Mayo Diving

That wasn't my point and you know it. Feel free to reply to me when you are in a better mood. Is the weather bad in Japan? And please try and refrain from the name calling.

theboydonegood (Donegal) - Posts: 522 - 01/05/2012 15:32:48    1163983

Of course that is the truth roundball, everyone knows it is. It is just a load of BS. This thread has turned into an excuse for the tyrone lads to try to lay the blame at someone elses door. But when all is said and done, and this thread has sunk to the depths, tyrone will still be the biggest cheaters in the gaa.

pplocal
I've always liked Mayo but this year they do seem to have a number of players who are at it. I guess after 6 long barren decades they're getting desperate and are willing to do anything to get their hands on Sam

Would that number happen to be 1?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 01/05/2012 15:38:32    1163990

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vBnWAMf5DNQ

The full forward was definitely diving. Why was Liam Mc Hale sent off, he just seemed to be looking for his dog or something

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 01/05/2012 15:48:23    1164003

so..........what was your point so kid???

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 01/05/2012 15:59:23    1164016

Stealing AthCliaths insults now... as I said we'll discuss this when you are in a better mood. I suspect you have been rattled somewhat.

theboydonegood (Donegal) - Posts: 522 - 01/05/2012 16:40:49    1164044

Would that number happen to be 1?

A number of Mayo players have been at it this year. At least some Mayo fans have the decency to condemn it but others it seems are turning a blind eye to it, trying to change the subject by talking about a Tyrone player diving 9 years ago. It seems they really are willing to plumb new depths in that search for Sam. A worrying trend

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 01/05/2012 16:48:02    1164058

Hold your horses there TheMaster, just check out who started this thread!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 01/05/2012 16:50:05    1164064

Do these players have names pplocal? We have established donal vaughan so take his single dive where he didnt appeal to the ref as read. Who are the others?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 01/05/2012 16:52:31    1164068

This is a very intelligent thread, bravo to all involved.

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 01/05/2012 16:53:48    1164070

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z5XEjV1xDNs&feature=related

This is the video for diving.

It's come into the game of GAA like all sports...none is free...but we are still well behind some of the other sports!

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 01/05/2012 17:02:39    1164078

brendtheredhand

Yes but Dublin fairly won there All Ireland Brendan. They are not hypocrites so to speak.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 01/05/2012 17:13:48    1164086

The Dublin game was quite possibly the worst for it, I lost count of the number of players who went to ground over nothing. O'Shea landed a beautiful one in that game I recall, an 8.5 at least. You're seriously mistaken if you think Vaughan's dive against Cork in the final was his only one as he got a Cork man sent off during the League. It's good to see some condemn it but they're in the minority, most seem intent on changing the subject which is tantamount to condoning it. Mayo have a good team so I don't see the need for such blatant and consistent cheating

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 01/05/2012 17:17:32    1164090

Croker Chokers are what Mayo are. Well done Cork and this from Kerry

Peace_On (Kerry) - Posts: 53 - 01/05/2012 17:25:17    1164095

theboydonegood

Stealing AthCliaths insults now... as I said we'll discuss this when you are in a better mood. I suspect you have been rattled somewhat.

Ah the oul rattled comment! It always makes an appearance when the OP hasn't a clue what he's talking about.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 01/05/2012 18:08:42    1164125

theboydonegood

jayses only said go finish your homework,(youll thank me tomorrow when you get all those stars on your copybook, )

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 01/05/2012 18:32:52    1164144

dhorse - thanks for the clip! Ah the memories! Funniest. All. Ireland. EVER. A powerful Mayo team who seem destined to break the curse were provoked into a fight, and like eejits they took the bait and had poor McHale send off.

How I laughed :)

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3154 - 01/05/2012 21:34:30    1164321

I raised this as a growing concern on the 11-a-side forum. It is a growing trend in Gaelic which needs to be stamped out. I am not aware of a rule that the refs can use to card a player for faining injury or diving. Something i think that powers that B will need to look into IMO. Both teams were at it and to be fair you see it most weeks these days. This needs to be stamped out a.s.a.p or will get out of control.

Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 01/05/2012 21:39:53    1164335

I just looked up the rule book on gaa.ie on feigning and diving and it seems that yes a referee can issue a card to a player who feigns an injury or a foul. Its a pity that referees do not, and have not put this much underused rule into effect.

The feigning of injury is a disgrace and shows a total lack of sportsmanship. It has crept in and whether its Mayo or any county it needs to be acted on. How can any self respecting player actually fall down like a statue when pushed slightly? It reminds me of the Clermont rugby man mountain who fell like the tonne of bricks when 'touched' by Leo Cullen!

The second point from the Cork Mayo game is the actions of Noel O'Leary in the first half when he responded to a clearly injured player. This reminds me of the Clare hurler who also 'manhandled' a Kilkenny player in a similar situation last week. This sort of behaviour also does nothing for our games.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1903 - 01/05/2012 21:54:54    1164349

pplocal, so you named the same person again and made a vague reference to aidan o'shea and a match, no specific incident just a match. Pretty endemic alright.

festinog, isnt that what being a galway fan is all about?

Peace_On, what does that make kerry?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 02/05/2012 10:16:48    1164413

paddyogall

1164086 brendtheredhand

Yes but Dublin fairly won there All Ireland Brendan. They are not hypocrites so to speak.
Ah Paddy, sure even you don't believe your own propaganda. No doubt you'll be on another thread telling us how the Dubs have cheated their way to Sam, home advantage, and all the other cr*p that gets rolled out periodically.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 02/05/2012 10:28:06    1164419