Mayo 2017

Am I right in thinking if Cavan beat Roscommon next week and Donegal beat Mayo, Mayo go down on the head to head record.

Big game next week.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 26/03/2017 20:38:44    1971440

Replying To TheUsername:  "Am I right in thinking if Cavan beat Roscommon next week and Donegal beat Mayo, Mayo go down on the head to head record.

Big game next week."
Correct. Mayo need at least a draw to be safe assuming Cavan win. Maybe the Rossies might surprise us

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 26/03/2017 21:38:46    1971482

Replying To yew_tree:  "Correct. Mayo need at least a draw to be safe assuming Cavan win. Maybe the Rossies might surprise us"
If Kerry lose vs Tyrone and 3 teams end on 6 points doesn't it go to score difference then and cavan would go down based on there score difference at moment, I could be wrong on this so correct me if I am

billythekid69 (USA) - Posts: 35 - 26/03/2017 22:11:47    1971505

Replying To yew_tree:  "Correct. Mayo need at least a draw to be safe assuming Cavan win. Maybe the Rossies might surprise us"
Wouldn't count on that bud !!

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1080 - 26/03/2017 22:18:22    1971510

Replying To billythekid69:  "If Kerry lose vs Tyrone and 3 teams end on 6 points doesn't it go to score difference then and cavan would go down based on there score difference at moment, I could be wrong on this so correct me if I am"
Yes you also correct there. Head to head only comes into effect if 2 teams are level on points. Three or more and its points difference. Mathimically Mayo could still make a final if results went their way (would require a 12 point plus win over Donegal) but it's a long long shot and won't happen. It does go to show how tight division 1 is though.

Right now I'd take a draw next weekend v Donegal and get ready for Sligo/New York in May.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 26/03/2017 22:57:28    1971538

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Long ball into big full forward doesn't work. Too many defenders back,ball breaks and it's swept up.
If Cavanagh and Murphy don't play in there McNulty doesn't stand a chance. Maybe for the last 5 mins if a goal is needed you may get lucky."
I'm not saying that's the only tactic I mean play the running game and every so often hit a long ball - better than the rubbish they're currently dishing up!

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 26/03/2017 23:19:46    1971549

Replying To IrishGael3:  "Agree that what seems to be the general consensus of many Tyrone fans - question for you - why don't they try that big McNulty fella in FF and lift a few balls into him as an option - that would make other teams think when setting up defensively - this one dimensional back and forward play they are now adopting is beginning to look like Cavan a few years ago and is easier to defend than getting ball in quickly to the danger area?"
have already asked that question in previous posts, it's looking like you have to be from a certain area of tyrone or the son of a former player but no doubt i'll get bashed again for suggesting that as it's not right to criticise mh since tony Donnelly has left it seems mickey has lost his mojo to motivate ordinary players into exceptional players who would run through brick walls for him and still be able to score.

bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 26/03/2017 23:41:58    1971557

Loved the build up to Parsons goal. Simple and direct football!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 27/03/2017 10:58:35    1971682

Excellent result for Mayo today.
When the chips were down they performed.
Still a top 4 team and can't see them being stopped in Connaught this yr.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 02/04/2017 18:35:02    1974288

This may prove that I was also part of the same conspiracy, hatched in Meaghers of Ballybough to a soundtrack of The Wolfe Tones playing 14 Men :))))

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-
football/eamonn-sweeney-pulling-dragging-and-laughable-conspiracy-theories-when-will-this-double-act-cop-on-35626372.html

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 17/04/2017 07:55:53    1980038

Do Mayo have any chance of winning Connacht?

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 706 - 18/04/2017 08:30:45    1980315

Replying To The_DOC:  "Do Mayo have any chance of winning Connacht?"
No. Mayo, a team who have reached finals and semi-finals consistently since cerca 2012, forced a reply and lost by the smallest of margins, won an U-21 title last year and have the current player of the year on their panel have no chance of winning the competition that they won five years on the trot before Galway caught them sleeping last year.

If your going on league form, don't. Mayo are one team who probably couldn't careless about winning the league(I'm sure they'd enjoy it but there's probably only one competition they really put their all into and their form reflects it in the two competitions. Just because Galway have been promoted(and overall winners of division2 and bet Mayo last year) and Mayo have had a typical no form league, I certainly wouldn't be dismissing them for the All-Ireland, never mind the Connaught championship which if I was a betting man(and I am) I would probably put my money on Mayo at 4/5. That been said Galway are improving and are catching up(obvious to last year's win) and maybe the Galway U-21 team this year will build on that in the coming years but for now Mayo are still the team to beat in Connaught. I'd presume they will make up for last years defeat and get back into things this year.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 18/04/2017 10:26:01    1980350

Replying To Jackeen:  "This may prove that I was also part of the same conspiracy, hatched in Meaghers of Ballybough to a soundtrack of The Wolfe Tones playing 14 Men :))))

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-
football/eamonn-sweeney-pulling-dragging-and-laughable-conspiracy-theories-when-will-this-double-act-cop-on-35626372.html"
All that piece proves is that the journalist in question obviously didn't listen to the Keegan interview, in which he said he didn't dwell on final defeats, listen to the media or question refereeing decisions.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 18/04/2017 11:01:09    1980362

Why don't you ask a serious question, something like, how can any county stop Leitrim winning the All Ireland?

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1798 - 18/04/2017 11:29:05    1980375

Me thinks The Doc is a Spie operating undercover in Galway!

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 18/04/2017 11:48:20    1980385

Replying To baire:  "Why don't you ask a serious question, something like, how can any county stop Leitrim winning the All Ireland?"
How can any county stop Leitrim winning the All Ireland?

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 706 - 18/04/2017 12:19:56    1980398

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "No. Mayo, a team who have reached finals and semi-finals consistently since cerca 2012, forced a reply and lost by the smallest of margins, won an U-21 title last year and have the current player of the year on their panel have no chance of winning the competition that they won five years on the trot before Galway caught them sleeping last year.

If your going on league form, don't. Mayo are one team who probably couldn't careless about winning the league(I'm sure they'd enjoy it but there's probably only one competition they really put their all into and their form reflects it in the two competitions. Just because Galway have been promoted(and overall winners of division2 and bet Mayo last year) and Mayo have had a typical no form league, I certainly wouldn't be dismissing them for the All-Ireland, never mind the Connaught championship which if I was a betting man(and I am) I would probably put my money on Mayo at 4/5. That been said Galway are improving and are catching up(obvious to last year's win) and maybe the Galway U-21 team this year will build on that in the coming years but for now Mayo are still the team to beat in Connaught. I'd presume they will make up for last years defeat and get back into things this year."
"....have no chance of winning the competition," Cheers, that's what I was thinking as well.

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 706 - 18/04/2017 12:21:12    1980399

Replying To Mayonman:  "Me thinks The Doc is a Spie operating undercover in Galway!"
Sure we'll knock a bitta craic outta the day anyway!

Handy for all the Mayo lads to be able to stay Galway anyway for the weekend for work/college on Monday morning.

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 706 - 18/04/2017 12:22:43    1980401

Replying To The_DOC:  "Sure we'll knock a bitta craic outta the day anyway!

Handy for all the Mayo lads to be able to stay Galway anyway for the weekend for work/college on Monday morning."
Is that the excuse you are going for for us Mayo fans outnumbering the home fans in Galway every second year ;)

Seriously though assuming we get through Sligo/NY it should be a great occasion as Galway football is on a high. Mayo looking to avenge last year's defeat and push on and Galway looking to keep the graph on an upward curve.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 18/04/2017 12:41:48    1980408

Replying To yew_tree:  "Is that the excuse you are going for for us Mayo fans outnumbering the home fans in Galway every second year ;)

Seriously though assuming we get through Sligo/NY it should be a great occasion as Galway football is on a high. Mayo looking to avenge last year's defeat and push on and Galway looking to keep the graph on an upward curve."
ha ha yeah banter aside I think it will be a cracking game.

Mayo will certainly be out to avenge the defeat last year and they wont let 1-4 go unaswered this year. Its going to be a cracking game - roll on the sunburned heads on us in Pearse Stadium!

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 706 - 18/04/2017 13:45:43    1980441