TheMaster County: Mayo Posts: 4370
12042. I am saying split them 50-50, gives the dubs 2 weeks (just a random figure before anyone jumps on it) to buy their half, and give mayo 4 weeks to buy theres.
The dubs play every single game on the same pitch, they would know it inside-out. They can build their gameplan to suit its wide open spaces, and never have to worry about changing tac to play on a tight pitch with a bad surface. Are you really that stubborn that you cant just admit that it is an advantage?
I already said playing at home was an advantage against the weaker counties, not so much against the stronger teams who relish playing in croker ,but you chose to ignore that , probably the answer didnt suit your arguement, if tickets are split 50 50 if wouldnt matter how many weeks you have to buy them, as for dublin playing on big wide open spaces ,go and check pitch sizes you might be suprised what the size of the pitch actually is.
Just wondering are we home or away on sunday THE MASTER.
AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 28/06/2012 21:55:39
Uh oh, Jason Ryan is going to upset the poor Dubs with his comments now. The nerve of that fella eh Joxer, questioning yous and all tha?
Bosco (Carlow) - Posts: 664 - 29/06/2012 10:08:40
"In that period, when combining the 11 other Leinster counties, there have been eight instances of a team playing at home. At this stage it is farcical and no other sporting organisation of the size of the GAA, anywhere in the world, favours a team so obviously in what is a crucial area."
Jaysus, never thought the statistic would be that pronounced. Dublin can't be blamed for that statistic though.
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 29/06/2012 10:28:08
lochgarmanabu County: Wexford Posts: 747
1204497 Joxer the only relevant stat that I know is: 25% of the population, nearly all matches at home and 1 in 15.
Our home ground is Parnell Park. Did you not know that? My 5 year old asked me the other day why China were not the FIFA WC champions. So in your estimation the pecking order in hurling and football, or indeed any sport, should be representative of the population in each county. That sounds like Bosco logic to be honest. In fact I believe that Bosco referred to the population stat in a previous mail.
As Bosco thankfully pointed out, it's a sad indictment that Dublin have only won one Sam in the past 15 years when they play all of their home games at "home". Surely we would have won a lot more had there been such a big advantage. Again can you explain where the advantage is to me?
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4749 - 29/06/2012 11:04:40
Bosco County: Carlow Posts: 335
1204690 Uh oh, Jason Ryan is going to upset the poor Dubs with his comments now. The nerve of that fella eh Joxer, questioning yous and all tha?
In fairness Bosco, Jason is alright. I wouldn't have a bad word to say about any manager or county for that matter. Unlike some others obviuosly. The only thing that matters on Sunday is the scoreboard. I don't hear any Dub mentors or players spouting on to the press. We'll do our talking on the pitch. And if we don't then we will have only ourselves to blame and a tougher task in the qualifiers which will hopefully put you back in your box for a while as we will be playing outside the capital no doubt.
Anyway, the All Ireland champions are back in town on Sunday so let's see what happens, eh Bosco. You never know you may have reasons to gloat and WUM which is of course is all your after really. Really looking forward to another home game and full house. It's great!!
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4749 - 29/06/2012 11:18:04
I don't know about the rest of the Dubs but I for one am outraged by Jason Ryans latest comments!! Very irresponsible to be adding fuel to the fire of what is a MAJOR issue
NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 29/06/2012 11:38:39
Bosco County: Carlow Posts: 335
1204690 Uh oh, Jason Ryan is going to upset the poor Dubs with his comments now. The nerve of that fella eh Joxer, questioning yous and all tha?
Its the ones outside of Dublin that seem to be upset! Its you lot that are whinging. Do you mind me asking what age you are?
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 29/06/2012 11:41:27
Ah Joxer, wise up will ya? I'm no more a wind up merchant than yourself and there's nothing wrong with a bit of craic now and then but it is myopic to suggest that having by a long long way the biggest population, biggest support and every single game at what is to all intents and purposes a home venue. Compare your own county's resources with that of mine. It's a total mismatch and gives us really no chance of success against your resources. That's not Dublin's fault I accept it's county boundaries and population figures etc but then for you to get home advantage all the time on top of it is really unfair you must see that. Dublin for all the posturing of fans on here and elsewhere and looking down there noses at those outside the pale have hugely under achieved despite all said advantages. It might not matter too much to Meath in Leinster that you have home advantage but it matters to all others, Kildare included. You wouldn't have won as many Leinsters in the last 10 years without that advantage, that is my contention. Your Chinese analogy is not applicable either as soccer is not culturally part of the fabric of china just like cricket is not so hot in Brazil. We're on a tiny island where a huge proportion of the support and playing population are in one county where the association is just as strong if not stronger than most other places. Explain that to the young fella. Like I said it's a sad indictment that you've won so little despite these advantages. You think all these things are dragging you down, try doing something with the resources available in Carlow, Leitrim, Longford, Westmeath, Laois etc. in hurling, Kilkenny are the exception that proves the rule, they are exceptional as in not the usual? Do you agree? Finally, of course I hope Wexford win and I'll be delighted if they do, course I will, what's to be ashamed of in that? Do they root for the underdog in China? What about the indigenous people's of the outback, back of beyond or the never never?
Bosco (Carlow) - Posts: 664 - 29/06/2012 11:57:13
Culann County: Dublin Posts: 322
1204781 Bosco County: Carlow Posts: 335
Its the ones outside of Dublin that seem to be upset! Its you lot that are whinging. Do you mind me asking what age you are?
Wait until he rummages around for the abacus Culann!
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4749 - 29/06/2012 12:00:23
Culann, I need more granularity, reading age, chronological age, training age, age related intellectual capacity? Of course I recognize your attempt here, you'll have to do much better than that. Never mind me now and have a word with Navyblue there, he needs some emotional support it seems, he's outraged.
Bosco (Carlow) - Posts: 664 - 29/06/2012 12:02:23
I have a feeling the Wexford lads could be eating those badly chosen words in and around 5.30pm Sunday!
lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 29/06/2012 12:46:54
"Your Chinese analogy is not applicable either as soccer is not culturally part of the fabric of china just like cricket is not so hot in "
Bosco you've made my point again. It is very, very naive of you to think that GAA is an integral part of the cultural fabric in Dublin. In fact soccer is played by greater numbers in Dublin (4 times more people in the centre). Dublin's population is very diverse. For example in the inner city the non-national population outstrips the indigenous population by 55% -> 45% in some areas. It is no co-incidence that Dublin were at their height in GAA terms in the 70s when there were a lot less "distractions" and GAA was then a part of the city's make-up, much like the church. Sadly that has changed greatly in the past few decades.
In fact in Dublin GAA Football is only the EIGHT most popular sporting activity.
It could be argued that GAA (football) is very much part of Kerry culture for example and that is why they are so successful and why Cork, Galway, Limerick etc. have not been. You see the population statistic is very false. So too is your notion of Dublin fans "looking down" their noses at other ounties "outside of the pale". I presume that this is yet another attempt to WUM but alas you fail again. In fact Dublin fans have a very good reputation. Why would we look down at other fans anyway? We've only won one trophy of significance in the last 15 years as you rightly point out.
You're some wind-up merchant Bosco but you need more substance to your arguments rather than just wildly tossing slurs at the Dubs.
Having said that Dublin have 23 Sams in the bag and are the second most successful county in footballing terms. So good for us and up the Dubs!
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4749 - 29/06/2012 12:51:16
Joxer Dublin fans have a very good reputation? amongst Dubs maybe? I'm honestly not trying to wind you up. All of the issues you mention there are not peculiar to Dunlin you know. Stop, think and then post. Abacus jibe was poor by the way.
Bosco (Carlow) - Posts: 664 - 29/06/2012 13:01:05
Still no arguments Bosco and just generalisations once again. No statistics just personalising things again and having a go at the Dubs. Aimless jibes hoping for a vitriolic reaction. I guess you are new to the forum and you've never checked any of the "best fans" threads before. Dublin fans are well respected. Just ask Loyal! Obviously this hurts you but it's true.
Now seriously, what age are you?
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4749 - 29/06/2012 13:24:50
"In that period, when combining the 11 other Leinster counties, there have been eight instances of a team playing at home. At this stage it is farcical and no other sporting organisation of the size of the GAA, anywhere in the world, favours a team so obviously in what is a crucial area."
Jaysus, never thought the statistic would be that pronounced. Dublin can't be blamed for that statistic though.
Yeah, I would agree. None of this is Dublin's fault but they do benefit from it. I think everyone is watching too much Sky Sports News if they think what Doyle said is controversial. He's a grown man, was asked a question and answered it straight. We all give out about boring interviews and sports people spouting out cliches but the minute someone talks with a bit of honesty we slam them for stirring trouble. When all is said and done, regardless of the outcome in their match on Sunday, if it opens the Leinster Council's eyes to the issue it can only be a good thing.
doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 29/06/2012 13:52:46
I can see the reasoning behind playing say a dublin v kildare/meath game in croker but in fairness its a bit much to continually ask wexford to play away to the dubs each time they meet. It baffles me that some dublin posters are trying to defend this as not being of any advantage to dublin.
Joxer what are the other 7 sports which are more popular in Dublin than football. Many of the issues you mentioned are also applicable to other counties particularly where cities form the main population hub of the county.
tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 29/06/2012 14:06:20
doublehop - it opens the Leinster Councils eyes to the the issue??? What issue, that Dublin havent played a home game since when? Or that there is no viable alternative venue in Leinster for a Dublin Football match???
TheMaster, Bosco etc etc....
You all have selective reading techniques on this. I understand you wanna rub the Dubs up etc... but when you are trying to validate your argument you cant use context and then refuse to allow other posters use of it.
I wrote two posts explaining the realities economically, faced by the GAA and counties. Like Bosco talks about Dublins "Resources"....As the Notorious B.I.G. once said "Mo money, mo problems". Like I dont wanna repeat myself here but Dublin are playing two codes, and to a decent level in recent years, Dublin have pumped massive amounts of money into underage teams and development of the games. The numbers game demands huge resources, so the amount of sponsorhip and resources etc Dublin have is relative to how much they have to spend on the development. Carlow dont have the same numbers to work with; but that means they spend less on development etc. ........ So basically its all relative! Dublin have the added problem that Gaelic Sports are not the number one sport in Dublin, soccer is. I know soccer is played in most towns across the country but probably not to the same extent as in Dublin. Now other posters are no doubt gonna pick parts of what Im saying and write it down out of contest and give BS comments.......but I deal with the reality.
Croke Park is an advantage no doubt to Dublin; but Dublin dont make that choice and the Leinster Council and the GAA community need a full Croke Park to pay the bills. Thats just the reality, and until the GAA decide to devleop a 60000-80000 Capacity stadium in the Midlands we are stuck between a rock and a hard place here: Dublin support pays the bills!!! And Croke Park, located on Jones Rd. in Dublin is the only GAA venue viable for a Dublin home game. The GAA are not, and in my view, should not, lose out on millions that could help small clubs and projects all around the country because a few people think Dublin have HOME advantage at Croke Park. Its that simple.
Ticketing: TheMaster feels Mayo should get first pick on tickets when they play a decent team now and then....Ive addressed this issue!!!
Cute_kerry_hoor : I wasnt picking on Kerry with my post the other day; I fully understand the logistics and cost of travelling to and from Kerry. I was just making the point that if 50000 Dubs turn up for a quarter/semi etc....if tickets are then allocated to a county whose support didnt travel for a quarter etc than that MIGHT be deemed unfair. It was an attempt to explain to TheMaster that nothing is fair really.....and that you cant keep everybody happy.
JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 29/06/2012 14:20:07
TheMaster....
I explained a way to allocate tickets based on the latter rounds of the AI series....you said 30000 fans turned up for Dublins opening Leinster game versus Louth...so Im assuming you want Mayos allocation for the year to be the amount who turned up to their first round game in Connaught Championship........No???? Nah didnt think so, an allocation like that would give whoever you were playing home advantage if you make the latter rounds of this years championship...as youd probably be allocated 4000 tickets based on your opening championship game. You make irrelivent nonsensical points with no real argument or alternative to back it up. Someone gives you a scenario or possible way to do something and you dismiss it straight off.
JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 29/06/2012 14:25:40
tj09 County: Cork Posts: 444
1204936 I can see the reasoning behind playing say a dublin v kildare/meath game in croker but in fairness its a bit much to continually ask wexford to play away to the dubs each time they meet. It baffles me that some dublin posters are trying to defend this as not being of any advantage to dublin.
Joxer what are the other 7 sports which are more popular in Dublin than football. Many of the issues you mentioned are also applicable to other counties particularly where cities form the main population hub of the county.
TJ09 - never once did I argue that it wasn't an advantage or at least that it didn't have it's pros but there are certainly a lot of cons for Dublin when they play in CP. Witness the capitulations against Tyrone, Kerry, Meath under intense pressure, expectation and media spotlight. No other team has to contend with this and I have no doubt that playing away from Croker would take a lot of pressure off the lads. On Sunday 3 sets of supporters will be cheering for Wexford, 1 set for Dublin. Dublin players will be castigated by the media, TV pundits and the fans if they lose. They will get no thanks if they win whereas Wexford will be heroes. I know that some people have tunnel vision on this and look at it very simplistically.....population, ground in Dublin... and that has it's pros but the reality is different for the players. When Dublin faced Kerry in the AI final last year. The Kerry players versus the young Dubs had more experience at playing in CP than Dublin did. The argument is not black and white. Although some think it is.
The other sports ahead of Gaelic Football in Dublin are.....Swimming Soccer Exercise Golf Jogging Cycling Rugby.....per ESRI survey.
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4749 - 29/06/2012 14:59:45
Thats right Joxer, everybody else has tunnel vision except you.
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 29/06/2012 15:11:31