Dr Crokes vs S'neil

Replying To clondalkindub:  "So the Nordies (mainly Tyrone and Donegal) bring in puke football and I slate It all the nordy posters destroy me on here tell me to get with the time yet when Dr Crokes copy the nordy style yesterday all the nordies are crying saying it was puke football and how cynical Crokes were haha you couldn't make it up ,yes Crokes played puke football and we're cynical but you's seemed to have no problem with your county team playing the exact same style the last decade. Well done Gooch you deserve your club all Ireland now you should retire cause your a shadow of the great player you once were in my own opinion. Also Rodgers full back you couldn't win it all on your own but you nearly did he was outstanding, one last thing number 5 in hurling threw a punch no booking even, in football it's a red card , we've gone so soft it's ridiculous."
One of a. Very few t make sense - well said enjoy Tralee tonight and safe journey up and down

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 18/03/2017 10:53:54    1968078

Green thumb bandits out in force

;)

Lads we're Dubs, your so call hard areas will look like Butlins to us

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/03/2017 11:34:00    1968089

Replying To clondalkindub:  "So the Nordies (mainly Tyrone and Donegal) bring in puke football and I slate It all the nordy posters destroy me on here tell me to get with the time yet when Dr Crokes copy the nordy style yesterday all the nordies are crying saying it was puke football and how cynical Crokes were haha you couldn't make it up ,yes Crokes played puke football and we're cynical but you's seemed to have no problem with your county team playing the exact same style the last decade. Well done Gooch you deserve your club all Ireland now you should retire cause your a shadow of the great player you once were in my own opinion. Also Rodgers full back you couldn't win it all on your own but you nearly did he was outstanding, one last thing number 5 in hurling threw a punch no booking even, in football it's a red card , we've gone so soft it's ridiculous."
Another man who can't differentiate between defensive tactics and systematic fouling tactics.

Let's just use the word 'cynical' for defensive-style football as well as systematic fouling. Throw it all in together and accuse northern teams of both. And then label it as cynical. Some people either don't understand football or won't see certain truths.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 18/03/2017 11:37:38    1968091

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Another man who can't differentiate between defensive tactics and systematic fouling tactics.

Let's just use the word 'cynical' for defensive-style football as well as systematic fouling. Throw it all in together and accuse northern teams of both. And then label it as cynical. Some people either don't understand football or won't see certain truths."
Its interesting the people that can't tell the difference seem to be all Kerry and Dublin fans...wonder is this lack of footballing knowledge an indicator of something.

Its really not a hard concept to understand, defensive tactics are things like blanket defense and sweepers, this is not the same as repeated off the ball fouling to spoil runners or make forwards reluctant to go for balls.

Tyrone and Donegal for example engage in defense tactics, but Tyrone are more likely to engage in cyclical play. Dubs and Kerry fans seem to have a strange obsession with defending their teams repeated fouling off the ball as "defense play" one wonders do they need a few more prescriptions at specsavers or indeed a few English lessons since they think people complaining about fouling are annoyed at defense play, my 5 year old can comprehend the language better.

Iamlegion666 (Monaghan) - Posts: 285 - 18/03/2017 11:49:06    1968093

Refereeing was incosistent overall in my opinion. Kiley from Crokes should have seen red. SNeil got the second half tactics all wrong also. Pity it was n't a draw but congrats to Croakes. Lousy football, empty stadium for it too, maybe they should bring back Railway Cup

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 18/03/2017 12:19:40    1968100

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Another man who can't differentiate between defensive tactics and systematic fouling tactics.

Let's just use the word 'cynical' for defensive-style football as well as systematic fouling. Throw it all in together and accuse northern teams of both. And then label it as cynical. Some people either don't understand football or won't see certain truths."
You don't think it's possible to be cynical AND defensive?

iarmhi_an_mhaith (Westmeath) - Posts: 268 - 18/03/2017 12:23:12    1968103

Replying To iarmhi_an_mhaith:  "You don't think it's possible to be cynical AND defensive?"
Of course it is, but the problem is some people are taking them to mean the same thing without distinction.

Iamlegion666 (Monaghan) - Posts: 285 - 18/03/2017 12:50:00    1968109

Replying To iarmhi_an_mhaith:  "You don't think it's possible to be cynical AND defensive?"
It's very possible, of course.

But when people are comparing what Crokes did yesterday to what 'Nordy' teams have done down the years and calling both approaches similarly 'cynical', well that's plain dishonest and a misrepresentation. Again, I'm not sure some folks understand the difference but I know you do.

Crokes yesterday were 'cynical' in the sense that they fouled systematically as a tactic to win the game, therefore breaking the rules continuously throughout the game. They won the game and are champions and congrats on that. But that is what happened yesterday.

When people refer to 'Nordy' teams as 'cynical', they're on about blanket defences, swarm defence, holding onto the ball with continuous hand passing... (All legal and within the rules).

If you can many specific examples of what Crokes did yesterday in their systematic fouling (cynical) approach among 'Nordy' teams from recent or not so recent years, I'll happily acknowledge it.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 18/03/2017 12:50:55    1968110

Replying To KYTotalFootball:  "Donegal tried open football against us this year for the first and last time this year and got eviscerated while doing so, we'd only love Ulster teams to have the courage to play man on man but alas they stay in their shells and play guerilla warfare"
Ok then let's see Kerry go man with the Dubs and see how that works out. If my memory serves me right 2013 was the last time kerry had the balls to take them on.

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 18/03/2017 13:18:04    1968116

Dr Crokes lucky yesterday. But they were involved in a lot of semis over the last few years. So I don't begrudge them their victory. Tough luck on Slaughtneil though. But they have camogie title.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 18/03/2017 13:18:46    1968117

Replying To KYTotalFootball:  "You can keep crying about if you want to it won't change the result, we have had numerous coulda woulda shuddas down the years and no one ever has any time for it.

If the opposition decide the to sit in their shells and play guerilla warfare you have to defend against it and unfortunately no one would argue it's a pretty sight

Look at Dublin since 2014, and their games vs Ulster opposition Vs non Ulster opposition the difference is night and day. Unless the GAA do something drastic nothing will change and the usual suspects will try and block and mention of a change and tell us everything is fine"
You still missed the point, Kerry and the Dubs are negative and cynical as any of the northern teams.

EDH (Galway) - Posts: 367 - 18/03/2017 13:28:00    1968120

You throw the term 'Nordy/Nordies' about in real derogatory way.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 18/03/2017 13:50:45    1968124

You won't hear ANY criticism of Crokes or the officials from south of the border. For the media and many within the GAA it's job done end of. The 'Nordie' crowd were beaten and it doesn't matter how it was done.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 18/03/2017 13:56:27    1968126

You still missed the point, Kerry and the Dubs are negative and cynical as any of the northern teams.
EDH (Galway)

You are indeed correct but you are wasting your time trying to explain that. Too many Refs today are very easy to fool and it is done all the time by experienced players who get away with continuous fouling. The guy with the whistle yesterday decided the outcome of the game as some of those incidents with head high tackles /fouls in the first half would have resulted in players being side lined if it were a game of rugby.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 18/03/2017 13:58:34    1968127

Mickey Whelan is right - ban the handpass altogether . I don't know how much longer I can take this. You can see how crokes avoided black cards yesterday . it can only be black , if a guy is dragged to the ground . when you cynically foul somebody , just hold him upright and basically, your grand. Deegan did a good job yesterday, in the constraints of a substandard rule book.

Micklow (Wicklow) - Posts: 118 - 18/03/2017 14:04:19    1968130

Replying To Micklow:  "Mickey Whelan is right - ban the handpass altogether . I don't know how much longer I can take this. You can see how crokes avoided black cards yesterday . it can only be black , if a guy is dragged to the ground . when you cynically foul somebody , just hold him upright and basically, your grand. Deegan did a good job yesterday, in the constraints of a substandard rule book."
Ban the handpass? So no more running games? Constant fouling when a long ball/high ball is played in? No thanks.

Iamlegion666 (Monaghan) - Posts: 285 - 18/03/2017 14:24:29    1968134

Replying To icehonesty:  "Dr Crokes tactical, non-stop fouling was brutal to watch. Refereeing was poor in my opinion, allowing foul after foul. Crokes centre-forward must have given away 7 or 8 fouls in the first half alone."
Chrissy McKaigue must have been fouled at least a dozen times. Referee missed stamp by O'Leary before he went down like bag of spuds for red card.Crokes systematic fouling paid off in Corofin and Slaughtneil paid off.Hopefully referees will look out for in Kerry games later in years. When Dublin, Mayo and Ulster sides cynical tactics are highlighted but Kerry always seem to escape censure.

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 18/03/2017 14:53:04    1968142

Replying To Ulsterman:  "You won't hear ANY criticism of Crokes or the officials from south of the border. For the media and many within the GAA it's job done end of. The 'Nordie' crowd were beaten and it doesn't matter how it was done."
When Kerry apply these tactics it cute kerry hoorism. Will we see Spillane crying live on air again about Crokes puke football,

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 18/03/2017 14:57:43    1968143

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "It's very possible, of course.

But when people are comparing what Crokes did yesterday to what 'Nordy' teams have done down the years and calling both approaches similarly 'cynical', well that's plain dishonest and a misrepresentation. Again, I'm not sure some folks understand the difference but I know you do.

Crokes yesterday were 'cynical' in the sense that they fouled systematically as a tactic to win the game, therefore breaking the rules continuously throughout the game. They won the game and are champions and congrats on that. But that is what happened yesterday.

When people refer to 'Nordy' teams as 'cynical', they're on about blanket defences, swarm defence, holding onto the ball with continuous hand passing... (All legal and within the rules).

If you can many specific examples of what Crokes did yesterday in their systematic fouling (cynical) approach among 'Nordy' teams from recent or not so recent years, I'll happily acknowledge it."
Tactical fouling has been a key part of defensive football as it stops opponents breaking and let's everyone back into their defensive position. After the Donegal/Fermanagh game last year there was a debate on here, mainly between Tyrone and Donegal posters, where it was agreed most top teams do it link . However now that a Kerry team has done it 9 months later there are all sorts of tantrums. It's a scourge of the modern game no matter who does it.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 18/03/2017 15:24:36    1968149

Replying To Ulsterman:  "You won't hear ANY criticism of Crokes or the officials from south of the border. For the media and many within the GAA it's job done end of. The 'Nordie' crowd were beaten and it doesn't matter how it was done."
Suck it up baby

anglonorman (Kerry) - Posts: 54 - 18/03/2017 15:29:11    1968151