NHL 1A & 1B

Replying To mike03:  "You're right. Promotion means feck all if you go out early in the championship. I'd take beating ye in a few months over promotion any day of the week. And I'm guessing likewise you'd take a decent Summer over winning the league last year. The league only matters while it's on because it gives fellas something to talk about. But in the bigger scheme of things form and results in Feb and March aren't even thought about come June. I couldn't care less if we are another 100 years in 1b. Championship is all that matters."
That is a laudible attitude, but still most teams who take Liam home in September ply their trade in 1A. 2013 was of course an anomaly to that.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 21/02/2017 10:06:42    1959024

Replying To Pinkie:  "That is a laudible attitude, but still most teams who take Liam home in September ply their trade in 1A. 2013 was of course an anomaly to that."
Well as only 2 teams bar Clare have won it since 1a and b were introduced it's hard to judge. For our sake we a better off in 1b. Average of of our panel is just over 21 and have given about 10 or 11 debuts in 2 weeks this year. We wouldn't be able to do that in 1a.

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 21/02/2017 13:43:40    1959143

so did dublin mike03,and they bet cork away in what could be a vital game.
i really hope we can win this league and get out of it.i am sick of seeing the same teams every year,i want kilkenny and tipp in the park and if they beat us,well so be it.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 21/02/2017 14:11:50    1959161

Oldtourman
Good to hear..always have a love for limerick 73 team..mossies bundled goal in the final will always be a memory..and as far as I know mossie was one of the first with the newer style Cooper helmets that time

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 736 - 21/02/2017 14:17:26    1959164

Replying To perfect10:  "so did dublin mike03,and they bet cork away in what could be a vital game.
i really hope we can win this league and get out of it.i am sick of seeing the same teams every year,i want kilkenny and tipp in the park and if they beat us,well so be it."
agree there, if we are promoted and nobody else wants a league title we will gladly accept it but I think at this stage Tipp have already decided that they want to stamp their authority on Hurling for 2017 and will be gunning for the League.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1804 - 21/02/2017 15:05:06    1959184

Replying To Pinkie:  "That is a laudible attitude, but still most teams who take Liam home in September ply their trade in 1A. 2013 was of course an anomaly to that."
Pinkie
I actually think Clare were in 1A in 2013 and survived in it by beating Cork in a replayed play off. The following year they lost a religation battle with Kilkenny.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 21/02/2017 17:48:24    1959275

Replying To perfect10:  "so did dublin mike03,and they bet cork away in what could be a vital game.
i really hope we can win this league and get out of it.i am sick of seeing the same teams every year,i want kilkenny and tipp in the park and if they beat us,well so be it."
I agree there. You actually wouldn't care what division you're in just to see someone different. No offence meant in any way but I'm sick of looking at ye :) I'm sure Laois and the likes are sick of us too.

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 21/02/2017 18:49:07    1959307

Replying To tonydoranfan:  "sorry, 1997 all ireland final was the first back door year not 96 as i stated.
97 should of been clare and wexford. Tipp beat wexford in semi final after clare beat them in munster.

wexford offaly clare and limerick contested three finals in a row between them from 94 to 96, pity limerick didnt win at least one final as Carey played his heart out in two finals, some hurler"
Tony
Sorry. I misread what on reflection should have been obvious.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 21/02/2017 21:39:29    1959369

Replying To county man:  "Some truth in this, but the likes of Limerick, Wexford and Offaly to a lesser extent given the small number of clubs, can't just blame "the GAA" for us being in division 2 for years and doing nothing in the championship (except 2014 for us). We need to look at our own counties structures & failings there too. There have been years when Dublin, Clare & Waterford have been in division 2 and we weren't good enough to beat them.

We are not as big cash cows for the GAA as the big 3 but neither are Waterford and Clare and look how much they've done and how far they are ahead of us."
You could have mentioned that Limerick beat both Cork and Tipp in Munster in 13, something that our hurlers had only done once in the same season in about a hundred years.
I do agree with you re our conty board. For a couple decades very little was put into under age hurling, and less into football, in this county, while our board officials seemed obsessed with building a huge pitch, which is so seldom filled.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 21/02/2017 21:46:11    1959372

Replying To county man:  "Some truth in this, but the likes of Limerick, Wexford and Offaly to a lesser extent given the small number of clubs, can't just blame "the GAA" for us being in division 2 for years and doing nothing in the championship (except 2014 for us). We need to look at our own counties structures & failings there too. There have been years when Dublin, Clare & Waterford have been in division 2 and we weren't good enough to beat them.

We are not as big cash cows for the GAA as the big 3 but neither are Waterford and Clare and look how much they've done and how far they are ahead of us."
You could have mentioned that Limerick beat both Cork and Tipp in Munster in 13, something that our hurlers had only done once in the same season in about a hundred years.
I do agree with you re our conty board. For a couple decades very little was put into under age hurling, and less into football, in this county, while our board officials seemed obsessed with building a huge pitch, which is so seldom filled.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 21/02/2017 21:46:58    1959373

lads,are the big 3 really bigger cash cows for the gaa?surely wexford,limerick,clare bring just as big a crowd as the big 3.
and the neutral interest in a hurling final involving anybody outside the big 3 would be far bigger than a final involving tipp and kilkenny.
i know for 1,kilkenny do not bring half the crowd any of wexford,galway,clare,etc bring.
i think paranoia might be hitting home?

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 21/02/2017 22:04:31    1959385

Replying To perfect10:  "lads,are the big 3 really bigger cash cows for the gaa?surely wexford,limerick,clare bring just as big a crowd as the big 3.
and the neutral interest in a hurling final involving anybody outside the big 3 would be far bigger than a final involving tipp and kilkenny.
i know for 1,kilkenny do not bring half the crowd any of wexford,galway,clare,etc bring.
i think paranoia might be hitting home?"
Limerick in fairness probably have the largest support. I remember the first round of division 2 league in 2011 in Ennis, Limerick had a huge crowd there (Clare were dreadful the same day - worst Clare performance I ever saw)

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 22/02/2017 01:08:10    1959436

Replying To perfect10:  "lads,are the big 3 really bigger cash cows for the gaa?surely wexford,limerick,clare bring just as big a crowd as the big 3.
A lot of Clare fans love the bandwagon.....although I think you could say that about any county.

Maybe KK fans will start going to more games if they are not guaranteed a final appearance every year.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 22/02/2017 01:09:14    1959437

Replying To mike03:  "Well as only 2 teams bar Clare have won it since 1a and b were introduced it's hard to judge. For our sake we a better off in 1b. Average of of our panel is just over 21 and have given about 10 or 11 debuts in 2 weeks this year. We wouldn't be able to do that in 1a."
Not sure I agree with this. No problems with being in 1b for a year or two or max three. But 7-8 years down there will impact the level of hurling your team can produce....of that there is no doubt.

However, the fact that the top 4 from 1B get into the semis at least will give Limerick and Galway a good tough challenge.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 22/02/2017 01:12:00    1959438

The current league format has made it more competitive & interesting than in years. You never hear any manager now saying 'it's only the league'.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 23/02/2017 11:04:06    1959809

Replying To keeper7:  "The current league format has made it more competitive & interesting than in years. You never hear any manager now saying 'it's only the league'."
1a format works. The rest dont. 1b is over in the space of a week. No other sport has a league that fizzles out before half the season is played. They should bring back the promotion play off and reward whoever tops the group with home advantage.

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 25/02/2017 07:02:42    1960372

They would bring just as much or more if we could actually get to a few big games!

ColinWex (Wexford) - Posts: 901 - 25/02/2017 10:31:39    1960385

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "A lot of Clare fans love the bandwagon.....although I think you could say that about any county.

Maybe KK fans will start going to more games if they are not guaranteed a final appearance every year."
It would actually be very interesting to see how KK fans would go if they have 5 or 6 years of downtime. How loyal would they be?

ColinWex (Wexford) - Posts: 901 - 25/02/2017 10:37:54    1960388

Replying To mike03:  "1a format works. The rest dont. 1b is over in the space of a week. No other sport has a league that fizzles out before half the season is played. They should bring back the promotion play off and reward whoever tops the group with home advantage."
Is that not just bec Wexford upset the applecart by beating the 2 favourites in the first 2 rounds? Nothing guaranteed yet anyway.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 25/02/2017 11:20:14    1960402

Tipperary v Kilkenny
Clare v Dublin
Waterford v Cork
Laois v Limerick
Kerry v Galway
Offaly v Wexford
Going to go for all home wins in 1A and away wins in 1B. I'd expect the game in Thurles to be fairly even. Tipps subs may edge them through. There won't be any more than 3 points in this either way. Potential to be the game of the league so far. KK are most definitely not gone any where yet. It's a huge game for Tipp too as they fill they need to win this and put in a performance for people and themselves to believe they can regularly beat KK. It'll be close either way
On all current form and I'd expect the home venues to ensure Clare and Waterford win but don't be surprised to see Cork push Waterford all the way.
Limerick will beat Laois but won't be a complete walk in the park. Galway will probably win very comfortably and Offaly will raise there game against Wexford - this to me could be the game most likely to be an upset.

Thoughts?

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 09/03/2017 12:02:02    1965641