Mayo vs Roscommon

Would Roscommon have a reasonable expectation of beating Cork as-is? I would think so.

This is the year of the upset. Teams are not winning games they *should* be winning. Tom Parsons is out now, and that leaves Mayo's midfield in a far worse place. Caff is suspect at the back, the the Murts will make hay on him. A Black Card for COC would be game over. Ditto Keegan to a lesser extent.

I can't see Mayo losing this game, but then again I didn't see it going to the wire against Cork...

I think it's gonna be a great game for the Neutrals, but those directly involved and who have heart conditions, not so much.

Genuinely looking forward to the double header. It's been a very decent championship this year, and I have a feeling it may get even better.

Jaden (Dublin) - Posts: 139 - 25/07/2017 13:25:52    2023193

Mayo to win it by 3 or 4 points.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 25/07/2017 13:48:23    2023220

Mayo will win by as much as they want. They are 4-5 points the better team in Croker. I expect them win by 4-6 points without having to bring any real intensity to the game.

theblackcard (Mayo) - Posts: 47 - 25/07/2017 14:04:40    2023237

Replying To Manstein:  "No serious football fan in Roscommon has Mayo other than short odd favourites on Sunday. Sure there may be wishful thinking in hoping that this Mayo team is in decline. But there is some evidence of it just like there is some evidence that Dublin are in a bit of a decline too. We in Roscommon are not disrespecting Mayo by hoping our team win and pointing out flaws we see. Mayo are still a top 4 team at worst and it will take a massive performance and some luck for us to win or even be withinn a score at the end. A narrow loss for Roscommon will set this young team up nicely for 2018 and beyond but a hammering would be a big setback. Physically Mayo ahve the strenght and power to totally boss this match and one can be sure McStay know this. Perhaps in the wide open spaces of Croke Park Roscommon can negate this somewhat.
I dont think anyone is accusing Mayo of not respecting Roscommon either but it is natural that Mayo ( in particular their supporters) will have one eye on a semi final. They are used to beating Roscommon and cannoy countenance anything else.
So folks should lay off the petty slagging. Mayo are deservedly favourites and should win."
I was merely responding to a childish post from a Rossie fan. If Mayo are fresh enough and can tighten up I think they will win. Would it be a shock if Roscommmon won? To a certain degree yes but not a huge shock.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7893 - 25/07/2017 14:39:09    2023264

Replying To TheFlaker:  "From a county that literally lost the plot after a minor All Ireland in 06 and hailed Donie Shine as the man who would dominate football for years to come? We may not have won the big one but we have won a couple of underage titles in the last few years and didn't make a big fuss about it. Maybe you lads will turn us over and fair play if you do, but until then it's best to keep the head down."
Ye should have celebrated yer underage success cause that's all ye will have to celebrate. Out of anyone it should be ye keeping your head down til you back up all your talk.

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 25/07/2017 14:56:08    2023275

Replying To theblackcard:  "Mayo will win by as much as they want. They are 4-5 points the better team in Croker. I expect them win by 4-6 points without having to bring any real intensity to the game."
dillusional.......... I do think that mayo will win but to say to win by as many as they want is abit rich the way ye have been playing

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 25/07/2017 14:59:17    2023277

Replying To Tarismelting22:  "Ye should have celebrated yer underage success cause that's all ye will have to celebrate. Out of anyone it should be ye keeping your head down til you back up all your talk."
Lol there's more than one on here, baa baa.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7893 - 25/07/2017 15:06:09    2023280

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Mayo are great ild like to thank them for letting us play them on sunday, itll be great watching a team that won so much since 2011 in action there a formidable outfit."
Id also like to thank to thank Mayo and Boylesports for totally writing us off at 4/1 odds for Sunday. Will be nice to claim those winnings next week as well as the usual yearly portrait of sad sandwich backpacker Mayo brigade.

Sure Ill throw on the Green and Red of Mayo for ye to commiserate in Quinns after Sunday night, cant do better than that

OverBlackSpot (Roscommon) - Posts: 47 - 25/07/2017 15:09:23    2023283

Physically Mayo ahve the strenght and power to totally boss this match and one can be sure McStay know this. Perhaps in the wide open spaces of Croke Park Roscommon can negate this somewhat.

Manstein (Roscommon) - Posts:4 - 25/07/2017 12:16:53 20231

Maybe if you listen to the recent Kevin McStay audio interview you would know that he knows about the physical difference between the sides or maybe don't want to because its "guff " talk.

This wide open spaces of Croke park myth has to stop, Even the Hyde park pitch is as wide.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 25/07/2017 15:16:20    2023288

Cork scored 2.15 in normal time . Do you think our defence will let in 21 points in normal time ?? And do you think our defence will stand of like cork or our forwards let us waltz the ball out like he did with cork??. Do the maths. Cork did us a massive favour massive . Predictions 3.17 to 14 points.:-) Ros win

john1971 (Roscommon) - Posts: 185 - 25/07/2017 15:58:16    2023311

Replying To OverBlackSpot:  "Id also like to thank to thank Mayo and Boylesports for totally writing us off at 4/1 odds for Sunday. Will be nice to claim those winnings next week as well as the usual yearly portrait of sad sandwich backpacker Mayo brigade.

Sure Ill throw on the Green and Red of Mayo for ye to commiserate in Quinns after Sunday night, cant do better than that"
I actually lol'd at this. It is certainly not beyond the realms of possibility that Roscommon could win on Sunday but to be gloating and reveling at "the usual yearly portrait of sad sandwich backpacker Mayo brigade" (what a strange turn of phrase by the way) when you are a fan of a team who have had many, many disappointing and heart breaking days yourselves, on a smaller stage and many of them at the hands of Mayo (who Roscommon have not beaten in 16 years), well it is laughable.

As I say, it is certainly not beyond the realms of possibility that Roscommon could win, but my money is on Roscommon fans with attitudes such as yourself leaving Croke Park with tail firmly tucked between legs after yet another defeat to the green and red.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 25/07/2017 16:02:58    2023316

Replying To OverBlackSpot:  "Id also like to thank to thank Mayo and Boylesports for totally writing us off at 4/1 odds for Sunday. Will be nice to claim those winnings next week as well as the usual yearly portrait of sad sandwich backpacker Mayo brigade.

Sure Ill throw on the Green and Red of Mayo for ye to commiserate in Quinns after Sunday night, cant do better than that"
And by the way, I'm not sure you understand how bookmakers work. Boyles nor any other bookie is writing Roscommon or any other team. There are lots and lots of variables that go into compiling including where the money is going. If lots and lots of money was going on Roscommon, the odds would tumble. The bookies couldn't care less who wins, they care about making the most amount of money from a market.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 25/07/2017 16:05:32    2023319

Mayos ability to shut down the Ross forward line is where this game will be won or lost

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1222 - 25/07/2017 16:05:54    2023320

Replying To unclegerry:  "Mayos ability to shut down the Ross forward line is where this game will be won or lost"
Rochford surely has to be thinking of a sweeper seeing how easy teams have ran through Mayo's defence in last few weeks and also the poor form of Cafferky at full back? Personally i hope he doesnt but i expect he will

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 25/07/2017 16:26:58    2023338

Don't be surprised to see Barry Moran at some stage on Sunday.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 25/07/2017 16:48:30    2023351

Hope to god we remain competitive in this game. Hopefully mayos legs will be hurting in the last ten minutes but doubt it. I can see Aidan o shea dominating and creating two goal chances. If Conor devaney is on keegan well we are going to be treated to some battle. Can see cillian o Connor being held scoreless from play

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 519 - 25/07/2017 16:52:35    2023354

Lets all be friends to early in the week to be revved up by Friday there'll be all out war the way she's warming up.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 25/07/2017 17:02:42    2023358

Replying To the_walls:  "I actually lol'd at this. It is certainly not beyond the realms of possibility that Roscommon could win on Sunday but to be gloating and reveling at "the usual yearly portrait of sad sandwich backpacker Mayo brigade" (what a strange turn of phrase by the way) when you are a fan of a team who have had many, many disappointing and heart breaking days yourselves, on a smaller stage and many of them at the hands of Mayo (who Roscommon have not beaten in 16 years), well it is laughable.

As I say, it is certainly not beyond the realms of possibility that Roscommon could win, but my money is on Roscommon fans with attitudes such as yourself leaving Croke Park with tail firmly tucked between legs after yet another defeat to the green and red."
Well I certainly enjoy hearing all about this fascinating "5-6 points better off in Croke Park" chat that Mayo have. Will have to get on the phone to Mystic Meg to figure that one out.

But sure hey what do I know if Cillian O Connor slots over ten 13 meter frees in front of the posts why wouldnt he get man of the match, fair play to him. I would reckon the county have already booked their accommodation in September for the big one only to be let down again. Ye have a tough life I have to say

OverBlackSpot (Roscommon) - Posts: 47 - 25/07/2017 17:12:07    2023364

Replying To Ros2013:  "Hope to god we remain competitive in this game. Hopefully mayos legs will be hurting in the last ten minutes but doubt it. I can see Aidan o shea dominating and creating two goal chances. If Conor devaney is on keegan well we are going to be treated to some battle. Can see cillian o Connor being held scoreless from play"
Have you a crystal ball? You seem to be able to see a lot of things

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 25/07/2017 17:15:14    2023365

Replying To john1971:  "Cork scored 2.15 in normal time . Do you think our defence will let in 21 points in normal time ?? And do you think our defence will stand of like cork or our forwards let us waltz the ball out like he did with cork??. Do the maths. Cork did us a massive favour massive . Predictions 3.17 to 14 points.:-) Ros win"
From the highlights it looked like Moran and O Connor were the fastest men to play football- remember the job Fitzsimons did COC in replay last year, I would be shocked if our lads give that much room to them lads

golfcar (Roscommon) - Posts: 60 - 25/07/2017 17:29:10    2023373