feeling some people would have loved to see the county go bankrupt.

Running a GAA team is big business and big costs are incurred. (Now my Dublin posters see I didn't even mention ye;)

Any thought on what your county spends?"
I take that back. I see it was about 4 times!

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 30/03/2017 12:44:26    1973111

Replying To Breffni39:  "
Replying To KYTotalFootball:  "Is there any mention of what the travel expenses for the year were? People say oh look Mayo / Kerry spent X amount on their IC teams without realising the biggest chunk of that is used by travelling costs which are far far higher for rural counties on the Western seaboard"
Yeah because it's much cheaper for counties to go to Kerry/Mayo than for Kerry/Mayo to go anywhere."
So you think travelling to training 2/3 times a week from to Dublin to Killarney / Castlebar / Letterkenny etc for 8-9 months a year is cheap do you? Or that those players arent getting travel expenses?

If you can't grasp these basic realities then I can't help you

KYTotalFootball (Kerry) - Posts: 280 - 30/03/2017 13:15:58    1973132

Replying To GaaGaa78:  "Why would Mayo be in Dublin 4/5 times in the peak summer months? Including the replay last year was it not 3 (usually 2)"
You do realise those Mayo players have to train for those matches??? Which involves an awful lot of travel and this doesn't happen by magic - it incurs an awful lot of time effort and expense.

Unless the people giving out want them to be further disadvantaged and do without the lads who work in Dublin and the students who go to UCD, DCU etc

KYTotalFootball (Kerry) - Posts: 280 - 30/03/2017 13:20:48    1973134

I think there is huge waste in looking professional as opposed to managing resources properly. I mean spending nearly half a million on catering costs to me seems a bit crazy to be honest. Maybe some of the decision making and management around this needs to be looked at.

But listen if counties have the resources i think they need to spend them how they see fit, whether its good management or not is a different debate, i have my suspicions.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 30/03/2017 13:28:59    1973136

Replying To GaaGaa78:  "Why would Mayo be in Dublin 4/5 times in the peak summer months? Including the replay last year was it not 3 (usually 2)"
Mayo v Westmeath qualifier - Croke Park
Mayo v Tyrone 1/4 final - Croke Park
Mayo v Tipperary semi final - Croke Park
Mayo v Dublin drawn game - Croke Park
Mayo v Dublin Replay - Croke Park.

That is 5 games my friend.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 30/03/2017 13:32:31    1973139

They played Tyrone, Tipp, and Dublin x2.

Wait there, I'll get my calculator.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 30/03/2017 13:32:44    1973140

Replying To GaaGaa78: "Why would Mayo be in Dublin 4/5 times in the peak summer months? Including the replay last year was it not 3 (usually 2)"

Westmeath, Tyrone, Tipperary, Dublin, Dublin makes 5

MURPHB33 (Dublin) - Posts: 166 - 30/03/2017 13:53:51    1973149

Wonder how this table will look the first year after the "Super 8" for all counties..

MURPHB33 (Dublin) - Posts: 166 - 30/03/2017 13:57:43    1973153

Why are we talking about this again? There was a thread about this already wasn't there?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7893 - 30/03/2017 13:58:44    1973155

Replying To KYTotalFootball:  "
Replying To Breffni39:  "[quote=KYTotalFootball:  "Is there any mention of what the travel expenses for the year were? People say oh look Mayo / Kerry spent X amount on their IC teams without realising the biggest chunk of that is used by travelling costs which are far far higher for rural counties on the Western seaboard"
Yeah because it's much cheaper for counties to go to Kerry/Mayo than for Kerry/Mayo to go anywhere."
So you think travelling to training 2/3 times a week from to Dublin to Killarney / Castlebar / Letterkenny etc for 8-9 months a year is cheap do you? Or that those players arent getting travel expenses?

If you can't grasp these basic realities then I can't help you"]Who travels from Dublin 2/3 times a week for Kerry training?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 30/03/2017 14:04:53    1973163

Replying To KYTotalFootball:  "[quote=Breffni39:  "[quote=KYTotalFootball:  "Is there any mention of what the travel expenses for the year were? People say oh look Mayo / Kerry spent X amount on their IC teams without realising the biggest chunk of that is used by travelling costs which are far far higher for rural counties on the Western seaboard"

If you can't grasp these basic realities then I can't help you"]Who travels from Dublin 2/3 times a week for Kerry training?"]Barry O'Sullivan and jack Barry are two I can think of.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/03/2017 14:22:15    1973172

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "
Replying To Breffni39:  "[quote=KYTotalFootball:  "[quote=Breffni39:  "[quote=KYTotalFootball:  "Is there any mention of what the travel expenses for the year were? People say oh look Mayo / Kerry spent X amount on their IC teams without realising the biggest chunk of that is used by travelling costs which are far far higher for rural counties on the Western seaboard"

If you can't grasp these basic realities then I can't help you"]Who travels from Dublin 2/3 times a week for Kerry training?"]Barry O'Sullivan and jack Barry are two I can think of."]Listen fair play to them but that's not exactly a vast expense that marks Kerry out from most counties like you are trying to do. You'll get no pity points from me anyway.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 30/03/2017 14:53:46    1973186

Replying To KYTotalFootball:  "[quote=Breffni39:  "[quote=KYTotalFootball:  "Is there any mention of what the travel expenses for the year were? People say oh look Mayo / Kerry spent X amount on their IC teams without realising the biggest chunk of that is used by travelling costs which are far far higher for rural counties on the Western seaboard"

If you can't grasp these basic realities then I can't help you"]Who travels from Dublin 2/3 times a week for Kerry training?"]During the summer months Mayo players would be traveling home 3 times a week. 2 training sessions plus a game at the weekend or if no game a challenge or in house training. You add the cost to transport these players and feed them and is all adds up.

I did not start this thread to say "oh look at us and all the cost we incur" - It was more to explain and show how expense adds up. Every county will have it's expenses. Mayo's success (don't laugh but we have had success) in reaching finals, being involved in the latter stages every year means we spend alot. Although fundraising also increases because of this.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 30/03/2017 14:57:16    1973191

Throwing it out there , as there seem to be many throwing scorn on costs of running an inter county team , traverl etc then can some one tell me where they think the money goes ?

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 30/03/2017 15:06:56    1973194

Replying To KYTotalFootball:  "You do realise those Mayo players have to train for those matches??? Which involves an awful lot of travel and this doesn't happen by magic - it incurs an awful lot of time effort and expense.

Unless the people giving out want them to be further disadvantaged and do without the lads who work in Dublin and the students who go to UCD, DCU etc"
Why would they be in college in the peak summer months? Wouldn't they be at home and free to train as much as they like?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 30/03/2017 15:21:22    1973196