Dublin v Kildare

Furlong1949 fair play to you boy, your passion has won me over, I found your first few posts very annoying but I have to admire your perserverance, commitment and passion, and in fairness you know your stuff too, and there is a lot of truth in what you have said, If you played the game in the same way i can only imagine you were some determined hoor that would take your life. If we bring the same passion on Sunday we will be in with a shout! Cill Dara Abu

NorthKildare (Kildare) - Posts: 197 - 12/07/2017 02:06:48    2015354

Replying To Furlong1949:  "I will finish with this . I hope you win on Saturday. But I don't get the feeling from Kildare fans and teams the feeling you get from Meath v Dublin Galway v Mayo Kilkenny v Tipp Tyrone v Armagh. The bite the edge . Listen it's no longer between Meach and Dublin. Meath and Dublin is just a nostalgia trip. Memories of great battles in the past. But to beat Dublin you need to bring a battle driven team to the edge. This Kildare team are seriously talented group. Feehily can become the best midfielder in Ireland. I would say Doyle is already one of the best centre backs. Kelly is the best centre forward since Tompkins Kildare have produced. While the 2 Flynn and McCormack are as good as inside forward Kildare ever produced. Future all stars. O Neill is an impressive guy. But do they have what the lowrys and O Connors had with Offaly in the 80s. What O Rourke and Lyons Giles and Gerathy had in the 90s. What Ryan and Dalton had in the 90s. All willing to go through brick walls to beat Dublin. Dwyer has managered 3 teams to beat Dublina in leinster Paudi O Se managed the only other victory over Dublin in leinster in 30 years. Outside Mesth in last 30 years only kerry men have leinster teams to victory over Dublin. Kerry men like Dwyer was obsessed with Dublin . Only Sean Boylan has beaten Dublin more. It's that drive you need to topple . That drive and passion that has driven Meath football in the past. Mick Lyons said he was willing to put us life on the line to beat Dublin. I know people will twist this say Lyons did this or that. But still it is a statement that sums the Meath teams of 80s and 90s. Before the leinster final in 1964. Three Quinn brothers were on their team. Their father was on his deathbed. The three brothers did not think they should play. Their father told them go outo and beat Dublin. All three played in the final And Meath produced Meaths greatst performance ever in a leinster final. That's what it meant to Meath in the past. It does not anymore. We have lost that. why that's another story. But the fact is its your turn Kildare it's your turn to take the v fight Dublin yoy have the players. Now it all about the mentality the intensity. Play with the intensity you always bring to playing Meath. And your more then half way to winning on Sunday.
Good luck on Sunday. I hope you beat them. If you do I will go for a few pints in Maynooth or Kilcock Sunday night. Kildare will be the place to be if you win the title on Sunday."
Fightin talk there Furlong. The best football is often played off the field though and you'd have a few medals won no doubt if they gave them out for talk I'd say.
Kildare will be underdogs for certain on Sunday and will not lack motivation. They have the fitness levels I'd say but I'm not sure if that will be nearly enough. Meath don't even look to have the basics at this point and are coming from a low base so it's still hard to know where Kildare stand just yet.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 12/07/2017 08:39:39    2015377

Hoping Kildare can give it a good rattle just to see a decent contest at least on Sunday. Think Dublin will pull away in the end cos they have a massive squad with at least 2 quality players for every position. Look back over the last few years any time Dublin have been pushed to the edge it's their quality bench that pulls the through. Looking forward to a very good game on Sunday.

Weary (None) - Posts: 249 - 12/07/2017 09:05:57    2015389

Concentrating on the teams for a minute. Regarding Dublin, any changes expected?

What's the latest with MDMA? JG said back in June "Himself and a good few other players are back on that path to return to play," ...so is he or young Costello available again?

I guess for Kildare, they will only consider changes to combat the Dublin threat.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 12/07/2017 11:44:16    2015474

I guess for Kildare, they will only consider changes to combat the Dublin threat.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts:184 - 12/07/2017

Pffft...

What threat?

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 12/07/2017 11:54:44    2015482

Can someone tell me where Cormac Costello has disappeared to this time? Is he making the match day panels?

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 12/07/2017 12:04:28    2015492

Replying To poguemahone:  "Concentrating on the teams for a minute. Regarding Dublin, any changes expected?

What's the latest with MDMA? JG said back in June "Himself and a good few other players are back on that path to return to play," ...so is he or young Costello available again?

I guess for Kildare, they will only consider changes to combat the Dublin threat."
Only potential change I can see is Paul Cribben coming back in for Slattery, who would be unlucky to lose out given his performance last day.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 12/07/2017 12:56:32    2015534

Replying To tiobraid:  "Can someone tell me where Cormac Costello has disappeared to this time? Is he making the match day panels?"
Injured. Listed to miss start of the championship but not sure of his status now.

Some impact in last year's final replay. especially considering how little game time he had up to that point.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 12/07/2017 13:07:50    2015545

Neil Flynn & Paul Cribbin will be back in contention for starting, Cribbin possibly to start instead of Slattery, who would then be a good pacy option to bring on in 2nd half, maybe same for Neil Flynn/McNally,

NorthKildare (Kildare) - Posts: 197 - 12/07/2017 13:33:25    2015564

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "I guess for Kildare, they will only consider changes to combat the Dublin threat.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts:184 - 12/07/2017

Pffft...

What threat?"
:)...ah don't know, could be the occasion for some of the young lads to stake a claim in the team. Although a lot of folk tell us that it is just athleticism that Kildare need to worry about. Hardly any actual talent in the Dublin team.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 12/07/2017 14:23:14    2015609

Dubs by 6 after a frantic game with 4 sendings off and one decapitated linesman
CCCC be busy Monday

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 12/07/2017 14:40:23    2015620

48k tickets sold so far i heard. Not sure how accurate that is. Alot of people i know who are travellin up havnt bought tickets yet so 60-65k would seem possible.

11jm11 (Kildare) - Posts: 365 - 12/07/2017 16:21:00    2015686

Replying To poguemahone:  "Injured. Listed to miss start of the championship but not sure of his status now.

Some impact in last year's final replay. especially considering how little game time he had up to that point."
Gavin announced a fully fit panel today so fingers crossed he might get some game time.

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 12/07/2017 16:42:42    2015696

Replying To KildareKelly:  "I think there's something wrong with my phone. My link to HoganStand keeps directing me to something called Furlong1949.com."
Ha ha.
Funniest thing i have read in a long time.

Dr.Watson (Kildare) - Posts: 208 - 12/07/2017 17:34:53    2015726

25 lids for my hill ticket.

35 for stand, 40 on the day of the game.

Not a criticism but have the prices gone up ? I cant for the life of me remember ever paying 25 lids in to a game in leinster.

Definitely cant remember (apart from the league) tickets being bought on the day being more expensive ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 12/07/2017 17:47:58    2015733

Replying To waynoI:  "25 lids for my hill ticket.

Not a criticism but have the prices gone up ? I cant for the life of me remember ever paying 25 lids in to a game in leinster.

Definitely cant remember (apart from the league) tickets being bought on the day being more expensive ?"
I never heard of tickets being more expensive on the day either.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2990 - 12/07/2017 18:11:29    2015748

Definitely cant remember (apart from the league) tickets being bought on the day being more expensive ?"
I was looking at the season ticket pricing email for this game the other day and thought the same thing. Expensive for this time of year.

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 12/07/2017 18:19:52    2015757

Replying To tiobraid:  "Can someone tell me where Cormac Costello has disappeared to this time? Is he making the match day panels?"
He's had hamstring issues, not sure when he'll be back. Soon hopefully

Hill16Army (Dublin) - Posts: 88 - 12/07/2017 18:27:55    2015761

Might want to start going to a few more games then sir. Been like that all year and been that way in the league for the last 2 or 3 years.

Is the weather forecast good for Sunday or something?

SallinsMan (Kildare) - Posts: 77 - 12/07/2017 20:39:58    2015807

Replying To Marse:  "I was looking at the season ticket pricing email for this game the other day and thought the same thing. Expensive for this time of year."
Yeah and with the "pay and play" option on the season ticket it used to give a €5 discount too for the games except for the All Ireland final too?

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 12/07/2017 21:24:27    2015823