Dubs and Kerry on TV?

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "They managed 4 points from play in 70 minutes and really Didnt offer much at all IMO. To be fair Kerry were lucky to keep 15 on.

If Kerry can bring this level of intensity into the summer and get JOD fit there is no reason to fear anybody. Geaney is the best forward in the country at the minute and Moran can run things from midfield even though he is a little hot and cold. I'm not that bothered about the draw but Kerry really should have held on."
Yes, that's because ye kept fouling us :D Your intensity will always be there against us, could be a cracker later in the year. Geaney is good but our full back line is top notch!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 19/03/2017 18:24:11    1968646

Its mid-march not mid-july that Dublin will not be the one playing in the summer no matter how well we think some of the guys are performing. Gavin is using his panel well but I get the distinct impression he would be more than happy to dump this "run". As for cynical play, if you don't like it you shouldn't be watching Gaelic football it is part and parcel of the game. You just hope or wish at times a ref would put a lid on some of the cynical excesses but after every game involving Dublin this conversation rolls out like it was something new. I don't believe Dublin will win All Ireland as there is an arrogance and complacency in their game which is worrying. Which is why Gavin will rotate that panel and hopefully curb it.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 19/03/2017 18:29:00    1968649

Replying To realdub:  "Yes, that's because ye kept fouling us :D Your intensity will always be there against us, could be a cracker later in the year. Geaney is good but our full back line is top notch!"
Yet Dublin were the ones that had a man sent off and should have had at least two more. O'Gara was fouling all night long, along with most of the Dublin backs.

It was a messy scrappy game generally but I don't accept that Kerry were the only culprits. Dublin always play in the edge and last night was no different.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 19/03/2017 18:52:09    1968667

Replying To clondalkindub:  "17 minutes gone were 2-1 down shooting With the wind on our backs the referee blew the whistle for a hop ball for exactly what can someone please explain that one? Weirdest call I've ever seen. Great night down in the kingdom paying for it now but what a great day with the rugger then the record. Kerry were savage I wouldn't expect anything less and they should of won it only for Murphy at the end, listen we all make mistakes but to kick it across field with that wind was crazy. Great stuff from both teams I loved every minute of it , can we all shut up about soft frees both teams got soft frees. Watch it back without the blinkers on and we both got some soft calls. Anyway roll on next Saturday to make history and 35 unbeaten. Thank you the people of Kerry for a great weekend. Can't wait for these super 8 games next year in the middle of the summer away from home it's great craic."
Clondalkin pal you amaze me at times..

You come on here after the Donegal game and said "I honestly don't want to be giving out about football I'm trying my hardest to enjoy these games but I just can't , 15 players in their own half doing the same things over and over again It's just so boring and bad to watch there's absolutely no skill involved But yet when Kerry produce a similar performance, getting men behind the ball, like Donegal, like Tyrone, like we do at times (something ive no problem with), you think its "great stuff" that you "loved every minute of" ?

I'm not criticizing Kerry, all the power in the world to them, No issues with how teams play/set up as you all know on here, But you've called me out on liking "that tripe" before and now you are lauding it as "great stuff". Surely you can see the hypocrisy with your reaction after each of those games and how your opinion differs when its Kerry we play as oppose to Tyrone.

I totally agree with you in all you say like, it was brilliant to watch, it was nail biting, tense, had some nice scores and was edge of the seat stuff right til the final whistle, I also agree the referee made some very soft calls on both sides. In essence everything you said is spot on, Its just amazing the difference of mentality of how Kerry was class and Donegal was awful.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 19/03/2017 18:55:04    1968669

Replying To waynoI:  "Clondalkin pal you amaze me at times..

You come on here after the Donegal game and said "I honestly don't want to be giving out about football I'm trying my hardest to enjoy these games but I just can't , 15 players in their own half doing the same things over and over again It's just so boring and bad to watch there's absolutely no skill involved But yet when Kerry produce a similar performance, getting men behind the ball, like Donegal, like Tyrone, like we do at times (something ive no problem with), you think its "great stuff" that you "loved every minute of" ?

I'm not criticizing Kerry, all the power in the world to them, No issues with how teams play/set up as you all know on here, But you've called me out on liking "that tripe" before and now you are lauding it as "great stuff". Surely you can see the hypocrisy with your reaction after each of those games and how your opinion differs when its Kerry we play as oppose to Tyrone.

I totally agree with you in all you say like, it was brilliant to watch, it was nail biting, tense, had some nice scores and was edge of the seat stuff right til the final whistle, I also agree the referee made some very soft calls on both sides. In essence everything you said is spot on, Its just amazing the difference of mentality of how Kerry was class and Donegal was awful."
Ah Wayne id a good weekend on the beer and I'm sick of giving out about the game so I just didn't bother. If you want me to I will??? We got the record so I'm very happy. But I could give out all night and be slatted by everyone on here for not getting with the times but I couldn't be bothered today.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/03/2017 19:05:43    1968677

Waynol, I wish there was another 10 or 20 posters like you on here. That way this site might actually be a forum to talk about the GAA and not the childish, slagging school yard it has become.

I'm just so sick of reading this main forum the morning after a Kerry game: win, lose or draw, be it the seniors or some Kerry club, the same embittered posters clogging up the place with their copy and paste comments.

Sad b*stards, the only thing that keeps me around is waiting for our next All-Ireland and seeing this place go into meltdown a la 2014.

I know mere facts mean nothing to these fella's private fictions but just to put them out there:

The free count in the first half was 13 to each team

Dublin finished with 14 men, not Kerry.

12 yellow cards issued and both sides got more or less the same number.

But no, according to the boyos on here, Kerry were the only cynical ones, engaging in this off the ball stuff.

God help us.

Up D Kingdom.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 19/03/2017 19:38:22    1968693

Replying To TheHermit:  "Waynol, I wish there was another 10 or 20 posters like you on here. That way this site might actually be a forum to talk about the GAA and not the childish, slagging school yard it has become.

I'm just so sick of reading this main forum the morning after a Kerry game: win, lose or draw, be it the seniors or some Kerry club, the same embittered posters clogging up the place with their copy and paste comments.

Sad b*stards, the only thing that keeps me around is waiting for our next All-Ireland and seeing this place go into meltdown a la 2014.

I know mere facts mean nothing to these fella's private fictions but just to put them out there:

But no, according to the boyos on here, Kerry were the only cynical ones, engaging in this off the ball stuff.

God help us.

Up D Kingdom."
Jaysus Hermit, don't be letting a few posters on a forum get you down. 16 years of getting beat up on forums for us Dubs, never bothered me, why would it?!
Keyboard warriors and journalists alike, who gives a f**k what they think, we have our own brains.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 19/03/2017 19:55:57    1968711

Replying To TheHermit:  "Waynol, I wish there was another 10 or 20 posters like you on here. That way this site might actually be a forum to talk about the GAA and not the childish, slagging school yard it has become.

God help us.

Up D Kingdom."
Look when a poster starts calling others a**holes and B*stards on a forum then he loses all respect and credibility...

All teams have a dark side but kerry seem to portray themselves as being a beacon or shining light for the GAA.
Time for most of ye to be honest including the tv pundits from your county and call a spade a spade - ye are now worse than most when it comes to the dark arts of football yet get away with it the most...

I honestly have yet to meet a kerry person who will admit that ye are a cynical team.

Even us Dubs admit to being cynical at certain times during games - but kerry... nah, I have yet to hear it being admitted.
And that is my point....

Anyway, I wont waste anymore time on this point.

Let the neutrals decide...!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 19/03/2017 20:04:57    1968719

Replying To realdub:  "Jaysus Hermit, don't be letting a few posters on a forum get you down. 16 years of getting beat up on forums for us Dubs, never bothered me, why would it?!
Keyboard warriors and journalists alike, who gives a f**k what they think, we have our own brains."
Ah its just constantly seeing my county's name and tradition being dragged through the mud by these A-holes after every game is beginning to grate.

But I guess that's the point of their inane sh*te.

I'm a proud Kerryman, too bloody proud probably.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 19/03/2017 20:15:59    1968725

Replying To clondalkindub:  "17 minutes gone were 2-1 down shooting With the wind on our backs the referee blew the whistle for a hop ball for exactly what can someone please explain that one? Weirdest call I've ever seen. Great night down in the kingdom paying for it now but what a great day with the rugger then the record. Kerry were savage I wouldn't expect anything less and they should of won it only for Murphy at the end, listen we all make mistakes but to kick it across field with that wind was crazy. Great stuff from both teams I loved every minute of it , can we all shut up about soft frees both teams got soft frees. Watch it back without the blinkers on and we both got some soft calls. Anyway roll on next Saturday to make history and 35 unbeaten. Thank you the people of Kerry for a great weekend. Can't wait for these super 8 games next year in the middle of the summer away from home it's great craic."
#in the league and championship

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 19/03/2017 20:19:40    1968730

Replying To TheHermit:  "Ah its just constantly seeing my county's name and tradition being dragged through the mud by these A-holes after every game is beginning to grate.

I'm a proud Kerryman, too bloody proud probably."
The main agenda on here is to get a rise from other posters, especially ones from successful counties. Kerry are getting slagged off because they don't play the beautiful game anymore, but they're just adapting to the game as it is today. I consider it a compliment to Dublin that they will play that way. We do it when we need to.
There are some decent posters on here but mostly its a kindergarten. I'm on here for a bit of craic, because in all honesty there is very little in the way of constructive debate of conversation. A lot of threads start well, and descend into the doldrums soon after.
Don't get me wrong, I enjoy the silliness and the bitter comments, but I'd never give it a second thought when I'm logged off.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 19/03/2017 20:30:58    1968744

Replying To TheHermit:  "Ah its just constantly seeing my county's name and tradition being dragged through the mud by these A-holes after every game is beginning to grate.

I'm a proud Kerryman, too bloody proud probably."
The hermit we could play the most beautiful game of perfect football like we did in the quarterfinal in 09 and you'd get no credit on here, so don't worry about it.

These same poster were on hear laughing at us when Tyrone and Donegal beat us saying how naive we were when we played the northern teams, so then we changed the way we played because we had to.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/03/2017 20:37:22    1968756

Replying To Fionn:  "Look when a poster starts calling others a**holes and B*stards on a forum then he loses all respect and credibility...

All teams have a dark side but kerry seem to portray themselves as being a beacon or shining light for the GAA.
Time for most of ye to be honest including the tv pundits from your county and call a spade a spade - ye are now worse than most when it comes to the dark arts of football yet get away with it the most...

I honestly have yet to meet a kerry person who will admit that ye are a cynical team.

Even us Dubs admit to being cynical at certain times during games - but kerry... nah, I have yet to hear it being admitted.
And that is my point....

Anyway, I wont waste anymore time on this point.

Let the neutrals decide...!"
Great post Fionn

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/03/2017 20:46:19    1968763

Watched kerry/dubs last night, Watched a recording of Donegal/Tyrone and was at the Mayo/cavan game today. Was hoping to see something to inspire hope for one of the challenging teams and to be honest Donegal looked the best bet but come the end of September the Dubs will be comfortably champions.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 649 - 19/03/2017 20:47:23    1968764

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "The hermit we could play the most beautiful game of perfect football like we did in the quarterfinal in 09 and you'd get no credit on here, so don't worry about it.

These same poster were on hear laughing at us when Tyrone and Donegal beat us saying how naive we were when we played the northern teams, so then we changed the way we played because we had to."
Imagine how we felt that day in 09 when we read the absolute delight from everyone here who loved to kick us when we are down.

Take It as a bloody compliment, people still talk about Kerry positively and negatively , People talk about Dublin in a similar way, that's just the way it is.

id rather people talk about us in any way, than not talk about us at all.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 19/03/2017 20:57:22    1968768

Replying To waynoI:  "Imagine how we felt that day in 09 when we read the absolute delight from everyone here who loved to kick us when we are down.

Take It as a bloody compliment, people still talk about Kerry positively and negatively , People talk about Dublin in a similar way, that's just the way it is.

id rather people talk about us in any way, than not talk about us at all."
Ya your right, don't know why I even bothered venting my frustrations on here, after the Cavan game next week they'll be back for another round of it.

I seem to be collecting a lot of thumb downs these days, must be saying something right ;D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 19/03/2017 21:45:46    1968803

Replying To waynoI:  "Imagine how we felt that day in 09 when we read the absolute delight from everyone here who loved to kick us when we are down.

id rather people talk about us in any way, than not talk about us at all."
Look some of them have plenty to say yet when criticised in a truly honest assessment, they resort to abusive replies. No class at all. End of.
No excuse for it.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 19/03/2017 22:06:38    1968816

Replying To TheHermit:  "Ya your right, don't know why I even bothered venting my frustrations on here, after the Cavan game next week they'll be back for another round of it.

I seem to be collecting a lot of thumb downs these days, must be saying something right ;D"
Or maybe just maybe you are talking rubbish !!

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 19/03/2017 22:29:23    1968828

Replying To Fionn:  "Look some of them have plenty to say yet when criticised in a truly honest assessment, they resort to abusive replies. No class at all. End of.
No excuse for it."
.. and again

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/03/2017 22:30:49    1968830

Replying To TheHermit:  "Ya your right, don't know why I even bothered venting my frustrations on here, after the Cavan game next week they'll be back for another round of it.

I seem to be collecting a lot of thumb downs these days, must be saying something right ;D"
Or maybe just maybe you are talking rubbish !!

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 19/03/2017 22:34:51    1968835