'Hope you're scared, coz you've every reason to be!'

One of the lines thrown out on social media today by a Mayo social media platform on hearing the news that Cormac Reilly will referee in Castlebar on Sunday.

Now, everyone on here knows that social media pages like the one in question have to be taken with a pinch of salt as they are run by a load of clowns, And I'm sure this is NOT the level of vitriol isn't shared by the majority of Mayo fans

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=268271

Read and weap!! holy jesus.

I mean, Its 3 years ago now, move on.

Cormac Reilly, like all referees, have an incredibly difficult job and I certainly don't envy them, to put a guy under so much scrutiny before a league game, let alone a championship game, is so out of order.

I know Cormac personally, He is a wonderful man with a lovely family. Quiet and unassuming, pleasant and well mannered, no airs and graces, just a normal joe with a passion for refereeing, He puts in an awful lot of work that goes unnoticed all through the years.

You'll never see anyone talk about the effort and commitment in training referees put in on the cold winters mornings, But they work just like the footballers do, And they are praised for their commitment tenfold, rightly so. But refs do it too.

I know that they understand tensions run high and they will never please everyone, But this kind of nonsense from, albeit a minority of Mayo fans is disheartening and would turn anyone off refereeing.

Wish Cormac and his officials well at the weekend. And I hope to god they don't read some of the nonsense on social media about this appointment.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 28/03/2017 15:27:37    1972309

The reaction seems a bit embarrassing. Do Mayo supporters think that they have a monopoly on being on the receiving end of a bad refereeing performance?

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 28/03/2017 15:56:59    1972331

Anyone threatening or insinuating threats to a ref should be banned from all GAA activity IMO.

However, that said, most Mayo fans have a very dim view of Reilly's abilities, and not without some justification.

The GAA should have spared Reilly and swapped him with someone else, because it's going to be one hell of a hostile atmosphere for him the next day out.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 28/03/2017 15:59:40    1972336

Cringe from the Mayo fans to be honest. Chances are any tight call will more than likely go our way on Sunday. Unfair on the ref to throw him in here but Rochford will use it to his advantage. Conor Lane was just as bad in Omagh but because we won they won't mind him reffing the next Mayo match. There is a competition among Mayo fan groups to be the biggest die hard supporter in the county and this kind of thing brings them out in force. Most of them clueless but don't question them because they spent money on tickets so it gives them the right to voice their drivel. I am just looking at the comment on Twitter, pathetic stuff, some even want to hold a peaceful protest. LOL

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7896 - 28/03/2017 16:17:36    1972348

Replying To greatpoint:  "The reaction seems a bit embarrassing. Do Mayo supporters think that they have a monopoly on being on the receiving end of a bad refereeing performance?"
3 years on. That's what makes it even more laughable. Build a bridge.

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 28/03/2017 16:24:02    1972355

Replying To Gleebo:  "Anyone threatening or insinuating threats to a ref should be banned from all GAA activity IMO.

However, that said, most Mayo fans have a very dim view of Reilly's abilities, and not without some justification.

The GAA should have spared Reilly and swapped him with someone else, because it's going to be one hell of a hostile atmosphere for him the next day out."
I haven't much time for Reilly either and don't want to see him refereeing anymore Cavan matches but I wouldn't be threatening him.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 28/03/2017 16:28:42    1972361

Replying To greatpoint:  "The reaction seems a bit embarrassing. Do Mayo supporters think that they have a monopoly on being on the receiving end of a bad refereeing performance?"
In all fairness, this was a fairly exceptional case. No excusing threats or abuse though.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 28/03/2017 16:30:43    1972365

Sorry Mayo fans, but if ye are STILL blaming refs and the like then it just shows, ye really don't get it.

Mayo have not won Sam in recent years simply because, they are not good enough
Its not a Refs fault, its not Dublin Media's fault. Its not Some mad priest who cursed ye back before Bosco was born and no one in Ireland knew what pasta was. Its not anything other than the fact that at no time in living memory have Mayo been the best team in Ireland.
Mayo fans need to stop looking for excuses and realise that to be the best, you have to beat the best, and ye haven't done it.
Simples

I'd say if James Horan was reading that he would be embarrassed.
A man who takes and listens to no BS

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 28/03/2017 16:40:59    1972373

Replying To Cavan_Slasher:  "I haven't much time for Reilly either and don't want to see him refereeing anymore Cavan matches but I wouldn't be threatening him."
Read my post again.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 28/03/2017 16:44:48    1972375

Same Banter Facebook page was sneering at Tyrone supporters last summer with some tasteless stuff. Reply showing your disapproval for that Tweet and report the page. The only way to deal with keyboard warriors who do that.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 28/03/2017 16:45:15    1972377

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Sorry Mayo fans, but if ye are STILL blaming refs and the like then it just shows, ye really don't get it.

Its not a Refs fault, its not Dublin Media's fault. Its not Some mad priest who cursed ye back before Bosco was born and no one in Ireland knew what pasta was. Its not anything other than the fact that at no time in living memory have Mayo been the best team in Ireland.
Mayo fans need to stop looking for excuses and realise that to be the best, you have to beat the best, and ye haven't done it.
Simples

A man who takes and listens to no BS"
Horan made a few himself in the wake of the Kerry defeat.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 28/03/2017 16:46:19    1972379

No place in the Gaa for this but you can
Understand why Mayo fans are P off the man.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 28/03/2017 16:47:46    1972381

Do Mayo fans think that by abusing him it's going to help their cause? May end up biting them in the a*s if the crowd turn on him.

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 28/03/2017 16:48:19    1972383

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Sorry Mayo fans, but if ye are STILL blaming refs and the like then it just shows, ye really don't get it.

Simples

A man who takes and listens to no BS"
I must be getting old when I agree with one of your posts Liam! We need to work on what we can and forget about refs, injuries, venue, selectors and go out and do it on the biggest day. I'm convinced the players concentrate on what they can learn and get better at. Supporters should get behind them and the management.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 28/03/2017 16:50:19    1972385

Replying To Gleebo:  "Anyone threatening or insinuating threats to a ref should be banned from all GAA activity IMO.

The GAA should have spared Reilly and swapped him with someone else, because it's going to be one hell of a hostile atmosphere for him the next day out."
Most GAA fans have a dim view on Mayos ability to get over the line.

Suck it up and get on with it, always the victim!

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 28/03/2017 16:53:10    1972388

This sort of thing isn't confined to Mayo fans, incidentally. Ask Galway fans about what they think about John Denton, Clare supporters about Jimmy Cooney, Tyrone fans about Paddy Russell etc. and you'll probably get some quick and heated answers. The difference is that in the Internet age, any gombeen can make bellicose or threatening remarks and quickly poison the atmosphere of a game.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 28/03/2017 16:55:40    1972390

Replying To Gleebo:  "Read my post again."
I was agreeing with your post.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 28/03/2017 17:08:36    1972399

Replying To redhanddefender:  "Most GAA fans have a dim view on Mayos ability to get over the line.

Suck it up and get on with it, always the victim!"
Tyrone fans would be better off focusing on their own team's failings at present. I seem to remember there were a fair few cries of victimisation from your lads the last couple of times we met them in the championship...

Again, for those that are hard of reading:

1. Anyone who threatens a ref should be banned from all GAA activity.

2. Stating this does not mean that Cormac Reilly is a good referee.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 28/03/2017 17:18:16    1972405

Replying To Cavan_Slasher:  "I was agreeing with your post."
Sorry, seemed to me as if you were suggesting that I deem it ok to threaten a match official.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 28/03/2017 17:21:10    1972407

Replying To Gleebo:  "This sort of thing isn't confined to Mayo fans, incidentally. Ask Galway fans about what they think about John Denton, Clare supporters about Jimmy Cooney, Tyrone fans about Paddy Russell etc. and you'll probably get some quick and heated answers. The difference is that in the Internet age, any gombeen can make bellicose or threatening remarks and quickly poison the atmosphere of a game."
Fair point

(ask everton fans about Pierluigi Collina, the fella we are all supposed to love!)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 28/03/2017 17:23:54    1972410