Dublin play all their games at home and have only 1 All Ireland in 15 years ...................... Slightly embaressing wouldnt you agree Snuff ;)
no not in the slightest bit embaressing at all,we one it when we were good enough,and against the mighty kerry get over it mr bitter kerry man.lol.....
superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2901 - 26/06/2012 17:42:39
Not a terribly cohesive interview by Aindreas , nothing terribly controversial but he doesn't seem to think about what he's saying and contradicts himself at the end of it by saying its not important and that hes just concentrating on the Dublin match..................why mention it then ????????
stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 26/06/2012 18:06:20
15 years was a long time but oh so sweet after the trouncing Kerry gave us two short summers prior. The feelings I had in Croke park that day will stay with me always. I hope every county supporter gets to experience their county lift Sam, preferably beating Kerry en route as they are so obviously the best!
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 26/06/2012 18:08:40
Would dublin not like to play a few championship games outside croker to show that they can play and win outside the capital? just for a change dublin could go sc**w the gaa and their money we want to play outside croker.
lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 26/06/2012 18:13:22
I used to support the idea of Dubin being split into 2,3 or 4 team like it should with it's population but imagine how shocking the support would be for them. There were about 15k dubs max at their first round game. divide that by 4 and we might as well knock parnell park down as it would be a white elephant.
BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 26/06/2012 18:14:58
Ah leave the Dubs alone lads, they're great craic !! I hear complaints from teams on a regular basis about not getting to play in Croke Park. Cavan would love to get a game there as we haven't had a Senior game there since '97 !!
Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 26/06/2012 18:35:46
BettystownRoyal County: Meath Posts: 2305
Dividing Dublin into four? you'd need four Parnell Parks not one.
As for Paddygall saying the Connaught GAA paying for Leitrim that is the funniest yet oh if it where true.
arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4968 - 26/06/2012 18:51:50
I make a point of not listening to people with silly names..."Aindreas"
But we are back to this old nugget!!!
Right, Dublin have an advantage playing in Dublin in the same ground all the time. Fair enough, the fact they have little choice in the matter doesnt mean its not an advantage. But...Lets be honest, how many teams have turned over home advantage against the Dubs over the past few years in League or Championship??? Alot, because it pays their county boards a lot of cash......
Economics for Dummies coming up here!
If you wanted to open a pub, would you open it up in the backend of beyond, or would you open it in a town, a place with a population??? Of course you'd open it in a place where people actually live! Like Geographically we should have a 80,000 seater stadium somewhere central for all to travel roughly the same distance, but amigo's thats not the way our country evolved, we have cities close to the sea and on rivers, you'll find examples of cities built on rivers throughout the world! So our biggest city is wait for it......DUBLIN......and the BUSINESS that the GAA has become developed a massive big stadium in it knowing thats where most people on this little island live.
Seriously...
Dublin have to play all their games at Croke Park; like if you have 50,000 plus fans going to a big Dublin game you wouldnt play it in Newbridge or Carlow. Face reality on that one people!!! Also logistically its a no brainer sending 50,000 Dubs out on a Sunday afternoon 50 miles down the road, traffic chaos.
Infrastructure: went down to watch Dublin get thumped in the hurling last weekend, got soaked. I'll just use Portlaoise as an example as I was also there the week before watching Kildare playing Offaly too, Im not slagging Laois off here people. Just over 10,000 at both games. No parking, traffic restrictions.....not a fantastic venue as three of the four sides have no roof, very exposed to weather. Needs some more work...how do we pay for that? Ill come back to that!
Now someone will point out there is no such other venue in Leinster that can accomodate Dublin, Dublin should be playing in a 10,000 ish venue and bring fewer fans and lose HOME ADVANTAGE. Yes....thats all well and good, but the Leinster Council and both counties lose a lot of revenue doing that, and many of the smaller counties just couldnt afford to do that. So, its about facts and figures!
Players: Players want to play in Croke Park, fact. Aindreas there is waffling, he walked into the dressing room after that interview and was probably called a "tool" by his teammates, and rightly so!
Dublin split into four county teams: Yeah, Lets break Kilkenny into 12 teams in the hurling....its so unfair they win all the time. (Note I do realise Dublin do not win all the time) .... Ridiculous Idea!!!!
Funding and Sponsorship Deals: Dublin have a massive population....TRUE. The county board have invested heavily in underage development in hurling and football. This costs money. The county board negotiated good deals with sponsors etc to help fund these projects and senior county teams. Like the way this is talked about in the media is badly reported as they keep saying there is a massive disparity in terms of BIG and SMALL counties!
JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 26/06/2012 18:51:53
Continued from Previous ....
Dublin Population = SUCCESS??? As someone pointed out earlier if more people meant more SUCCESS China would be winning everything at the Olympics and should win the next soccer World Cup. GAA in Dublin is confronted with a beast alot of other counties dont, its called soccer. Now, I always played both growing up, but not everybody does. Add the people in the affluent areas of Dublin for which an Oval Ball is their first sport and they dont play "d gaaaaaaa loike" and you will realise that Dublins population is dilluted down ...... its not as big as people think. Media comment that Dublins budget for GAA is massive compared to Offaly/Leitrim etc.....they spend huge amounts of money fighting off the other sports. And the more people you do get playing the more money you have to pump in. Its all relative. You live alone you buy a half pan in the morning, you have three kids you buy a full pan. Economics for Dummies people. Dublin have more money, but have to spend alot more money promoting the games in the Capitol.
So, I rambled on there, finally.....
Dublin's games are in Croke Park as its a cash cow for the GAA. As someone pointed out earlier, if Dublin werent in the Leinster Championship Clubs down the country would die a death as they would not get resources. FACT.
About sponsorship/funding.... Dublin are hardly gonna give money they negotiated hard to get.....to Leitrim. Why arent counties penalised for not supporting their teams. Eg. Kilkenny do not pump any cash into promoting football, therefore the leinster council should penalise them by giving them less of the gate receipts from games. Like Dublin are promoting two codes. Nobody can accuse the Dublin County Board for lack of investment....
The media have jumped on the bandwagon about Dublins CASH.....other counties need to negotiate good deals, need to manage their budgets and promote the games at underage level....like giving that Offaly team a hundred thousand euro wont make them a better team....they'll get slightly stronger fitter, get new apparrel to wear.....but would they beat Kildare???? No.......so they lack players....ANSWER-------Promote Underage.......
Anyways....
Discuss ;-)
JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 26/06/2012 18:53:05
BettystownRoyal County: Meath Posts: 2305
1202976 I used to support the idea of Dubin being split into 2,3 or 4 team like it should with it's population but imagine how shocking the support would be for them. There were about 15k dubs max at their first round game. divide that by 4 and we might as well knock parnell park down as it would be a white elephant.
Why should it be?! It's inter COUNTY football!!
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 26/06/2012 19:00:33
Great post JayP!!!:)))
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 26/06/2012 19:04:14
Would dublin not like to play a few championship games outside croker to show that they can play and win outside the capital? just for a change dublin could go sc**w the gaa and their money we want to play outside croker.
dublin fans love traveling to away matches,especially championship matches,however as you well know its not our choice we have shown many times in the past we can play and win outside croker.hopefully the powers that be choose to let it happen again soon,as this dublin team can hold there own against any team home or away.
superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2901 - 26/06/2012 19:21:45
Lads, your been wound up. Same old thing comes up from the same old people who cannot beat Dublin. Not the first time someone from Wexford has complained about this. You think they would beat us if played in Wexford??
No. So hence the bitching
witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 26/06/2012 19:52:02
For the time being with Dublin not being very successful things will keep going the way they are but if the dubs do become one of the more successful GAA counties I think the GAA will be forced to rethink this arrangement.
In fairness lads I'm sure ye will admit that the dubs do hold a strong advantage over Wexford for this game as they play all their championship games at HQ, this was the point being made by Doyle, and despite all the other tangents people have gone off on here, he is right. From the point of view of SPORT he has made a very valid point.
tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 26/06/2012 19:59:13
lilywhitemagic County: Kildare Posts: 956
1202975 Would dublin not like to play a few championship games outside croker to show that they can play and win outside the capital? just for a change dublin could go sc**w the gaa and their money we want to play outside croker.
Condescending post if you ask me, actually we can join forces you guys can ruin the ethos of the gaa and we'll stop been pimped by hq we can be the bold boys of the class. ;)
bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 26/06/2012 20:08:36
Cant help but notice there's no sign of Snuf, why ever would that be?
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 26/06/2012 21:13:47
Of course wexford are at a disadvantage playing in crokepark and so are some of the weaker counties and any chance of an upset are greatly reduced, On the other side the stronger teams revel in playing in croke park. Nearly all Dub fans love the craic travelling to away matches and are happy to do so, so its not our fault. Maybe some of the posters on here having a go at the Dubs(as if we orchestrated this home advantage issue) should look at their own supporters and attendance figures and worry about that before caring where the dubs play.
AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 26/06/2012 21:30:21
Cant help but notice there's no sign of Snuf, why ever would that be?
not more kerry bitterness or is it mischiefness?
superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2901 - 26/06/2012 21:30:29
Bosco County: Carlow Posts: 326
1202364 Look Dubs, Give all the reasons you like, finances, Leinster Council directive etc. the real bottom line is that it is an advantage to the home team and that's all the players and supporters care about. End of story. It's the most glaring example of the inequalities that exist in the association. It's actually a sad indictment of your performance over the last 15 years that you've won so little at national level.
It's a sad indictment of your arguement more like. Doesn't Aindreas ply his footballing trade in Dublin? Didn't Wexford refuse a home draw against Dublin in the reccent past electing instead to play in the capital? Put the game on wherever you want it's going to be like a Dublin home game anyway with our numbers. That's just a fact!
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4749 - 26/06/2012 21:40:49
Bosco County: Carlow Posts: 326
who rattled your cage,
AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 26/06/2012 21:48:45